Benue Gov. Samuel Ortom Challenges Buhari To Rescue Nigerians From Bandits, Terrorists

Date: 02-09-2022 8:38 am (2 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 2-09-2022 08:38 AM (2 years ago)

Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State has asked President Muhammadu Buhari to rescue Nigerians from criminal gangs holding them to ransom.

Mr Ortom was reacting to a statement by the presidency on Wednesday, accusing the governor of denigrating Nigeria’s security agencies by claiming that Mr Buhari ordered security forces not to move against criminal herdsmen.

Benue and most North-central states of Nigeria have been in the grip of armed herdsmen, maiming and killing the locals.

Presidential spokesperson, Garba Shehu, in a statement, challenged Mr Ortom to mention those military personnel who told him that Mr Buhari had ordered security forces not to move against criminal herdsmen.

According to Mr Shehu, in a period of heightened insecurity, politicians should be working to bring the nation closer together, not risking further violence by ”dishonestly seeking” to further divide Nigerians along ethnic or religious lines.”

But in a statement, on Thursday, by Nathaniel Ikyur, his media aide, Mr Ortom asked Mr Buhari and his “government to redeem its battered image by rescuing Nigerians from the apron strings of bandits, kidnappers and terrorists who are having a field day in the country.”

“If I raised a false alarm, why have the Fulani terrorists who are veiled as herdsmen continued to kidnap and kill Nigerians unchallenged? How many of the terrorists and bandits have been apprehended and prosecuted? The Buhari administration cannot extricate itself from complicity regarding the evil visited on citizens of this country,” the statement added.

Mr Ortom also took a swipe at Mr Shehu when he branded him as an “opportunistic politician.”

“Shehu should be told that I rose to become a Local Government Chairman, State Publicity Secretary of National Centre Party of Nigeria; State Treasurer of All People’s Party, State Secretary as well as State Deputy Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, National Auditor of PDP, Minister of the Federal Republic and now a two-term Governor. If Shehu thinks it is easy to win elections, he should test his popularity by contesting a councillorship position in his local government area.”

He said, “no amount of blackmail, persecution and media attack can discourage him from speaking against the injustice and pain the present government has caused Nigerians.”

He advised the Presidency to focus on ending the killings of innocent Nigerians, fix the economy as it promised and stop the stinking corruption on their watch.

Posted: at 2-09-2022 08:38 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Northrop at 2-09-2022 08:58 AM (2 years ago)
That is Ortom's job since inception, while robbing the Benue people blind by shouting fulani terrorist all the time. Ask for his achievements, He'll say herdsmen spoilt them  Grin, all his Excuses for nothing to show as a Governor and Chief secuirty officer of his state is herdsmen and bandits. Yet it is on record that most communal fights and deaths and those arrested are the locals (benue people) themselves.
Posted: at 2-09-2022 08:58 AM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- Jiiitk4 at 2-09-2022 09:09 AM (2 years ago)
Quote from: Northrop on  2-09-2022 08:58 AM
That is Ortom's job since inception, while robbing the Benue people blind by shouting fulani terrorist all the time. Ask for his achievements, He'll say herdsmen spoilt them  Grin, all his Excuses for nothing to show as a Governor and Chief secuirty officer of his state is herdsmen and bandits. Yet it is on record that most communal fights and deaths and those arrested are the locals (benue people) themselves.
You must be a mad man for  condemning  Ortom. If what the hausa fulani killers  are doing to Nigerians  pleases you  i  pray they  visit your  family  this night. Idiot.
Posted: at 2-09-2022 09:09 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Northrop at 2-09-2022 09:52 AM (2 years ago)
Quote from: Jiiitk4 on  2-09-2022 09:09 AM
You must be a mad man for  condemning  Ortom. If what the hausa fulani killers  are doing to Nigerians  pleases you  i  pray they  visit your  family  this night. Idiot.
QUIET OBVIOUS YOUR MADNESS IS BEYOUND REASONING! THE REAL BADITS BLEW OR THE RAIL LINE FROM ABUJA TO KADUNA, MADE IT IMPOSSIBLE TO TRAVEL TO KADUNA EXCEPT BY MILITRY CONVOY ESCORT OR AIR, YET KADUNA HAS A LOT TO SHOW IN DEVELOPMENT!

i KNOW YOUR'E SOME IDIOTIC BIAFRAUD, BUT TRY GET SENSE AND FILTER POLITICS AND REALITY! THERE'S NOTHING NEW IN BENUE STATE SINCE SAMUEL ORTOM GOT TO OFFICE!

NEXT TIME, GO JUSTIFY YOUR ADURO STATUS IN THE OYIBO LAND YOU AT AND STOP INTERFERING IN REAL NIGERIAN POLITICS. YOUR OGA SELF SAY HIM DON TIRE -  TALKING ABOUT THAT KANU OF A GUY  Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 2-09-2022 09:52 AM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- constigoldo at 2-09-2022 11:24 AM (2 years ago)
Anybody condemning what this man is saying is an enemy of Nigeria.
Posted: at 2-09-2022 11:24 AM (2 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 2-09-2022 12:30 PM (2 years ago)
Ortom is a fool!! he should challenge himself not Buhari..... bu bu doesn't care if u exist... over how many states governor, so why should bu bu care for you  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 2-09-2022 12:30 PM (2 years ago) | Grande Master