Must the Igbos support Jonathan?

Date: 10-11-2010 2:54 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 10-11-2010 02:54 PM (13 years ago)
AS a proud Igbo man, I profess dismay at the columnist Uche Ezechukwu who in the Sun of October 25 and November 1, 2010 took his time to calumniate Ambassador Raph Uwechue, the President-General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo. This is because I have always had a lot of respect for Mr. Ezechukwu and his journalism.
But I was shocked by the degree of debasement to which he applied himself and his respected column in these pieces he titled, “Uwechue’s sad swan song”(1 and 2). My source of discomfort is not simply with the abrasive prose but also because of the penchant for execration that he exhibited in attacking the person of Chief Uwechue – a much-respected Igbo icon and elder statesman.
Among some other ethnic groups, Ezechukwu’s animus and scorn for Uwechue would have earned him and, possibly, his immediate relations, some bashing! The youths would have congregated to teach them how not to convert the pages of a newspaper for the humiliation of a blameless septuagenarian. It is obviously because Ndigbo do not resort to violent action on account of this kind of misbehaviour that Ezechukwu was unrelenting in his verbal diarrhoea.
It was with keen interest that I read Ezechukwu’s pieces, waiting in vain for him to come to the question. In one or two instances where he nearly addressed the pertinent issues, he left us with half truths and incomplete sentences. To cite a specific case, why didn’t he mention the names of his two other friends and colleagues who accompanied him to a meeting with Uwechue.
At least, the duo would have corroborated or discountenanced the garland of sectional jingoism with which he attempted to dress Uwechue. Who were the others that attended the so-called Abuja Imeobi Ohanaeze meeting from which Ezechukwu claimed to have stormed out, the only superhero around that knows all the answers to Igbo salvation? His economics with details robs his articles of authenticity.
If I may ask Ezechukwu and his cohorts, what is so wrong with the Uwechue-led Ohanaeze soliciting Igbo for Dr. Goodluck Jonathan’s presidential ambition? Chief Uwechue painted a detailed picture of how widely Ohanaeze consulted with various stratums of Igbo society and leaders of some other ethnic groups before taking its stand. Not a single one of all the reasons adduced by Uwechue and his executive has been repudiated by Ezechukwu and his Northern apologists. All they have been doing is pile insult upon insult.
Why have they not tried to present their case in scientific and civilized ways?
As far as I am concerned, Ezechukwu’s attitude and position on this subject matter is that of a literary hireling. Any thoughtful Igbo man or woman will encounter very little difficulty in deciding to support Jonathan’s presidential bid, especially after taking into cognizance the lot of Ndigbo as third or fourth class citizens in their country, juxtaposed with the fact that a tiny minority from the North has ruled this country for 40 years and still insists on continuing, even though the country has been the worst for their longevity in the presidential office.
They see no wrong in insisting on always being in the driver’s seat, in a country of over 130 million people, in a well-defined six geopolitical zones arrangement. Haba!  Uche my friend, where is justice and where is equity in all of this?
The current political situation in the country should act as a clarion call to all well- meaning Igbo sons and daughters to rally round Ohanaeze, to give the organisation all the necessary support and encouragement  it may require in its bid to chart a new course for the entire Igbo race.
One should not get confused because of the tantrums of some loudspeakers who are currently “opposing” Ohanaeze but only as a means of lining their pockets as usual, to the detriment of our people. Time has come for us all to say that enough is enough; no longer can we keep quiet and watch while we are continually marginalised and treated like the scum of the earth, simply because a civil war was fought of which the political authority had proclaimed to be without a victor or a vanquished.
I was at the last Imeobi -Ohaneze which held at its headquarters in Enugu. I was also at the press conference which came after the well-attended summit. There, I had the opportunity of listening first hand to the position of the Ohanaeze executive on the various issues raised in Ezechukwu’s column.
On the issue of consultation, the President General of Ohanaeze gave a detailed account of how they consulted over a long period of time with some of our illustrious sons and daughters, both at home and in the Diaspora.
The issue of wanting to extend his tenure was tackled at that summit of eminent Ohanaeze members and it was clear that Uwechue never moved the motion to extend his tenure but that Ohanaeze’s constitution did undergo some reviews as regards the tenure of its executive. This exercise was led by no less a person than the eminent Professor Elochukwu Amucheazi and was mandated and concluded under the Dozie Ikedife-led executive of Ohanaeze.
Uche’s insinuations about some expensive newspaper advertorials were also addressed and we were made to understand that the man Uwechue has been running the affairs of Ohanaeze for the past two years from his own pocket, a fact that members of Ohaneze executive gave credence to.
In this summit of respectable Igbo leaders, including Igwes and members of the clergy, it was clarified that all members of the Ohanaeze executive do not and have never had to sign any document before such a document becomes an official Ohanaeze position as Uche would want us to believe.
After careful analysis therefore, taking into consideration all shades of opinion, including the vexed issue of zoning, one wonders why the person of Uwechue should be vilified and condemned on the pages of newspapers for taking a stand that has indeed gone through the due process of Ohanaeze’s rules and procedure, if there are no ulterior motives.

Posted: at 10-11-2010 02:54 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- do4sure at 11-11-2010 01:52 PM (13 years ago)
If you are surprised i am not because i know whose trumpet Ezechukwu was blowing
Posted: at 11-11-2010 01:52 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- brainboy2 at 11-11-2010 03:52 PM (13 years ago)
I think igbos are with jonathan
Posted: at 11-11-2010 03:52 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- farsam400 at 14-11-2010 12:49 AM (13 years ago)
My point is nigerians should vote for the right person. I believe jonathan is a serious man
who would nigeria further bot nationally and internally. Please stop this division we are all one
in nigeria. Until we see things in this light, i'am afraid we wil continue to have problems
Posted: at 14-11-2010 12:49 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- dollar22 at 16-11-2010 04:00 AM (13 years ago)
i think he i will du well if we vote him
Posted: at 16-11-2010 04:00 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- igweshi at 19-11-2010 06:16 PM (13 years ago)
i think he will do better let give him a chance.
Posted: at 19-11-2010 06:16 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- D9ja at 17-11-2011 10:59 PM (12 years ago)
well we can try him, but they are all the same
Posted: at 17-11-2011 10:59 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mallorca at 17-11-2011 11:38 PM (12 years ago)

Posted: at 17-11-2011 11:38 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. NDLEA Busts International Drug Syndicate Operating Across Nigeria, South Africa, & Thailand

2. Wofai Fada Receives Warm Welcome From Sister-in-Law Amid Family Disapproval

3. Lagos Police Nab Two Suspected Fraudsters, Seyi Demola and Wale Lawson, For Preying In Public

4. Allegations Of Bullying Surface Against Wofai Fada's Husband, Taiwo Cole (Photos)

5. Samklef Opens Up On Why He Didn't Pursue Relationship With Simi During Struggling Days

6. DSS Seals Clinic In Plateau State Amid Allegations Of Quackery & Patient Death

7. FCCPC Vows To Crack Down On Loan Apps Harassing Customers

8. "People See Influencers As Jobless Human Beings" – BBNaija Star, Anto Lecky

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

3. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

4. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

5. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

6. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

7. Wofai Fada Defies In-Laws, Ties The Knot With Taiwo Cole In Traditional Ceremony (Photos & Vid)

8. Peter Obi Alleges Govt Agencies Conducting Smear Campaigns, Town Hall Meetings Against Him

9. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada

10. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State