We Will Fish Out All Those Who Cheated In JAMB To Gain Admission Since 2009

Date: 22-04-2019 11:14 pm (5 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 22-04-2019 11:14 PM (5 years ago)

Heads are set to roll across the country as the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board has launched a probe into the credentials of applicants dating back to 2009.

This implies that persons who cheated the system to pass the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination to get into school and may have even graduated and participated in the National Youth Service Corps will be arrested and their certificates withdrawn.

The Head, Media and Information of JAMB, Fabian Benjamin, said this during an interview with The PUNCH on Monday.

Benjamin said the probe had begun and it would be completed in record time as JAMB has acquired software which would be able to identify fake biometric data.

Speaking in a separate interview on 95.1 Nigeria Info FM Abuja, the JAMB spokesman said, “We want to do what we call biometric verification dating back to 10 years.

“Even if you are now working and we discovered that someone wrote exams for you, we will publish your name and the law agencies will do the needful.

“We have the biometrics from 10 years ago. We will compare the photos with thumbprints and names.

“We discovered that a candidate could have written exams with 30 different names.”

Explaining how impersonation takes place, Benjamin added, “This is how they operate: My name is Fabian Benjamin, but I will register as Abdullahi Musa and write exams for Abdullahi Musa; but I will use Fabian Benjamin’s picture and biometric data; only the name will be different.

“I will register as John David, as Austin Steven. I will register in the name of anyone that pays me, write exams for that person, but I will use my picture.

“What this means is that when I get into the hall, the biometric data verification will allow me to enter, but I will write the exam for someone else.

“The person for whom exams were written would get into university and, of course, most universities don’t use the pictures of JAMB during admissions. But what we want to enforce now is that the institutions must use the picture of the person.

“We will give the institution the photo and it must match. In fact, only our picture must be accepted by the institution.”

Speaking with our correspondent during a separate interview, the JAMB spokesman said it had become important to expose exam cheats to serve as a deterrent to others.

He said the photos of those found culpable would be published for all to see, even if they have since started working.

Benjamin said, “If you graduated from university and you did not write UTME, it means the foundation is faulty and the building cannot stand.

“We have already started the probe, but we will go deeper after the exams.

“It will not take too long. We are using software, so it will just check the biometric data of candidates and if the biometric data of someone shows about six different names, then it will notify us.

“So, if one person’s photo brings up different names and we have spotted this, we will find out where the person is and then we will pick them up.”

He said the exam body had been able to arrest over 100 persons nationwide for malpractice in the ongoing examinations.

Benjamin said JAMB had written a letter to the Attorney-General of the Federation for advice on their prosecution.

“Even if they are not punished, let the public know that Mr. A who is a doctor became so after someone wrote exams for him.

“That shame alone will serve as a deterrence to others. We must start from 10 years ago, so that others will learn,” he said.

Posted: at 22-04-2019 11:14 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- proly at 23-04-2019 02:50 AM (5 years ago)
Lols na now una wake up
Posted: at 23-04-2019 02:50 AM (5 years ago) | Hero
- mjyabah2 at 23-04-2019 03:00 AM (5 years ago)
Useless and backward country. Human capital and education mean very little to the Nigerian government. Nigeria needs to do away with the corrupt JAMB practice. It has set Nigeria back in many ways. Do you know that all the mighty Nigerian in Diasporas, which supports 85% of our families back home were mostly people who fled the country to get their college education abroad? Majority of them were unable to get University admission through JAMB but they all excelled in various disciplines that now benefit and support the economies of other countries. Now the visionless govt is thinking of dragging the names of people who maneuvered the useless JAMB system to dust. Every Nigerian should be given the opportunity to get a University education. What civilized countries do is this: give admission test to prospective students, set different levels of courses, and allow the student to start their courses at the levels their tests scores place them. Example, Eng. 100, Eng. 101, Eng. 125 and Eng. 200, etc. You all should be ashamed to indicate that some students JAMB failed have actually found ways to become Doctors etc.  When is Nigeria gonna wake up from her age long slumber? 
Posted: at 23-04-2019 03:00 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kpairorosky at 23-04-2019 05:51 AM (5 years ago)
Quote from: mjyabah2 on 23-04-2019 03:00 AM
Useless and backward country. Human capital and education mean very little to the Nigerian government. Nigeria needs to do away with the corrupt JAMB practice. It has set Nigeria back in many ways. Do you know that all the mighty Nigerian in Diasporas, which supports 85% of our families back home were mostly people who fled the country to get their college education abroad? Majority of them were unable to get University admission through JAMB but they all excelled in various disciplines that now benefit and support the economies of other countries. Now the visionless govt is thinking of dragging the names of people who maneuvered the useless JAMB system to dust. Every Nigerian should be given the opportunity to get a University education. What civilized countries do is this: give admission test to prospective students, set different levels of courses, and allow the student to start their courses at the levels their tests scores place them. Example, Eng. 100, Eng. 101, Eng. 125 and Eng. 200, etc. You all should be ashamed to indicate that some students JAMB failed have actually found ways to become Doctors etc.  When is Nigeria gonna wake up from her age long slumber? 

@mjyabah2 You made a lot of sense from what you said above. I wouldn't say Nigeria is a useless country, but rather a backward country. Fabian Benjamin & co are the useless people moving Nigeria backward. Nigeria writes JAMB whereas the US writes SAT. If some students didn't pass the cut of mark, they are required to take different level of courses. You've already highlighted major key points for gaining admission in civilized countries. I wish those Commissioner of Education would learn from civilized countries how they excel in everything including IT. Nigeria is just an unfortunate country. I pity those leaders who thinks they're improving the educational standard of Nigeria.
Posted: at 23-04-2019 05:51 AM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- kp45 at 23-04-2019 07:13 AM (5 years ago)
Unserious leaders.
Posted: at 23-04-2019 07:13 AM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- willyking at 23-04-2019 10:53 AM (5 years ago)
Now they want to go backward to 2009 that is 10 years backward instead of moving forward all the country call nigeria can offer is people is frustration s hell country..
Posted: at 23-04-2019 10:53 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- allenspike at 23-04-2019 01:07 PM (5 years ago)
Most of those who are behind the probing of past and present candidates, also cheated in the past.. The system has been programmed for people who are connected to cheat their way out of trouble..

Posted: at 23-04-2019 01:07 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Baye77 at 24-04-2019 04:46 PM (5 years ago)
Have u guys been sleeping all these years???
Posted: at 24-04-2019 04:46 PM (5 years ago) | Hero