ObiDients is One of The Most Repulsive Concoction I've Encountered in Politics - Soyinka

Date: 07-04-2023 9:47 pm (1 year ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 7-04-2023 09:47 PM (1 year ago)

Professor Wole Soyinka has said the inability of the supporters of the Labour Party, LP, otherwise known as Obidients, to accept criticism has now become their badge of honour.

The Nobel laureate shared this opinion in a statement released on Friday, April 7, titled “Fascism on Course,”.

“The instigating contest – Nigerian Democracy 2023 – has witnessed much that is innovative – largely in the retrogressive vein. Violence and ethnic profiling. “Spiritual” warfare in the shape of sacrificial rams to keep “disloyal” communities under restraint – in short, intimidation yet again!

Easily overlooked however are those missives of violence directed against dissenting voices, real or suspect. Such, for instance, were the virulent attacks and threats to the musician Seun Kuti, his family and iconic music Shrine.

His crime consisted of nothing more than declaring the name “Obidient” derogatory to his sense of civic dignity and activist history. Such beginnings – and instances are numerous – have culminated in the open intimidation of the Court of Last Resort, even before proceedings have begun.

By the way, I do agree with Seun Kuti; ‘Obidients’ is one of the most repulsive, off-putting concoctions I ever encountered in any political arena. Some love it however, and this is what freedom is about. Choice. Taste. Free emotions. By contrast, I have no quarrel with “Yes Daddy”. Roman Catholics are used to saying “Yes, Father”. Secularists say “Enh, Baba”

Posted: at 7-04-2023 09:47 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Jiiitk4 at 7-04-2023 10:05 PM (1 year ago)
Chameleon. We know you people.
Posted: at 7-04-2023 10:05 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 7-04-2023 10:29 PM (1 year ago)
they are stupid  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 7-04-2023 10:29 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- tegonwa at 7-04-2023 11:03 PM (1 year ago)
Foolish old goat
Posted: at 7-04-2023 11:03 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyioben at 7-04-2023 11:52 PM (1 year ago)
This man should hide his face in shame,,u have suddenly regained ur dementia,,since 8yrs now,u are as cold as ice water, yeye de smell,, any grammar u want to use to qualify Obidients is ur phyuking business,,whom ur grammar help,, I don't really know what ur professor brought to Nigerian youths,,abeg shift one side make youths take back there country not failures like u men.
Posted: at 7-04-2023 11:52 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- fineboy77 at 8-04-2023 12:05 AM (1 year ago)
Cultism godfather. See what your cultism has done to Nigerian youths. You are a huge disgrace. STFU.

Posted: at 8-04-2023 12:05 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- angelzizi at 8-04-2023 01:18 AM (1 year ago)
Quote from: onyioben on  7-04-2023 11:52 PM
This man should hide his face in shame,,u have suddenly regained ur dementia,,since 8yrs now,u are as cold as ice water, yeye de smell,, any grammar u want to use to qualify Obidients is ur phyuking business,,whom ur grammar help,, I don't really know what ur professor brought to Nigerian youths,,abeg shift one side make youths take back there country not failures like u men.
This here is exactly what he meant, flaring up at any slightest criticism, Obidients are better than this.
Posted: at 8-04-2023 01:18 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- angelzizi at 8-04-2023 01:21 AM (1 year ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  8-04-2023 12:05 AM
Cultism godfather. See what your cultism has done to Nigerian youths. You are a huge disgrace. STFU.
Guys let's not lose focus, he hasn't said anything wrong just that he doesn't like the name Obidient which is his cup of ogi, I'm probably wondering if he love jagabonds but then it's  his choice. Soyinka is still a man of truth and wisdom and will never support what's going on in.the country.
Posted: at 8-04-2023 01:21 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Makodama at 8-04-2023 09:43 AM (1 year ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  8-04-2023 12:05 AM
Why are you obidients always derogatory and bitter in mannerism?I used a lower case letter "O" to spell "obidient".E get why.

Posted: at 8-04-2023 09:43 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 8-04-2023 09:56 AM (1 year ago)
What you have work hard to build just a slice can bring it down.
Posted: at 8-04-2023 09:56 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 8-04-2023 11:48 AM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Makodama on  8-04-2023 09:43 AM
Why are you obidients always derogatory and bitter in mannerism?I used a lower case letter "O" to spell "obidient".E get why.
Why are you Jagabandits afraid of the truth? Is Soyinka not the godfather of cultism in Nigerian higher institutions? Can you count how many young lives that have been lost to cultism since he brought it? I used ''Bandits'', E get why.

Posted: at 8-04-2023 11:48 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero