Uche Okafor, a former Super Eagles Star and 1994 world cup hero found dead

Date: 08-01-2011 7:54 pm (13 years ago) | Author: rome
- at 8-01-2011 07:54 PM (13 years ago)
 Former Nigeria and Kansas City Wizards defender Uche Okafor was found dead on Thursday after committing suicide in his home.

Okafor's body was discovered by his wife in their home in Little Elm, 30 miles northwest of Dallas, Texas. He was 43.

Okafor was part of the Nigeria team that won the African Cup of Nations in 1994.

He was an unused member of the Super Eagles squad for the 1994 World Cup in the USA, but he did make one appearance - in a 3-1 loss to Paraguay - at the 1998 finals in France.

"We are totally shocked by the news," Nigerian Football Federation acting general secretary Musa Amadu said.

"Uche Okafor was a great player who represented his country at the highest level."

Okafor played for the Kansas City Wizards between 1996 and 2000, making 119 regular-season appearances and featuring in seven play-off games.

His last match came in the Wizards' MLS Cup victory over Chicago Fire.

"I'm terribly sad to hear of his passing," former Wizards manager Ron Newman said.

"He was a big, strong guy, but he was very pleasant and I found him to be very professional. He was just an absolute gentleman."

"I wouldn't like to be on the wrong side of him if I was playing against him. He took no prisoners. But he was fair in everything he did; fair play and good guy. If he knocked you over, he'd pick you up and dust you down."

Okafor had worked for ESPN for two years as an analyst specialising in African football.

See image here:
 http://www.soccerway.com/news/2011/January/08/former-nigerian-footballer-found-dead/

Posted: at 8-01-2011 07:54 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- aliaaz at 8-01-2011 07:58 PM (13 years ago)
Tufiakua.

Posted: at 8-01-2011 07:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rnjaka at 8-01-2011 08:36 PM (13 years ago)
Why, Uche Why?, Whatever the problem might have been, this wasnt the best way out...May your gentle soul RIPP

Posted: at 8-01-2011 08:36 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sixtyhoneyy at 9-01-2011 01:15 AM (13 years ago)
na wa oooooooooooo
Posted: at 9-01-2011 01:15 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Pointzero at 9-01-2011 06:03 AM (13 years ago)
so u guy believed dat he commited suicide.................well i dont believe so.Just like wa Tijani Babangida said there is a foul play in his death

Posted: at 9-01-2011 06:03 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- richemma at 9-01-2011 04:35 PM (13 years ago)
poeple should really find out what killed that man i dont beleive he commited sucide something is wrong somewhere
Posted: at 9-01-2011 04:35 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- interpo77 at 9-01-2011 05:40 PM (13 years ago)
ohh,why  commiting suicide?anyway may ur   gentel soul rest in peace.  is a pity, take heart all he left behinde(wife nd kids) nd all 9ja sports lovers
Posted: at 9-01-2011 05:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AlphaOscar at 10-01-2011 10:49 AM (13 years ago)
I seriously doubt if the guy committed suicide. besides it is not in our nature in Nigeria to do that. There may be something behind it. he could be murdered and made to look like suicide.
Posted: at 10-01-2011 10:49 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chakamaroon at 2-06-2011 04:37 PM (12 years ago)
WAS REALLY TOO EARLY TO THROW IN THE TOWEL,NO MATTER WHAT..UNLESS AS MY MIND IS TELLING ME THERE MIGHT BE SOME FOUL PLAY.ANYWAY 'N' ANYHOW MY BRODA GENTLY REST IN PEACE.
Posted: at 2-06-2011 04:37 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 14-08-2012 02:46 PM (11 years ago)
OMG

Posted: at 14-08-2012 02:46 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
RIP

 Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad