Ghana Trade Union Vote To Ban Made-In-Nigeria Products Following Border Closure

Date: 19-10-2019 4:57 pm (4 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 19-10-2019 04:57 PM (4 years ago)

As Nigeria’s land border closure bites West African countries, the Ghana Union of Traders Association (GUTA) has called for a total boycott of all Nigerian products imported by Ghana.

The move, the traders union believes, will force the Nigerian government to open up its land borders for foreign goods. Nigeria partially shut its borders since August.

According to Ghanaweb.com, Greater Accra Regional Secretary of GUTA, David Kwadwo Amoateng on Adom FM’s morning show, Dwaso Nsem, Friday said the Nigerian government has not been fair to foreign traders.

In return, he expects the Ghana government to prevent Nigerian traders from bringing goods into Ghana, but that plea has fallen on deaf ears.

“Either somebody’s bread has been buttered or we are cowards. Government is not being fair to us,” he fumed.

Mr Amoateng cited how Dangote cement had taken over the market while local ones from GHACEM are suffering.

“Let’s boycott Nigerian products as payback to their government’s action. How can we be slaves in our own country?” he said.

Mr Amoateng argued that the issue, if not checked, could hamper the Continental Free Trade Area.

Ghana’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration has appealed to Ghanaian traders to remain calm as it works with the Nigerian authorities to ease its ban on the exportation of Non-traditional products.

Posted: at 19-10-2019 04:57 PM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Baye77 at 20-10-2019 07:19 AM (4 years ago)
No wahala...ban it...we will not continue to kill our country because of u people...
Posted: at 20-10-2019 07:19 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- Brave5500 at 20-10-2019 11:56 AM (4 years ago)
Quote from: Baye77 on 20-10-2019 07:19 AM
No wahala...ban it...we will not continue to kill our country because of u people...

When will u start thinking?? Your government banned made in other countries goods u r celebrating yet d so called government train their children abroad,  use made in abroad vehicles, take medication abroad, use our money to buy houses abroad, B wise dumb ass!
Posted: at 20-10-2019 11:56 AM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- scottchris at 21-10-2019 10:35 AM (4 years ago)
The earlier Nigerians realise that Ghanaians DONT LIKE US...The better for us

Posted: at 21-10-2019 10:35 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac