Nigeria, world’s 44th most corrupt country

Date: 27-10-2010 10:49 am (14 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 27-10-2010 10:49 AM (14 years ago)
LAGOS—AMID declining socio-economic indices, Nigeria is recording a mileage in unexpected quarters. It is the 44th most corrupt country in the globe, according to the 2010 Corruption Perception Index, CPI mid-wived by the Transparency International, TI.
The report showed that governments across the world still have a handful combatting graft, which is hampering efforts to tackle the world’s most pressing problems such as instability of financial markets to climate change and poverty.
The 2010 CPI shows that nearly three quarters of the 178 countries in the index scored below five, on a scale of 10 (highly clean) and 0 (highly corrupt).
Denmark, New Zealand and Singapore are tied at the top of the list with a score of 9.3, followed closely by Finland and Sweden at 9.2. Bringing up the rear is Somalia with a score of 1.1, slightly trailing Myanmar and Afghanistan at 1.4 and Iraq at 1.5.
With a score of 2.4, Nigeria was 134 on the list of 178 countries, that is 44th. She is 28 in Africa and shares the 44th spot with Sierra Leone, Togo, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, Phillippines, Honduras, Azerbaijan and Ukraine.
To address these challenges, governments need to integrate anti_corruption measures in all spheres, from their responses to the financial crisis and climate change to commitments by the international community to eradicate poverty.
Transparency International advocates stricter implementation of the UN Convention against Corruption, the only global initiative that provides a framework for putting an end to corruption.

Posted: at 27-10-2010 10:49 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princedafe at 27-10-2010 11:39 AM (14 years ago)
Posted: at 27-10-2010 11:39 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malvin2525 at 23-06-2011 01:07 PM (13 years ago)
Not Everybody In Nigeria Is Corrupt But If We Must Look For The Way forward We Must Start From The Presidency To The Senate To The House Of Rep To The Governors To The Minsters To The Councilors, Most Especially The police Even The Pastors, So There Is a long way To Go, But I Challenge Nigerians To Look At Other Countries That We are Far Better Than Both In Economy And other Facts Of Life The Way The Laugh At Us Just Because Of Our Corrupt Practices In Higher Places We The Nigerians In Diaspora Are Tired Of Your Corrupt Practices The World Is Laughing At Us, Bikoooooooo Bikooooo Stop It
Posted: at 23-06-2011 01:07 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 23-06-2011 01:54 PM (13 years ago)
na wa oo......we don dey improve oo.....from number one to number two...........now all of a sudden we crash to number 44........how manage?

Posted: at 23-06-2011 01:54 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- frayobkk at 23-06-2011 02:02 PM (13 years ago)
we for cari first now
na only that one we sabi

Posted: at 23-06-2011 02:02 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 23-06-2011 04:02 PM (13 years ago)
OK

Posted: at 23-06-2011 04:02 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- mibenne at 23-06-2011 08:23 PM (13 years ago)
9ja no de carry last the say................but they try sha...but we need to carry last for dis one dou
Posted: at 23-06-2011 08:23 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- beccaminaj at 23-06-2011 08:40 PM (13 years ago)
Plsss , what study says Nigeria is 44th in the world.If you take the number of government employees and internet scammers, Nigeria is number 1 in the world followed by Ghana. Plss is it not the truth.
Posted: at 23-06-2011 08:40 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- tttonero at 27-06-2011 03:11 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 27-06-2011 03:11 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Merlin at 27-06-2011 04:18 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: beccaminaj on 23-06-2011 08:40 PM
Plsss , what study says Nigeria is 44th in the world.If you take the number of government employees and internet scammers, Nigeria is number 1 in the world followed by Ghana. Plss is it not the truth.
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 27-06-2011 04:18 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 27-06-2011 04:56 PM (13 years ago)
Okies
Posted: at 27-06-2011 04:56 PM (13 years ago) | Hero