Lagos Traffic Robbers Resurge, Attack Motorists In Daytime With Police Present

Date: 22-11-2021 6:34 am (2 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 22-11-2021 06:34 AM (2 years ago)

Motorists have cried out over resurgent cases of traffic robberies in Lagos State as hoodlums reportedly attack commuters at night and in broad daylight.

It was gathered that on some busy highways such as Ojota-Ketu-Mile 12 axis manned by police, miscreants loitering around pounce on motorists held in traffic and break their windscreens in an attempt to rob them.

In some cases, the thugs forcefully demand money from drivers with a threat to attack them if they fail to accede to their demand, a Punch investigation says.

The newspaper said that one of its correspondents who passed through Ojota at 9am on Monday witnessed moments a dark-complexioned young man in shorts and T-shirt waltzed into the side of a black Prado Jeep stuck in traffic gridlock around Freedom Park.

The fellow knocked on the front windscreen and vehemently asked the driver to give him money but the latter resisted. As the thug attempted to bring out a weapon, the driver, a middle-aged man, quickly handed a naira note to him. He fled into the lawn afterwards.

There was a cluster of policemen and their vans stationed some metres away from the spot where the incident happened, the report said.
A co-presenter of a TVC programme, Your View, Tope Mark-Odigie, also shared her encounter with two traffic robbers on Alapere Bridge, inward Ojota around 7pm last Friday.

Recounting her experience during the Monday edition of the programme, Mark-Odigie said one of the assailants shattered her windscreen as she struggled to evade the attack.

She stated that two days before the incident, a friend had told her of how he was robbed in traffic between Oworonshoki and Ogudu and his windscreen broken.

She recalled, “On Friday (November 12), I had an event on the Island. On my way back around 7.30pm, the attack took place on Alapere Bridge inward 7up. Because I am conscious of the fact they usually rob (in that area), I had been looking around and saw policemen stationed around the bridge. They always park (their patrol vans) there. They clustered around a young man on the floor; maybe they caught one of the robbers.

“Barely two minutes afterwards, I was flanked by two men and they were hitting the windows. I swerved to one side and one of them ran away. I got to another lane and the other guy on my side kept hitting until he broke the glass. I kept on struggling in traffic because there wasn’t much space to manoeuvre.
“There was a trailer by my side; I kept manoeuvring until I was able to escape. I think other drivers were aware of what was going on and the little they could do was to make room for me to move. There were glass shards on my body.”

She and her co-presenters urged the state government to light up the road and other highways, especially those notorious for traffic robbery.

Another presenter, Mariam Longe, also lamented that she and her husband had been robbed along Apogbon Bridge on different occasions.
The Police Public Relations Officer in the state, CSP Adekunle Ajisebutu, said the command was addressing the menace by intensifying security across the state and raiding criminal hideouts.

He said, “Security has been beefed up in the area (Ojota) and other parts of the state. The Commissioner of Police, CP Hakeem Odumosu, has directed all the Area Commanders, DPOs, tactical teams and other field commanders to provide watertight security in every part of the state before, during and after the Christmas and beyond.”

“In compliance with the directive, the officers have increased the presence of policemen through proactive and visibility policing as well as raids of criminal hideouts.”

Posted: at 22-11-2021 06:34 AM (2 years ago) | Hero
- kaposky at 22-11-2021 06:53 AM (2 years ago)
Nawaoh
Posted: at 22-11-2021 06:53 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larry1970 at 22-11-2021 07:19 AM (2 years ago)
Yoruba people don't steal its people from non yoruba nation and land doing this they come to yoruba land to steal and their women to do prostitution ok
That's your mega city you nonsense people
Posted: at 22-11-2021 07:19 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dopybadass at 22-11-2021 09:05 AM (2 years ago)
Quote from: kaposky on 22-11-2021 06:53 AM
Nawaoh
[/quoteBhadman you still dey alive?
Posted: at 22-11-2021 09:05 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gemenas at 22-11-2021 09:23 AM (2 years ago)
Good news for  Nigerians   !! This is to inform the general public that individual can now #Buy dangote cement directly  from the factory at a #PROMO PRICE   of 2000 Naira per bag and Rice for 19,000 naira per bag. call the marketing manager Mrs Aruna Grace on ☎ (08034825434) or whatsapp Transportation and offloading is 300 Naira, minimum for purchase is from 100 bags and above.  we deliver nation wide only serious buyers should call. Note this offer only last for 1 month and  payment validate order. ☎08034825434 / 08034825434
Posted: at 22-11-2021 09:23 AM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- fineboy77 at 22-11-2021 02:35 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: larry1970 on 22-11-2021 07:19 AM
Yoruba people don't steal its people from non yoruba nation and land doing this they come to yoruba land to steal and their women to do prostitution ok
That's your mega city you nonsense people
Look at this bigot. Admit it, your people are very lazy and that is why the resort to robbery. All those agbero, alaye and those uncountable touts are 95% Yoruba. Every region has their own vices, but trying to blame others for what happens in Lagos is low. Talking about mega cities, you go dey there dey boast of city, while people are actually making serious money in it. Lagos was built with resources from all over Nigeria, and if you advocate for the so called 1 Nigeria, then you must learn to accommodate everyone, even if e dey choke you. Though in Kwara, but lets take the Offa Bank robbery of 2018 for example, see names.......,Ayoade Akinnibosun, Ibikunle Ogunleye, Adeola Abraham, Azeez Salawu, and Niyi Ogundiran....., non Yoruba people abi?, ODE !

Posted: at 22-11-2021 02:35 PM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 22-11-2021 02:40 PM (2 years ago)
As a matter of fact, its even Yoruba people that export robbery to some other parts of Nigeria. For example, the insecurity on the Benin - Lagos expressway, and Benin bypass as well as to some extent towards Asaba is as a result of the combined efforts of Yoruba and Fulani robbers, with a sprinkle of Edo flavor.

Posted: at 22-11-2021 02:40 PM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 22-11-2021 02:54 PM (2 years ago)
Buhari rule!!!!!!
Posted: at 22-11-2021 02:54 PM (2 years ago) | Grande Master
- larry1970 at 22-11-2021 03:12 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 22-11-2021 02:40 PM
As a matter of fact, its even Yoruba people that export robbery to some other parts of Nigeria. For example, the insecurity on the Benin - Lagos expressway, and Benin bypass as well as to some extent towards Asaba is as a result of the combined efforts of Yoruba and Fulani robbers, with a sprinkle of Edo flavor.
They are not yoruba people they bear yoruba names or they were born in yoruba land or mixed yoruba with other tribes but an 100% yoruba people don't steal and do prostitution you other tribes brought it to yoruba land ok I can't wait for everyone to go back to their lands ok
Posted: at 22-11-2021 03:12 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larry1970 at 22-11-2021 03:13 PM (2 years ago)
They are not yoruba people they bear yoruba names or they were born in yoruba land or mixed yoruba with other tribes but an 100% yoruba people don't steal and do prostitution you other tribes brought it to yoruba land ok I can't wait for everyone to go back to their lands ok
Posted: at 22-11-2021 03:13 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larry1970 at 22-11-2021 03:19 PM (2 years ago)
they bear yoruba names but they are yoruba people you need to go back to your tribe ok and I know you are not educated ok lagos was built with cocoa money from Ekiti and ondi ok and you are the ode not me ok I don't know why you fool don't tell me about any useless money you think you making ok the phyuking Naira is as good  as a toilet paper ok
Posted: at 22-11-2021 03:19 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larry1970 at 22-11-2021 03:19 PM (2 years ago)
they bear yoruba names but they are yoruba people you need to go back to your tribe ok and I know you are not educated ok lagos was built with cocoa money from Ekiti and ondi ok and you are the ode not me ok I don't know why you fool don't tell me about any useless money you think you making ok the phyuking Naira is as good  as a toilet paper ok
Posted: at 22-11-2021 03:19 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 22-11-2021 06:44 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: larry1970 on 22-11-2021 03:19 PM
they bear yoruba names but they are yoruba people you need to go back to your tribe ok and I know you are not educated ok lagos was built with cocoa money from Ekiti and ondi ok and you are the ode not me ok I don't know why you fool don't tell me about any useless money you think you making ok the phyuking Naira is as good  as a toilet paper ok
They are not Yoruba, but they bear Yoruba names lol ( I guess that's what you wanted to write, but not what you wrote though )..., I shouldn't be arguing with you. I now know your level of mentality. Professor, abeg start by making sure that your English is good. Federal Capital Territory built with cocoa money from Ekiti and Ondo (Alone ), clap for yourself, the historian of our time. Make sure that you invest from the peanuts that you are making in diaspora because men are hitting it big in Naija on a daily, you can't measure up.

Posted: at 22-11-2021 06:44 PM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 22-11-2021 06:49 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: larry1970 on 22-11-2021 03:13 PM
Of course, that will be nice. If The country can be divided peacefully, it will definitely be''to your tents O'Israel''. The reason why some people are in Yoruba land is same reason why Yoruba people are in other parts of the country, and that is the 1 Nigeria deception. Divide the country, so that my people will come back, and your people will go back home too. But I guess that your people might not like that idea because some of them own undeserved oil wells in the SS and SE.

Posted: at 22-11-2021 06:49 PM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- larry1970 at 22-11-2021 09:08 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 22-11-2021 06:49 PM
Of course, that will be nice. If The country can be divided peacefully, it will definitely be''to your tents O'Israel''. The reason why some people are in Yoruba land is same reason why Yoruba people are in other parts of the country, and that is the 1 Nigeria deception. Divide the country, so that my people will come back, and your people will go back home too. But I guess that your people might not like that idea because some of them own undeserved oil wells in the SS and SE.
those are not full yoruba people ok I live in new York for 30 years ok I have almost 15 employees ok I made my money in America not a dime in Nigeria never ok
It will better for everyone to go to their own land ok
They playing every one in that country like a yoyo ok
Posted: at 22-11-2021 09:08 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 22-11-2021 09:53 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: larry1970 on 22-11-2021 09:08 PM
those are not full yoruba people ok I live in new York for 30 years ok I have almost 15 employees ok I made my money in America not a dime in Nigeria never ok
It will better for everyone to go to their own land ok
They playing every one in that country like a yoyo ok
Now you're sounding weird. Still searching to see the sense in what you said. All criminals in Yorubaland are either foreigners or half Yoruba, while full fledged Yoruba people are saints. I see. Anyway, since you are in the states, help us ask Hushpuppi if he is half or full fledged.

Posted: at 22-11-2021 09:53 PM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- larry1970 at 22-11-2021 10:59 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 22-11-2021 09:53 PM
Now you're sounding weird. Still searching to see the sense in what you said. All criminals in Yorubaland are either foreigners or half Yoruba, while full fledged Yoruba people are saints. I see. Anyway, since you are in the states, help us ask Hushpuppi if he is half or full fledged.
my brother who is hushpuppy I don't know about who you talking about I'm saying A you saying Z I'm telling you that everyone should be in their own lane so that each tribe can have their rules and regulations and you jiving real bad all these you talking about oil block in the south east should hold on to it ok noone cares about Ss or Se whatever they have belongs to them Nigeria is a finished country and most of you guys that live there are like slaves trust me the real yoruba people I mean 100% ones don't steal or do prostitution ok cos you have yoruba names or speak real good don't make you a yoruba person trust me
Posted: at 22-11-2021 10:59 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 23-11-2021 09:14 AM (2 years ago)
Quote from: larry1970 on 22-11-2021 10:59 PM
my brother who is hushpuppy I don't know about who you talking about I'm saying A you saying Z I'm telling you that everyone should be in their own lane so that each tribe can have their rules and regulations and you jiving real bad all these you talking about oil block in the south east should hold on to it ok noone cares about Ss or Se whatever they have belongs to them Nigeria is a finished country and most of you guys that live there are like slaves trust me the real yoruba people I mean 100% ones don't steal or do prostitution ok cos you have yoruba names or speak real good don't make you a yoruba person trust me
You are living in a perfect Yoruba world,  created in your mind. Like I said, it is good that they divide the country and that everyone goes back to their place, including Yoruba people living in other parts of Nigeria. Imagine you, thinking in your little mind that it is only others that come to Yoruba land and that Yoruba people are not in other places, because that is what you imply !. For the records, Yoruba people are the worst criminals that we have in Nigeria, they are into armed robbery, fraud, rituals and every bad thing that you can think of. And if you decide to name them half Yoruba, because you are shy to say the truth, then count all the criminals out, and you wont even have up to 19 people remaining in the entire Yorubaland. Other tribes live in Lagos, Abuja, and all cities in Nigeria, so if the country should be divided, everybody will go back to their place, and build it. Lagos is not the only megacity in Nigeria, let alone the world, so if the country is divided, others will still go and build themselves, brand new and better mega cities. Everyone is managing Lagos at the moment because of 1 Nigeria. Stop dragging Lagos, no be your property. I don't stay in Nigeria either, but trust me, you wont be qualified to be the gate man of some people that live in Nigeria. Lastly, you will be surprised at the population of Yoruba prostitues in and out of Nigeria when you actually check. Tell your mind to stop it and face reality.

Posted: at 23-11-2021 09:14 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 23-11-2021 09:24 AM (2 years ago)
Quote from: larry1970 on 22-11-2021 10:59 PM
I forgot that you said that you don't know Hushpuppi, well, google the name. You are a Yoruba man living in another man's land. why are you in another man's land?

Posted: at 23-11-2021 09:24 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- larry1970 at 23-11-2021 01:44 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 23-11-2021 09:24 AM
I forgot that you said that you don't know Hushpuppi, well, google the name. You are a Yoruba man living in another man's land. why are you in another man's land?
why do  I have to goggle him for it looks like you don't have nothing better to say and what do you mean I'm living in another man's land is Nigeria a country or a nonsense place you are really still behind in everything about life ok Please don't message me back I'm not getting any knowledge out of you  I was going to tell you that whenever you come to new York and if you need a job you can halla brother you are out of touch ok
Useless country useless president useless police officers useless politicians useless people ok
Yoruba nation all the way no going back ok
Posted: at 23-11-2021 01:44 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac