USA Disrespects Nigeria By Banning Those Who Participate In Electoral Fraud - FG

Date: 19-09-2020 12:40 am (3 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 19-09-2020 12:40 AM (3 years ago)

The Federal government of Nigeria has hit back at the United States of America for placing Visa ban on individuals suspected of rigging elections in Kogi and Anambra states. The government said it was disrespectful to the sovereignty of the country for the US to apply restrictions to its private citizens.

The Nigerian government made this known in a statement issued by Mr Ferdinand Nwonye, Spokesperson for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Friday in Abuja.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), reports that this comes as a response to the recent announcement of the U.S. and the United Kingdom to impose visa restrictions on those who undermine electoral processes.

The Nigerian Government said it was committed to providing all necessary logistic, financial and security support to the electoral process.

“The Ministry of Foreign Affairs wishes to state that the Nigerian government has taken note of the concerns of some of our partners, especially the U.S. and UK governments regarding the elections in Edo and Ondo States.

“They have also expressed their intentions to take punitive measures against those who decide to, in what they termed as, undermine democracy.

“It is important to highlight that the responsibility for the conduct of elections in Nigeria solely resides with the Independent National Electoral Commission and State Independent Electoral Commissions.

“The Federal Government, and especially the President, is committed to providing all necessary logistic, financial and security support to the electoral process.

“The President has continually urged all parties and contestants to peacefully conduct themselves before, during and after the elections, and supported patriotic non-governmental initiatives such as the Abdusalami Abubakar-led Peace Committee.

“Furthermore, it should be noted that there are ample provisions in our laws to sanction violators and perpetrators of electoral violence and fraud.

“It would be considered disrespectful of the sovereignty of Nigeria for any outside authority to sit in judgment over the conduct of our citizens and apply punitive measures such as visa restriction, unilaterally.

“While we appreciate the support and encouragement of our international partners such as the EU, we urge our equally valued partners such as the UK and U.S. to cooperate with our relevant agencies,” the government said.

The government called on the partners to support security agencies by providing them whatever concrete evidence of observed misconduct to allow our laws and regulations to take their course.

The Nigerian government also expressed solidarity with the government and people of the U.S. as regards their forthcoming election, which it hoped would be free from interference and violence.

Posted: at 19-09-2020 12:40 AM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Patode at 19-09-2020 02:10 AM (3 years ago)
Must you go to America? If the U S don't want you in their Country, then go to Dubai or Saudi Arabia.
Posted: at 19-09-2020 02:10 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- mgiwa6 at 19-09-2020 04:00 AM (3 years ago)
You will not be barred from entering America unless you have shady characters.
Posted: at 19-09-2020 04:00 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- Boi2Man at 19-09-2020 04:31 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: Patode on 19-09-2020 02:10 AM
Must you go to America? If the U S don't want you in their Country, then go to Dubai or Saudi Arabia.
Which Dubai abi Saudi are talking about? Even their treatment of Nigerians and other Africans is worse off. Don’t even think of those Arab A*#S countries
Posted: at 19-09-2020 04:31 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Boi2Man at 19-09-2020 04:35 AM (3 years ago)
Mumu FG, please US,UK, EU Russia impose more ban on those idiots that called themselves polithieficians in Nigeria. You idiots disrespect Nigerians more than foreign countries. See their big shapeless lips .
Posted: at 19-09-2020 04:35 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wazubia at 19-09-2020 05:15 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: Patode on 19-09-2020 02:10 AM
SEE COMMON SENSE,  IS NOT COMMON ANYMORE.
EWU.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
BUT POSTER, WHICH ANAMBRA ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?
Posted: at 19-09-2020 05:15 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crusita at 19-09-2020 06:17 AM (3 years ago)
l hope their kids are ban too mostly for school and EU should do the same.
Posted: at 19-09-2020 06:17 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crusita at 19-09-2020 06:18 AM (3 years ago)
l hope their kids are ban too mostly for school and EU should do the same.
Posted: at 19-09-2020 06:18 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Henrybobo at 19-09-2020 07:41 AM (3 years ago)
una no even they shame... useless people, better develpo your country
Posted: at 19-09-2020 07:41 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nametalkam at 19-09-2020 10:03 AM (3 years ago)
Imagine the impetus, they are not only defending their fraudulent act, they are also soliciting for where to go hide the loot abroad.

Posted: at 19-09-2020 10:03 AM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Noah147 at 19-09-2020 12:16 PM (3 years ago)
HAHAHAH yeye country who respect una before mcheww
Posted: at 19-09-2020 12:16 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nikiniki at 19-09-2020 04:57 PM (3 years ago)
Speechless....country wan take control.....
Posted: at 19-09-2020 04:57 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac