Former Nigerian IG of Police, Ibrahim Idris Turned Into 'Vegetable' By His New Young Wife

Date: 27-10-2020 9:54 pm (3 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 27-10-2020 09:54 PM (3 years ago)

Idris started dating the then-deputy police superintendent who trained at the aviation college in Kaduna.

Mr. Idris, 61, sought to quickly elevate his newfound lover as a police superintendent, but this was frustrated by the service commission, police sources said. Mr. Idris then asked her to abandon her career altogether in the police pilot wing under operations department, sources said.

He subsequently took her as his new wife and rented a new apartment for her in Abuja. A few months after his new marriage, Mr. Idris had a clash with his first wife, a career legal practitioner and head of police wives association at the time, sources said.

Mr Idris asked the first wife to move out of the official police quarters the family was occupying in Maitama at the time, after which the new wife moved in.

Prior to his retirement, Mr. Idris had acquired new assets, moving into one of them when he left official police quarters for the new inspector-general in January 2019.

But Mr. Idris’ family said he never enjoyed his marriage to Asta, and sought regularly to punish the former police chief with physical and mental assault.

Favourite Meal of Yam and Oil

“Every time she would lock him inside a room,” a family source said. “After many hours and noises from our brother, she would then feed him yam and palm oil to calm him down.”

The family sources, who spoke under anonymity because of the ongoing divorce, said Mrs. Idris’ treatment of her husband left him “physically and mentally” ill for too long.

The families said Mr. Idris was finally rescued three weeks ago from their home on Nile Street, Maitama, and taken to his hometown in Bida for “proper care.”

“We got the blessings of the emir to bring him back to the village,” a source said. “And the emir has been taking care of his feeding allowances.”

Mrs. Idris was also accused of changing titles of assets acquired by her husband and they had to use the police to recover some cars from her recently.

“When we brought the former IG back to the village, we took him to elders for traditional healing,” a source said. “She had cleaned him out of everything — mentally, physically and financially.”

A husband stolen

Family sources said they had kept him in a safe place pending the conclusion of divorce at a court in Abuja.

A police source said it was appropriate for the family to claim the three children they both had together to prevent them from emulating Mrs. Idris’ controversial lifestyle.

“She scattered the police officers’ wives association while she was then, which led some members to boycott activities of the organisation,” a police source said. “It is okay for the court to give the custody of the children to the husband’s family.”

But Mrs. Idris insisted she had no issues with her husband but only his family. She also said she has been working to rescue her husband from his family, whom he accused of “stealing” him from her.

“As far as I am concerned, there is no divorce,” Mrs. Idris said. “They brought court papers but my husband said he did not approve any divorce papers.”

Mrs. Idris also said she sent three cars to her husband when some family members came to ask for it, although family and police sources strongly refuted this, saying the vehicles were forcibly recovered from her.

She said the family “locked” her husband “in the house and ran away with the keys” in the village, making it difficult for her to return him to their family assets she had been preserving in Abuja. 

“The lawyers said that they cannot deprive him of his constitutional rights to move about,” she said.

She told the Gazette she has not seen her husband since he was removed from Abuja three weeks ago, but she did not clarify where she was when her husband was being moved. Family sources Mr. Idris was locked at home and alone when they rescued him in Abuja three weeks ago.

“The family people have issues with me but me and my husband have no issues without ourselves,” Mrs. Idris said. “I am still in my husband’s house.”

“They served me a court order that there is a divorce and I told them I am still married to my husband,” she said. “They cannot do this.”

Every little helps

Mr. Idris’ relatives and Force Headquarters associates told the Gazette they have been working to see how they could help improve his life.

His tenure as inspector-general between March 2016 and January 2019 was sullied by a pack of low points for the police.

Several citizens were arrested in brazen abuse of fundamental rights and corruption cases against him and other police chiefs were summarily hushed.

But police chiefs told the Gazette they could not abandon Mr. Idris despite his “failed leadership” and had already intervened in the matter by getting Inspector-General Mohammed Adamu to frustrate further depletion of his assets by his wife.

Police sources said Mr. Adamu had already helped secure the release of three vehicles from Mrs. Idris, including a bullet proof SUV.

“We want to help him because we believe every little helps, but we are confused about where to start because of how bad his life has become,” a police chief said. “The police blocked Asta from accessing a bank account with some money inside, but we are not even sure if this will be enough to help our former oga’s life.”

Posted: at 27-10-2020 09:54 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 27-10-2020 11:35 PM (3 years ago)
small wife don finished oga police.. na one small boy go die koboko her now  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 27-10-2020 11:35 PM (3 years ago) | Grande Master
- nikiniki at 27-10-2020 11:57 PM (3 years ago)
How the mighty are falling. A whole IGP! Imagine small girl, not up to 35yrs old trashing an old man like this! Who said the rich doesn't cry! How can people live in maitama and this arrant nonsense is happening?
Who said women are not powerful? This girl used the proper jazz.
Posted: at 27-10-2020 11:57 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Boi2Man at 28-10-2020 02:27 AM (3 years ago)
Karma catching up
Posted: at 28-10-2020 02:27 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 28-10-2020 09:12 AM (3 years ago)
what goes around comes around... oga police reaping what he sowed

Posted: at 28-10-2020 09:12 AM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ikpotokin at 28-10-2020 09:23 AM (3 years ago)
They are all thieves
Posted: at 28-10-2020 09:23 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 1-11-2020 10:28 PM (3 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 1-11-2020 10:28 PM (3 years ago) | Hero

1. DHQ Finally Releases Photos And Names Of Soldiers Killed In Delta Attack

2. Teenage Boy Nabbed For Raping 11-Year-Old Schoolmate In Rivers

3. She Paid For My 1st Song, Believed in me When Others Mocked me- Kizz Daniel Opens Up About Wife

4. VIDEO: Nigerian Man Drags Wife to Court Over Genotype of Their Son Who is SS

5. Nigerian Man Breaks Down in Tears After Using His Mother’s N8m to Play Sporty Bet, Loses All

6. The House Of Rep Member Is In Opposition Party - Soludo States Why He Didn't Construct Road

7. VIDEO: Peter Obi Spotted At Central Mosque To Break Fast For Ramadan

8. BBNaija's Angel Slams Trolls Following Speculation Of A Breakup With Soma

9. "I’ve Forgiven Davido For ‘Disrespecting’ Me" - Samklef

10. I’ll Not Leave My Husband For Having Child Outside Our Marriage Says Blessing CEO

11. 'This Entertainment Industry Is So Dark Cos People In It Are So Envious, Evil' - Actress Uche

12. Singer Spyro Sends Strong Message To Men About Beautiful Women

13. "I’m Afrobeats Leader Worldwide" – Davido Brags

14. Fear, Tension As Bandits Kidnap 87, Loot Shops In Fresh Kaduna Attack

15. VIDEO: My Child Trying To Mess Up My Career - Mimi Orjiekwe Embarrassed As Daughter Exposes Her

16. Man Who Renounced Nigerian Citizenship Says He Has No Regrets

17. Businessman Tunde Ayeni Bars Ex-Mistress Ms Alagwu And Daughter From Using His Name

18. 6 Suspected Yahoo Boy Jailed In Ilorin

19. Tragedy As 2 Children Burnt To Death Following Fire Incident In Bauchi Residence

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)

10. "How Tinubu And His Colleagues Failed Nigeria In 1999" - Pa Ayo Adebanjo