FG Launches Redesigned N50 Note To Commemorate 50th Annivesary

Date: 29-09-2010 7:54 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Ayobamy Olawale
- at 29-09-2010 07:54 PM (13 years ago)
The Federal Government has declared tomorrow half working day for Nigerian workers in  commemoration of Nigeria’s 50th Independence Anniversary. Friday, 1 October is a public  holiday.

This was announced at the Federal Executive Council meeting this morning by President  Goodluck Jonathan who also ordered the Minister of Interior, Captain Iheanacho to make a  formal announcement of the holiday to Nigerians. This was one of the highlights of  today’s FEC meeting which lasted only 48 minutes.

Also, specially redesigned N50 note and 22 carat non circulating coins to commemorate  Nigeria’s golden jubilee independence anniversary were launched during the brief  ceremony.

Lamido Sanusi, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, who presented the notes and  the coins to President Jonathan for launching, said the redesigned N50 note will  circulate along the existing one.

The redesigned note has the anniversary logo, a strip of gold band and a varnished  message that reads: 1960-2010, 50th Independence, which can be seen when the currency is  tilted.

Meanwhile, President Jonathan departed Abuja for Lagos to review the fleet of the  Nigerian Navy immediately after the FEC meeting which started promptly at 10am.

October 1, the date Nigeria got its independence from Britain, will be heralded with  fireworks, Yayale Ahmed, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF announced at  the FEC meeting this morning while outlining some of the programmes scheduled to mark  Nigeria’s 50th independence anniversary.

The President will host a banquet for distinguished Nigerians in Abuja tomorrow where 50  important personalities, including a number of deceased and living Nigeria’s founding  fathers will be honoured with medal. The President is also scheduled to hold another  banquet in Lagos on 2 October.

The grand finale of the event will be the parade at Eagle Square on Friday which will  feature military parade, parade of Nigeria’s military hardware, callisthenic displays and  maneuvers by jets of the Air Force which will be flown direct into Abuja from Makurdi on  that day.

Meanwhile, the city of Abuja is already agog for the celebration of the independence  anniversary as the roads are being decorated while rehearsals have continued at the Eagle  Square for the Friday grand event.

Posted: at 29-09-2010 07:54 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- onyin at 30-09-2010 01:00 AM (13 years ago)
Wow!.I cant remmember when last I heard of Nigeria coins.Wish my country all the best.GOODBYE TO CORRUPTION.ITS A NEW NIGERIA(I BELIEVE).
Posted: at 30-09-2010 01:00 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- martiz at 30-09-2010 03:40 AM (13 years ago)
Nigerian should becareful of changing currencies for every leaders in every tenure, is it where the proverties problems of Nigeria can be solve? Every Governments can budget a very huge amount of money to change the currencies because of an individual benefit, why can they use those money to Generate light as new Nigerians for the celebration of 50 years anniversary, To change the Nigerian's currencies is very easy to implement by the hands of Nigerian's leaders, but to Generate Light and creating jobs will take due process and 7 points Agender, Mr. President Goodluck Jonathan you guys are wasting Nigerian's money to benefit selfishness interest, crazy Leaders.
Posted: at 30-09-2010 03:40 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ejlijah at 30-09-2010 03:48 AM (13 years ago)
NIGERIA, MAY GOD HELPS US  :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( MR PRESIDENT PLEASE WE NEED CHANGE IN OUR COUNTRY,NIGERIANS YOUTH ARE ALL OVER THE WORLD LOOKING FOR A WAY TO SUCCEED, GOD HEAR OUR PRAYERS TO YOU,GOD BLESS MY COUNTRY NIGERIA,IN ONE UNITY WE STAND   
Posted: at 30-09-2010 03:48 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- naijatomsa at 30-09-2010 03:48 AM (13 years ago)
Superb!!! Who cannot feel this great wind of change coming? please tune to it :~ I mean, see positive thinking and confessions from a lot of Nigerians of all classes, home and abroad, online and offline... hahaha, wow, I wish you all the best Nigeria, standing with onyin on this; hahaha

Happy Birthday Nigeria, its Golden JUBILEE!!

I can see everything turning around for good.
Posted: at 30-09-2010 03:48 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Skipo4u at 30-09-2010 04:59 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: martiz on 30-09-2010 03:40 AM
Nigerian should becareful of changing currencies for every leaders in every tenure, is it where the proverties problems of Nigeria can be solve? Every Governments can budget a very huge amount of money to change the currencies because of an individual benefit, why can they use those money to Generate light as new Nigerians for the celebration of 50 years anniversary, To change the Nigerian's currencies is very easy to implement by the hands of Nigerian's leaders, but to Generate Light and creating jobs will take due process and 7 points Agender, Mr. President Goodluck Jonathan you guys are wasting Nigerian's money to benefit selfishness interest, crazy Leaders.
They are not changing it....it will be spend with the old currency....though we can look at it as wasteful venture 
Posted: at 30-09-2010 04:59 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moniconyez at 30-09-2010 07:29 AM (13 years ago)
Good
Posted: at 30-09-2010 07:29 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ofenja at 30-09-2010 07:49 AM (13 years ago)
only God will save us ,cos their said in proverb, a fool at 40 is a fool 4rever but now we re more than that hahahahaah  na waaaaaooooo, God come and help us, 6ince 1960 till now no changings in 9geria
Posted: at 30-09-2010 07:49 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ofenja at 30-09-2010 08:00 AM (13 years ago)
only God will save us ,cos their said in proverb, a fool at 40 is a fool 4rever but now we re more than that hahahahaah  na waaaaaooooo, God come and help us, 6ince 1960 till now no changings in 9geria the only changes will always have is changing of money and president
Posted: at 30-09-2010 08:00 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sophiebaby at 30-09-2010 08:27 AM (13 years ago)
NAIJA @ 50.. is it worth celebrating?
wetin be the meaning of the redisigning of the 50 naira note kwanu?

Posted: at 30-09-2010 08:27 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ifizi at 30-09-2010 08:40 AM (13 years ago)
naija i happy  4 us o i just pray make we reach  d heights we really deserve... Kiss Kiss Kiss
Posted: at 30-09-2010 08:40 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Adikpe at 30-09-2010 09:12 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 30-09-2010 08:27 AM
NAIJA @ 50.. is it worth celebrating?
wetin be the meaning of the redisigning of the 50 naira note kwanu?

Sophiebaby, please this is not a time for criticism, everything
they are doing, I believe worth it.

If you want a change, then the change must start from within ourselves,
as there is no change outside, without a change within.

I can foresee a greater future and a better days ahead for
NIGERIA!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY NIGERIA
Posted: at 30-09-2010 09:12 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- popo2009 at 30-09-2010 09:32 AM (13 years ago)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z08jGpgr43Y" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">Happy Birthday To You ( Chinese and English Version )</a>
Posted: at 30-09-2010 09:32 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bafyguy at 30-09-2010 09:48 AM (13 years ago)
Happy Bday 9ja
Posted: at 30-09-2010 09:48 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 30-09-2010 09:53 AM (13 years ago)
I love my country

Posted: at 30-09-2010 09:53 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- zion4real at 30-09-2010 10:04 AM (13 years ago)
how many times r we goin 2 change d naira, wat we need now is how our naira wld b equal 2 d dollars. any way i wish nigeria a beta golden celebration
Posted: at 30-09-2010 10:04 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Sonibaby at 30-09-2010 10:11 AM (13 years ago)
Happy Birthday Nigeria
Posted: at 30-09-2010 10:11 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mykelly at 30-09-2010 10:14 AM (13 years ago)
same old story
Posted: at 30-09-2010 10:14 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princedafe at 30-09-2010 10:36 AM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 30-09-2010 10:36 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- LEONE at 30-09-2010 11:05 AM (13 years ago)
EAST OR WEST HOME IS THE BEST.HAPPY BIRTHDAY N I G E R I A.
Posted: at 30-09-2010 11:05 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming

1. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

2. Netizens React As a Catholic Reverend Sister is Spotted in Public Drinking Alcohol (Video)

3. Binance Executives Drag NSA Ribadu, EFCC To Court

4. Rapper, Cynthia Morgan Reveals Why She Was Never S3xually Harassed in The Industry

5. Man Emmanuel Okpara Arrested For Reportedly B£ating His Wife to D£ath in Lagos

6. See List: Nigeria, Egypt Named Among World’s Lowest Salary Earners

7. A Thief Who Robbed me Was Dating The Police Officer in Charge of my Case – Lady Recounts Ordeal

8. Singer Waje Expresses Pride as Her Daughter, Emerald Turns 25, Pens Emotional Note to Her

9. Court Awards Late Biafran Leader, Ojukwu's Will to Bianca, Throws Out First Son, Debe's Case

10. VIDEO: NAFDAC Raids Factory Where Fake Bottled Water is Produced in Port Harcourt

11. Nigerian Man Videos The Living Condition of Immigrants Who Were Not Granted Asylum in Portugal

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

5. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

6. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)