Drama In Edo As DSS Blocks Deputy Gov. Philip Shaibu From Gov Obaseki In Church

Date: 01-09-2023 8:23 am (8 months ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 1-09-2023 08:23 AM (8 months ago)

The crisis between Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State and his deputy, Philip Shaibu, took a new twist when the Department of State Services (DSS) denied Shaibu access to the governor.

Shaibu was one of the guests who attended the church service to mark the 32nd anniversary of the creation of Edo State.

At the event which held at the New Festival Hall of Government House, Benin, on Sunday, the deputy governor stood up to greet Obaseki, but a DSS operative blocked him just a few metres away.

Obaseki, who was seated beside his wife, Betsy, and Charles Aniagwu, a Commissioner of Delta State, looked away as Shaibu fruitlessly explained to the plain-cloth security operative who stood his ground.

The deputy governor later returned to his seat.

Commenting on the issue, Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Andrew Okungbowa, said the DSS operative was only doing his job.

“Whatever happened at the church service was not at the behest of the governor, neither was he aware what the security aides were doing. In fact, the security aides were doing their job. Besides, the governor was not aware that the deputy was coming to greet him. The church is a public event, so the security aides had a duty to safeguard their principal,” he said.

Despite the embarrassing incident, Shaibu pledged absolute loyalty to the governor.

Speaking with journalists at the venue, the deputy governor described Obaseki as his elder brother.

He said:
“My loyalty to the Edo governor remains absolute. I see that everybody is doing solidarity. I am also in solidarity with the governor. I am also declaring my unalloyed solidarity and loyalty to the governor.

“As for the issues that were around town when I was away (in the United States of America), I really would not want to talk. Issues that concern my governor are not things I like to speak about. He is my elder brother and boss. I do not think I should talk about anything.

“If I have issues with him (Obaseki), it is better settled at home, and not in the media. I am well brought up.

“I can tell you that from my Christian background if you make a vow with God that you want to do something, you must fulfil it. And the vow I have taken with God is that I will continue to support Godwin Obaseki as the governor of Edo State, from the beginning to the end. But that does not stop anything that has to do with ambition. Ambition is personal, and it does not affect loyalty. My loyalty to the governor remains absolute.”

Shaibu, who hails from Edo North Senatorial District, intends to succeed Obaseki, an indigene of Benin in Edo South senatorial district, but the governor is pushing for a successor from Esanland in Edo Central senatorial district.

Posted: at 1-09-2023 08:23 AM (8 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 1-09-2023 10:29 AM (8 months ago)
For inside church
Posted: at 1-09-2023 10:29 AM (8 months ago) | Hero
- Jiiitk4 at 1-09-2023 10:36 AM (8 months ago)
Serves him right. Causing trouble everywhere. Who is he and who is his father? Borrowing Wike's words.
Posted: at 1-09-2023 10:36 AM (8 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dopybadass at 1-09-2023 11:04 AM (8 months ago)
Serves him right,this one wey him dey talk now is like medicine after death, obaseki and his allies now see him as a threat and u shaibu will not become the governor of Edo state, evil
Posted: at 1-09-2023 11:04 AM (8 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 1-09-2023 07:44 PM (8 months ago)
Fix Edo state,  bad road network
Posted: at 1-09-2023 07:44 PM (8 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 3-09-2023 01:30 PM (8 months ago)
Idara is the most beautiful woman ever!!!
Posted: at 3-09-2023 01:30 PM (8 months ago) | Grande Master

1. "58 Ex-Govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion" - EFCC Unveils Startling Revelations (See Full List)

2. Veteran Actress, Shan George In Desperate Plea As Fraudsters Clear N3.6m From Her Bank Account

3. Lady Accuses Actress,Mercy Johnson Of Witchcraft, Says Angela Okorie Is Her Next Target (Video)

4. Ex-FCMB Manager, Nwachukwu Placidus Sentenced To 121 Yrs For Embezzling Customer's Funds

5. Fred Adujua Arrested Amid Allegations From House Of Reps Member & Former Senator Nwaboshi

6. Suspect Says Human Head Is Sold For ₦45,000 In Lagos As Police Parade Ten Organ Harvesters

7. "Overeating Caused My Excess Weight" — Nigerian Physician And Politician, Doyin Okupe

8. Lagos Police Command Dismisses Two Inspectors Amid Allegations Of Romantic Relationship

9. Nigerian Man Offers $2000 Reward For Arrest Of Fraudster Who Stole N42m From Him

10. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

11. Outrage As 40-year-old Man Allegedly Lures 13-year-old Girl With ₦200, Sparks National Debate

12. Charly Boy Shares Insights On Activism, Marriage, And Gender Roles In Candid Interview

13. Nigerian Journalist Turned AI Tech Expert, Oludayo Ojerinde Creates AI Solutions For Businesses

14. Cybercrime Convict, Odinakachi Prince Onyeoziri Sentenced To 7 Years Imprisonment & Fined ₦3M

15. Federal Government Unveils Measures To Combat Fake Certificates In Public & Private Institution

16. Actress & Entrepreneur, Wofai Fada Announces Engagement With Stunning Beachside Photos

17. Journalist Hit By Stray Bullet Inside Kano Government House, Raises Concerns On Press Freedom

18. "Prioritize Wives Over Mothers Or Stay Single" - Ifu Ennada Issues Stark Warning To Men

19. Village Head, Kabiru Mohammed Killed As Suspected Assassins Ravage Marke Community In Kaduna

20. Archbishop Of Brotherhood Of The Cross & Star, Family, & Clergy Kidnapped In Abia State

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

3. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

6. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

9. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed