ECOWAS court orders Nigeria to provide free, compulsory education

Date: 01-12-2010 10:46 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 1-12-2010 10:46 AM (13 years ago)

IN a dramatic and ground-breaking judgment on Tuesday, the ECOWAS Community Court of Justice in Abuja,  ordered the Nigerian government to provide as of right, free and compulsory education to every Nigerian child. This judgment followed the court’s earlier ruling that declared that all Nigerians were entitled to education as a legal and human right.

The ECOWAS court’s judgment read in open court on Tuesday, followed a suit instituted by the Registered Trustees of the Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP) against the Federal Government and Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC), alleging the violation of the right to quality education, the right to dignity, the right of peoples to their wealth and natural resources and to economic and social development guaranteed by Articles 1, 2, 17, 21 and 22 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

The court also ruled that the UBEC failed to discharge its legal responsibility pursuant to its foundational instrument to monitor how states were spending and using states’ natural wealth and resources in order to ensure that the resources were spent for the purposes for which they were meant.

The court granted the following reliefs asked by SERAP:

A declaration that every Nigerian child is entitled to Free and Compulsory Education by virtue of Article 17 of the African Child’s Rights Act, Section 15 of the Child’s Rights Act 2003 and Section 2 of the Compulsory Free and Universal Basic Education Act, 2004.

An order directing the defendant to make adequate provisions for the compulsory and free education of every child forthwith.

The court also said that the ICPC report on the diversion of the sum of N3.5 billion from the UBE fund by certain public officers in 10 states in Nigeria constituted only a prima-facie evidence of theft of the public funds until the officials involved were successfully prosecuted before national courts. On this ground, the court did not elaborate on the provisions of Articles 21 and 22 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples Rights.

The Court said that the right to education can be enforced before the Court and dismissed all objections brought by the Federal Government, through the Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC), that education was “a mere directive policy of the government and not a legal entitlement of the citizens.”

Posted: at 1-12-2010 10:46 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gbenga01 at 1-12-2010 11:39 AM (13 years ago)
unh Cheesy
Posted: at 1-12-2010 11:39 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Renewed at 1-12-2010 11:40 AM (13 years ago)
ECOWAS, na small small...we go soon reach there...

Posted: at 1-12-2010 11:40 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- DarkCoco at 1-12-2010 12:00 PM (13 years ago)
OM Lord God.....DIS CANT B TRUE

If it it....Thank God...Nigeria will get there in Jesus Name Wink Smiley

Posted: at 1-12-2010 12:00 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyimau20 at 1-12-2010 12:06 PM (13 years ago)
If they will do as ordered, that would be the greatest achievement so ever....
Posted: at 1-12-2010 12:06 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aliaaz at 1-12-2010 12:19 PM (13 years ago)
I pray its works.

Posted: at 1-12-2010 12:19 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- prince316 at 1-12-2010 12:31 PM (13 years ago)
i just hope it will work...
Posted: at 1-12-2010 12:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- solid_solid at 1-12-2010 12:54 PM (13 years ago)
this one na pouring water on a stone
Posted: at 1-12-2010 12:54 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 1-12-2010 12:57 PM (13 years ago)
Okay oooooo
Posted: at 1-12-2010 12:57 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Josamase at 1-12-2010 01:39 PM (13 years ago)
Gaint of Africa Indeed.... Na ECOWAS Court dey order u before u know watin you go do.Huh?..With all dat OIL money, the citizens cannot benefit even from Education in Nigeria.. Thief, Thief 2much for our country.. Na only God go save dat country.. Politicians lead us well.. Anything wey fly pass na witch
Posted: at 1-12-2010 01:39 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ivymood at 1-12-2010 01:58 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Josamase on  1-12-2010 01:39 PM
Gaint of Africa Indeed.... Na ECOWAS Court dey order u before u know watin you go do.Huh?..With all dat OIL money, the citizens cannot benefit even from Education in Nigeria.. Thief, Thief 2much for our country.. Na only God go save dat country.. Politicians lead us well.. Anything wey fly pass na witch
my brother am speechless.
Posted: at 1-12-2010 01:58 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- lanudja at 1-12-2010 01:59 PM (13 years ago)
We prayooo
Posted: at 1-12-2010 01:59 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- yettyness at 1-12-2010 02:05 PM (13 years ago)
Fantastic news
Posted: at 1-12-2010 02:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyi2010 at 1-12-2010 02:10 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 1-12-2010 02:10 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kelvinty at 1-12-2010 02:15 PM (13 years ago)
they can oder them but nigeria government nor dey hear word,dats our biggest problem,i pray they should hear dis one oooooo amen
Posted: at 1-12-2010 02:15 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Tundea1 at 1-12-2010 02:17 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: onyi2010 on  1-12-2010 02:10 PM

Why the celebration. Must Nigeria be compelled? With our human and natural resources?
Posted: at 1-12-2010 02:17 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- 4kasibe247 at 1-12-2010 02:43 PM (13 years ago)
that good news...they shld provide financial aid to all students higher institutions too...May god help us all Cool
Posted: at 1-12-2010 02:43 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Alex11 at 1-12-2010 02:46 PM (13 years ago)
The Ghana must go bags that the members of house of assembly are sharing will be enough to start that. Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 1-12-2010 02:46 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Christianasteph at 1-12-2010 03:54 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Alex11 on  1-12-2010 02:46 PM
The Ghana must go bags that the members of house of assembly are sharing will be enough to start that. Grin Grin Grin

abi ooooooooooo my brother, na true u talk self. See if this thing works out well, hmmmmmmm, dat day i go no say Nigerians sabi keep their pormise/ words.
Posted: at 1-12-2010 03:54 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kenny0147 at 1-12-2010 04:03 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: kelvinty on  1-12-2010 02:15 PM
they can oder them but nigeria government nor dey hear word,dats our biggest problem,i pray they should hear dis one oooooo amen

That wan way you talk nar true! true!! ooo. Them nor dey hear word, all this pharaoh's way they think say Oga Moses nar small boy. Them go hear in Jesus Christ name...Amen
Abeg Guy Pass me the Ginger to high my swagger!!!
Posted: at 1-12-2010 04:03 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4