Ten states are in the process of acquiring their own airports, Minister of Aviation, Mrs. Fidelia Njeze, has said.
Njeze said this while briefing the press on the scorecard of the ministry in Abuja on Thursday.
The states include Akwa Ibom, Taraba, Delta, Zamfara, Gombe and Bayelsa. Others are Kebbi, Osun, Ogun and Kwara States.
Njeze said, "The airports in Delta, Zamfara and Kebbi States are being funded by their various state governments, while the Federal Government provides counterpart funding for Taraba, Gombe, Akwa Ibom and Osun airports.
"In order to ensure compliance with the International Civil Aviation Organisation and Standards and Recommended Practices, the Ministry of Aviation is actively supervising construction works at the states."
"Gombe, Akwa Ibom and Ilorin airports' terminals are now operational. The site selection for Ogun Agri-Cargo airport and Osun airport project has been completed and are awaiting construction works.
The site selection for Bayelsa project has been completed, while survey and design are currently in progress, she said.
On security, she disclosed that full body scanners otherwise known as 3D scanning machines had been installed in all the major airports in the country.
The minister said, "The Nigeria Civil Aviation Authority has upgraded the consumer protection unit to a full directorate to improve service delivery to the travelling public.
"Flight schedules have been adjusted by some airlines, so that they no longer arrive at odd hours of the night.
"Airlines have also introduced new aircraft and improved on service delivery at the instance of the authority.
"NCAA prepared an update on the payment of compensation to ensure the families of victims of Bellview, Sosoliso and ADC Airlines are duly compensated."
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 15-12-2010 10:18 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
MissyBarbie at 15-12-2010 10:22 AM (14 years ago) (f)
Okay...good for them
Posted: at 15-12-2010 10:22 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
its a good idea but .... i smell yet another rat and fowl play here so dat be long pot bellied politrickians would fly straight to dier villages thus avoiding d dead traps we naija call roads, and so dat dey can share d natiomal moi moi by inflating the project cost as dey did in the resurfacing of abuja int'l airport.... abeg make una check am na... why dem no use dat money wey dey scratch their kleptomaniac hands upgrade skools, roads, water, and other people and sustainable growth/development based programs....una see ba?
Posted: at 15-12-2010 01:49 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
its a good idea but .... i smell yet another rat and fowl play here so dat be long pot bellied politrickians would fly straight to dier villages thus avoiding d dead traps we naija call roads, and so dat dey can share d natiomal moi moi by inflating the project cost as dey did in the resurfacing of abuja int'l airport.... abeg make una check am na... why dem no use dat money wey dey scratch their kleptomaniac hands upgrade skools, roads, water, and other people and sustainable growth/development based programs....una see ba?
lol.you talk true sha oo.no good road but dem they do airport.
Posted: at 15-12-2010 02:00 PM (14 years ago) | Hero