BREAKING NEWS!!!: Dino Melaye Appeals Tribunal's Ruling Sacking Him From Senate

Date: 10-09-2019 2:47 pm (4 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 10-09-2019 02:47 PM (4 years ago)

Dino Melaye, senator representing Kogi west, has asked the court of appeal to set aside a verdict of the Kogi state election tribunal which sacked him as a member of the national assembly.

On August 23, the tribunal annulled the election and ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to conduct a fresh poll within 90 days.

The verdict of the tribunal is sequel to a petition filed by Smart Adeyemi, candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

But Melaye, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), filed an appeal through Rickey Tarfa, his counsel, challenging the tribunal’s judgement on 23 grounds.

Adeyemi, the APC, the PDP and INEC are all respondents in the appeal.

One of the grounds of the appeal is that
“whether the person sued at the tribunal being Dino Melaye, is the same as the person who contested the poll and returned winner of the election as contained on form CF001, which is Melaye Daniel Dino”.

“The provision of the law is that the name as used in Form CF001 is the only valid name that can be used to challenge the election of the appellant,” the appeal read.

“The principle of equity accepted and applied by the majority members of the Tribunal cannot override the provisions of the law in respect of the petition.

“The judgement of the tribunal was perverse and against the weight of evidence before the it.”

Share this:

Posted: at 10-09-2019 02:47 PM (4 years ago) | Hero
- WhaleDog at 10-09-2019 04:12 PM (4 years ago)
Oh plz Mr.Senator ! Pls humble yourself and submit to the verdict that vacated you .As honorable the masses expect you to bow out honorably and stop being an A*#S here

Posted: at 10-09-2019 04:12 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- segfol at 10-09-2019 05:52 PM (4 years ago)
People of Kogi west are still behind you.You are my best senator.
Posted: at 10-09-2019 05:52 PM (4 years ago) | Newbie
- tunjifad007 at 11-09-2019 05:31 AM (4 years ago)
Quote from: segfol on 10-09-2019 05:52 PM
People of Kogi west are still behind you.You are my best senator.
And what do they gain from him
Posted: at 11-09-2019 05:31 AM (4 years ago) | Newbie

1. 86 Makeshift Apartments Where Tenants Pay N250,000 Annually Uncovered Beneath Lagos Bridge

2. Netizens Dig Up Tunde Ednut’s Throwback Performance At Children's Party Amidst Wizkid & Davido

3. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

4. VIDEO; Nigerian Boy Stirs Reactions After Flaunting His Older White Lover

5. Veteran Actress, Sola Sobowale Recounts Difficult Life She Lives Abroad

6. He Is Undoubtedly The 001 Of The Nigerian Music Industry – Senator Dino Melaye Gives Davido Nod

7. VID: Xxssive Reveals That Wizkid Might Have Been Paid to Start Fight With Davido

8. "Follow Due Process In Prosecuting Yahaya Bello" – Actor Segun Arinze Tells EFCC

9. Barcelona Set To Tackle Financial Woes By Clearing Out Eight Players (Full List)

10. Former Big Brother Naija Star, Chomzy Welcomes Baby Boy With Husband

11. EFCC Slammed With N10m Damages For Declaring Pastor, Wife Wanted Without Court Order

12. Phyna’s Alleged Ex Boyfriend Threatens To Expose Her To World If She Talks About Davido

13. Edo Governor Obaseki Reveals Why He Approved N70,000 Minimum Wage

14. 'No Minimum Wage By End Of May, No Peace' – Labour Threatens Nigerian Govt

15. "Why We Choose Collaboration Over Beef" – Fireboy On Why He's Working With Rema

16. Chelsea v Tottenham: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

3. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

4. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

5. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

6. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

7. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)