KANO, Nigeria (AFP) – Gunmen opened fire at an open-air tavern in northeastern Nigeria, killing six people, police said on Sunday, amid an upsurge in violence in the country ahead of April elections.
The motive for the attack late Friday at the tavern outside a hotel in the city of Gombe was not immediately clear and police could not provide details on the assailants. No arrests had been made.
"Six people were killed in the attack, while two others were injured, one of them critically," police spokesman Abdullahi Kamba told AFP.
Suspected members of an Islamist sect that launched an uprising last year have carried out a series of attacks in recent months in northern Nigeria, mainly in the city of Maiduguri, including raids on churches.
Bomb blasts have also occurred in the capital Abuja and the central city of Jos, while political rallies have also been targeted by violence.
Nigeria will hold presidential, legislative and state elections in April.
Posted: at 9-01-2011 05:54 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
May Almighty God expose these heartless criminals and punish them. I do not expect something from government because such cases are on daily occurences everywhere in Nigeria. GOD SAVE NIGERIA.
IN ZAKA FADI, FADI GASKIYA, KOMAI TA JA MA A YI MAKA
Posted: at 9-01-2011 06:01 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
hahahahahaha, padest of the bad pikkin you will never stop talking, anyway may the soles of those that you and your alleys have kill rest in peace.....amen
Posted: at 9-01-2011 11:01 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
jamepinto at 9-01-2011 11:40 PM (14 years ago) (m)
may god help nigeria because we don't have govt in dat contry nigeria youth waiting we dey wait for it is time for we to say knw to pdp part, nw den be i wa problem in contry sha to president badluck to nigeria
Posted: at 9-01-2011 11:40 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
momomambo at 10-01-2011 12:12 AM (14 years ago) (m)
all thi sheet nigerian gorvement should take imediate action,b4 it,s get late if someone is now travelling home...imediately u land naija u,ll be shaking like kid that,s too bad pls my if u get any information give to police in naija..
Posted: at 10-01-2011 12:12 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
momomambo at 10-01-2011 12:17 AM (14 years ago) (m)
all thi sheet nigerian gorvement should take imediate action,b4 it,s get late if someone is now travelling home...imediately u land naija u,ll be shaking like kid that,s too bad pls my fellows if u get any info! pls contact to police all this nosense should stop i couldn,t travell from here in europe toabuja or northern side b/cs of hudlums.
Posted: at 10-01-2011 12:17 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
openheaven2011 at 10-01-2011 03:36 AM (14 years ago) (m)
may God save us from our adversary in Nigeria, pls all our leaders i want all of you to go into this matter be4 it will become a general war, my God don't leave Nigeria like this though we are sinned every day, but remember the prayer of all the saint in that country, and put an end to this crisis, pls all the pals member don't start you war by comment against each others, let forget about religion and let us be in unity and pray to all almighty father. Bless to all.
Posted: at 10-01-2011 03:36 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie