Flood displaces two million in Jigawa

Date: 26-09-2010 9:56 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 26-09-2010 09:56 AM (13 years ago)
Opened dams have displaced some two million people in northern Nigeria, adding to flood misery that has already washed away entire villages in the region, officials said Saturday.

The flooding in Jigawa State following the opening of the dams last month, according to Agence France-Presse, has wiped out huge areas of farmland and sent residents seeking shelter in schools, according to the Red Cross and local government.

Two people were killed in the initial stages of the flooding in the state, a Red Cross official said.

In Sokoto State, local chiefs told workers from aid organisations that around 40 persons were killed when a dam burst, but the number could not be confirmed.

Heavy seasonal rain has caused the flooding and forced the opening of the gates in the north of Africa‘s most populous nation.

”We have estimated that close to two million people have been affected,” said Adamu Babale, head of the Nigerian Red Cross in Jigawa, confirming figures given by the local government in the state which has a population of about 4.3 million people.

The water has subsided to a degree in recent weeks in the state, but a number of villages remained submerged on Friday, with water up to the roofs in certain areas. Some villagers were using canoes.

Many of the villages in the flooded areas consisted of mud-and-thatch huts and were populated by fishermen who work the river and farmers growing maize, millet and rice.

Babale said it was difficult to ascertain the degree of destruction because the flooding ”keeps hammering everyday”.

”It‘s an everyday affair. But on estimate, about 350,000 houses or more,” said Babale, calling the situation ”catastrophic”.

Jigawa is located in the far north of Nigeria along the border with Niger Republic.

In Sokoto State, entire villages have been reported washed away after a dam burst earlier this month.

Doctors Without Borders has been working to assist the displaced there with water and shelter.

The organisation has estimated that around 40,000 people remained displaced in northern Sokoto, but it has been unable to confirm the numbers because access to the area is difficult and boats scarce.

”A large part of the area is still submerged,” said Gautam Chatterjee, an official with a non-governmental organisation in the state.

The displaced were in need of clean water, he said, adding that food was less of an issue because residents and the government were donating supplies.

President Goodluck Jonathan, who is running in elections set for early next year, toured Sokoto‘s flooded areas last week and pledged help.

Umar Kyari, spokesman for Jigawa State, said flooding occurred after authorities opened the gates of the Challawa and Tiga dams in nearby Kano State to avoid overflowing following the heavy rains.

Local government officials have heavily criticised the agency in charge of managing the dams, saying similar incidents have occurred in the past and they have not changed their approach. They called for the river to be dredged.

Posted: at 26-09-2010 09:56 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bafyguy at 26-09-2010 02:06 PM (13 years ago)
The government should find a solution as soon as possible.
Posted: at 26-09-2010 02:06 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyiis at 26-09-2010 02:14 PM (13 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmm so these natural disasters have remembered Nigeria

Posted: at 26-09-2010 02:14 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- mezkaz18 at 26-09-2010 02:20 PM (13 years ago)
The govmnt should give them some dustbin to pack the water
Posted: at 26-09-2010 02:20 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ezesunny at 26-09-2010 02:25 PM (13 years ago)
am so sorry
Posted: at 26-09-2010 02:25 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chudy1800 at 26-09-2010 04:10 PM (13 years ago)
I  pity the poor masses.
Posted: at 26-09-2010 04:10 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- pp1973pp at 26-09-2010 04:46 PM (13 years ago)
PERSON DIE?
Posted: at 26-09-2010 04:46 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- nice9ija at 26-09-2010 06:01 PM (13 years ago)
sory ooooh my people ....i will just send my donation to the affected people 
Posted: at 26-09-2010 06:01 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Teejay2 at 26-09-2010 06:18 PM (13 years ago)
na the people in power this flood for go destroy instead of the poor masses anyway, i pity una sha
Posted: at 26-09-2010 06:18 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- dollar22 at 26-09-2010 08:38 PM (13 years ago)
oh i'm sorry
Posted: at 26-09-2010 08:38 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Yungsam at 26-09-2010 08:52 PM (13 years ago)
God hlp ur people oo! Master of sutiation shuld intervene pls hlp us bfore we die finish
Posted: at 26-09-2010 08:52 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- princedafe at 26-09-2010 08:53 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bafyguy on 26-09-2010 02:06 PM
The government should find a solution as soon as possible.

Wellsaid and supported
Posted: at 26-09-2010 08:53 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennee at 26-09-2010 11:10 PM (13 years ago)
Hhm!

So Nigeria Own Killer Weather na Flood now?

Posted: at 26-09-2010 11:10 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- 9jaconnections at 27-09-2010 01:03 AM (13 years ago)
Dangote Conglomerate(s), we need ur kind gesture on this one just like u did on the Pakistani flood disaster... Abi, as e b in-country matter, u no send Huh?
Posted: at 27-09-2010 01:03 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- olu4king at 27-09-2010 06:40 AM (13 years ago)
dangote gave pakistan $2M and what has he given to his people after this disaster? abi no be 9ja he take mek the money? abi no be im trucks dey cause accidents in nigeria everyday? phyuk all hypocrites!
Posted: at 27-09-2010 06:40 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Librabilex at 27-09-2010 07:54 AM (13 years ago)
for nija..this is serious
Posted: at 27-09-2010 07:54 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Adikpe at 27-09-2010 09:05 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: pp1973pp on 26-09-2010 04:46 PM
PERSON DIE?

Na wetin you wan hear be that?

U no read the story you come dey ask question.
Go back and read the story.
Posted: at 27-09-2010 09:05 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Pepesy at 27-09-2010 10:04 AM (13 years ago)
ehh yeahh!
Posted: at 27-09-2010 10:04 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennee at 27-09-2010 01:15 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: 9jaconnections on 27-09-2010 01:03 AM
Dangote Conglomerate(s), we need ur kind gesture on this one just like u did on the Pakistani flood disaster... Abi, as e b in-country matter, u no send Huh?

Dat Wicked Man??

Na Foreign Recognition he just dey Seek nai make am Do dat Rubbish

Posted: at 27-09-2010 01:15 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- uprising at 27-09-2010 03:32 PM (13 years ago)
sorryyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Posted: at 27-09-2010 03:32 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming