Why Nigerians Are Hungry – Minister Of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi

Date: 29-12-2018 9:56 am (5 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 29-12-2018 09:56 AM (5 years ago)

The Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi has stated that reason why Nigerians are hungry is because of the havoc wreaked on the nation’s economy by the previous administrations of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

“They said you are hungry,” Rotimi Amaechi, the Minister of Transportation, said on Friday in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, during the flag-off of the APC election campaign.

“You are hungry because they stole the money. If the money was here, you wouldn’t have been hungry.”

Mr Amaechi, a former governor of Rivers is the director general of President Muhammadu Buhari re-election campaign.

Mr Buhari, accompanied by the APC national chairman, Adams Oshiomhole; a national leader of the party, Bola Tinubu, and some of the APC governors, was in Uyo to flag off the party’s campaign for the 2019 general elections, Premium Times reports.

Mr Buhari is seeking a second term in office.

Mr Amaechi said corruption is one of Nigeria’s major problem, and that Mr Buhari was not giving up on the anti-corruption fight.

“We got in and saw the challenges. We never knew they had stolen all the money. We thought they had a conscience to leave some money behind.

“You know, the difference between us and the other party (PDP) is that they are not saying that they are not corrupt,”
the minister said

“They say we are corrupt, but APC is also corrupt. They agree that the president is not corrupt. What they are saying is those around the president are corrupt. But they agree that they are corrupt.

“We are saying as APC that we are not corrupt and that we are fighting corruption. Whether you are APC or PDP, when you are corrupt we will fight you.”

He cautioned Nigerians against voting for PDP in the 2019 elections.

“If you vote for the other party, let me tell you what will happen. They are so hungry that if they come out, they will be too busy stealing money that by the time Nigerians realise it, we are back to recession.”

Mr Amaechi said President Buhari did not promise to make the value of naira equal to a dollar, nor promised to reduce the price of petrol.

“Anybody who said we promised one naira will be to one dollar must be a magician. Anybody who said we promised we were going to bring down fuel price must also be a magician.

“We are not voodoo economists,”
he said.

The minister added, “When we got in, we were mindful of the promises that we made. So, the president gave all us who were in the cabinet challenges to ensure that we rescue this country.

“We commenced activities believing that Nigerians would know that change doesn’t come that easily. Even as ministers we feel the pain of change. We know that when you want to make any change you must realise that it will come with some pain.

“We are here asking you to learn the fact that we need another chance to complete the assignment you have given to us. And we will complete it as soon as you give us that chance to come back.”

This is not the first time the ruling party will be blaming the PDP for the woes of the nation.

But ironically, many of the current APC leaders, including Mr Amaechi, were the ones running the past PDP-led administrations in the country.

During the event, the APC handed over flags to its governorship candidates in the South-south region.

Posted: at 29-12-2018 09:56 AM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ignis99 at 29-12-2018 11:02 AM (5 years ago)
To be relevant this man and his cronies will continue to live in lies and propagate falsehood just to hang in on power and the national cake ...na wa oo
Posted: at 29-12-2018 11:02 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 29-12-2018 12:57 PM (5 years ago)
Their national anthem, blame game
Posted: at 29-12-2018 12:57 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 29-12-2018 02:26 PM (5 years ago)
Akpabio is now a stunch APC member right?
Posted: at 29-12-2018 02:26 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- Naijasharon at 30-12-2018 07:31 AM (5 years ago)
Thieves
Posted: at 30-12-2018 07:31 AM (5 years ago) | Upcoming

1. VIDEO of a Foreign Construction Worker Playing With Most Wanted Bandits at Work Site in Zamfara

2. Regina Daniels Reacts as Co-Wife, Laila Charani Posts Romantic Video with Husband Ned Nwoko

3. Victor Boniface Shares Inspiring Photo After Winning First Title With Bayer Leverkusen

4. Family Seeks to Raise $70k To Bring Home Nigerian Bodybuilder Shot Dead By Wife in US

5. Meet Uzoma Odimara, aka ‘Area Scatter’ Nigeria’s First Publicly-Known Crossdresser

6. Kwara Police Arrest 46 Suspects After Cult Clash

7. VIDEO: Late Sylverter Oromoni’s Father Blows Hot As He Rejects Coroner Judgment

8. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

9. Ex US Pres, Donald Trump Risks 4yrs Jail Term as he Appears in Court to Face Criminal Trials

10. Man, Bamidele Adeleke Docked For Stealing N2m Batteries In Ibadan

11. Junior Pope: Yul Edochie's Estranged Wife, May Mourns Victims Of Boat Mishap

12. UPDATE: President Tinubu Declares April 7 As National Police Day

13. Omokri Hails Dunamis Pastor, Eneche For Apologizing To Woman, Vera Anyim Accused Of Giving Fake

14. Forgery: EFCC Arraigns Father-In-Law Alaba Alakija, Daughter-In-Law Oyinkansola In Lagos

15. 22Yr Old Man, Francis Okoye Arrested Over Unlawful Possession Of Fire Arm

1. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

2. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Nigerian Gov.t Nears Extradition Of Binance Executive Involved In $35.4M Money Laundering

6. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

7. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

10. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks