The Super Eagles squad that crashed out of the ongoing World Cup in South Africa will be disbanded any moment from now.
Nigeria lost 1-0 to Argentina in their opening game of Group B on June 12, followed by another 2-1 defeat to Greece. On Tuesday the team drew 2-2 with South Korea and eventually crashed of the tournament.
Authoritative sources close to the National Sports Commission told our correspondent in Johannesburg on Wednesday that the NSC had concluded arrangements to disband the squad. According to our sources, some of the big names will be sent packing while only the young and dedicated ones will be retained.
It was learnt that the body would meet with the chieftains of the Nigeria Football Federation on the development.
Goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama is being tipped to lead the new-look Eagles that will comprise home-based players and players from the national age-limit teams.
The government is not happy with the performance of the national team at the first World Cup to be hosted in Africa and has decided to act.
Our correspondent learnt that the NSC would encourage the NFF to retain coach Lars Lagerback to enable the country to build a formidable team.
Posted: at 24-06-2010 08:36 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
ceejay58 at 24-06-2010 10:36 PM (14 years ago) (m)
hsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Posted: at 24-06-2010 10:36 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
FOA, I wonder what happened to the likes of Isaac Promise and all those Mikel, Taye Taiwo set of young promising stars...Yakubu (Martins) una papa and mama respectively!!!
Posted: at 25-06-2010 12:35 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
They worried bout a soccer team but they not worried bout wtz goin on in the east..in the north..in the south..n in the west.....they not worried that people in they kountry killin demselves, they not worried that kriminals runnin trucks over innocent peoplez heads n all, but dey worried bout a soccer team! the money they shuld b usin 2 fix up that place is wat dey usin 2 pay a foreigner to coach a team, n at the end look! they lost! what a waste of peoples money n peoples sweat.....shyt dnt even make sense, real talk!!!! u feel me bro?
Posted: at 25-06-2010 01:26 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
ksurrina at 25-06-2010 02:17 AM (14 years ago) (f)
lol I wonder what they are going to do with those who were fighting in the House of Representatives. Which one more disgraceful is it the Super Eagles or them. It is a game some win while some lose. Nothing is wrong in building a new squad for the next 4 years. But concentrate now on the country and leave football for the time being.
Godly WISDOM is to Fear God. His UNDERSTANDING is to resist the devil.
Posted: at 25-06-2010 02:17 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Dranatomy at 25-06-2010 07:24 AM (14 years ago) (m)
Can NFF tells me what offence they will commit if our own indigenous coach is patronised?...why cant we[Nigerians] throw away inferiority complex for God sake!!!
Posted: at 25-06-2010 07:24 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
lol I wonder what they are going to do with those who were fighting in the House of Representatives. Which one more disgraceful is it the Super Eagles or them. It is a game some win while some lose. Nothing is wrong in building a new squad for the next 4 years. But concentrate now on the country and leave football for the time being.
TRUUE TALK!
Posted: at 25-06-2010 12:35 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
football is the least of our problem in nigeria, please govt should concentrate on the unemployment and poverty rate in naija and use that money they are wasting on football to help alleviate the wretchedness wrecking our dear country.
Posted: at 25-06-2010 04:22 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Chi-Dollar-Man at 25-06-2010 05:47 PM (14 years ago) (m)
Well, nobody is perfect in this life even the football we all are talking about is not easy but i think that our goverment should do something in this case....how can other players out there are defending their country while we are disgracing ourselves i dont wanna say anything about the super Eagles players, but the only two players i will lift up is...VINCENT ENYAMA and UCHE
That is all i have to comment for now who see does two players greet them for me I am out of here.
Posted: at 25-06-2010 05:47 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
dolphinkate at 25-06-2010 05:53 PM (14 years ago) (f)
The nigerian government should better take their own time and disband themselves. Did they really believe, that the world cup would remove the attention from their corruption? The super eagles did their job, they tried. Compare to the government, which is only thiefing and enjoying the national money instead taking care of his ppl and invironment.
Posted: at 25-06-2010 05:53 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming