Rivers Gov. Wike Frustrated Efforts To Micro-Zone Presidency To South-East – Atiku Spokesman

Date: 24-09-2022 6:56 am (1 year ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 24-09-2022 06:56 AM (1 year ago)

The spokesman of the Atiku Campaign Organisation, Daniel Bwala, has accused Governor Nyesom Wike of frustrating efforts by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to micro-zone its presidential ticket to the southeast.

Bwala made the comment on Friday, hours after the Rivers State leader briefed the press where he opened up on the crisis rocking the PDP since its presidential primary election in May.

“The whole gamut of power zoning here or there started with Governor Wike. He virtually had everything he wanted. He brought this chairman (Ayu). When a discussion was being done in the party that power should be zoned, I recall very well, Atiku was inclined that it should be zoned to either southeast or northeast – these are the two geo-political zones that have not benefited,” Bwala said on ChannelsTV.

“Then, he (Wike) said if it was ever zoned to the southeast, he was not going to run. The movement then was that it should be micro-zoned to the southeast – among stakeholders from the region. He (Wike) frustrated it because he was interested.”

He claimed that the move also led to the departure of the Labour Party (LP) presidential candidate Peter Obi from the main opposition party.

“He (Wike) influenced the emergence of leaders that sat in committees – whether committees for party positions or elective office. At his behest, a recommendation was made that it should be thrown open evidently because he is not from the southeast,” the spokesman added.

“That led to the departure of Peter Obi. If the zoning thing was followed, Peter Obi or probably the former SGF (Ayim Pius) would have emerged as the presidential candidate of the party.”

Bwala, however, believes that despite the wranglings in the PDP, his principal’s quest to “unify” Nigeria won’t change if elected as president.

“The last politician I can look at and say he is discriminatory is Atiku Abubakar,” he maintained.

Posted: at 24-09-2022 06:56 AM (1 year ago) | Hero
- alexidwayne at 24-09-2022 07:24 AM (1 year ago)
Story!!!
Posted: at 24-09-2022 07:24 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jiiitk4 at 24-09-2022 10:49 AM (1 year ago)
Really? And you  didn't  come out  to tell the easterners that wike did that.  We hope Wike will also go ahead to frustrate  Atiku's bid to be president.
Posted: at 24-09-2022 10:49 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 24-09-2022 02:24 PM (1 year ago)
Posted: at 24-09-2022 02:24 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Boi2Man at 24-09-2022 04:49 PM (1 year ago)
Quoting you sir “ The last politician I can look at and say he is discriminatory is Atiku Abubakar,” he maintained.”  Oga we don’t need someone to divide us more. We already divided enough along religious, political, social and cultural lines.
Posted: at 24-09-2022 04:49 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- kima77same at 24-09-2022 08:33 PM (1 year ago)
"DON'T FORGET THAT POLITICIANS ARE SMART LIARS?
...WHY DIDN'T HE SPEAK, IMMEDIATELY PETER OBI LEFT PDP?
Posted: at 24-09-2022 08:33 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

7. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

8. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

9. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

10. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

11. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

12. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

13. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

14. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims