Its a wrap: Igbos driven out of Jos

Date: 24-01-2011 8:24 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 24-01-2011 08:24 PM (13 years ago)
From Isa Abdulsalami, Jos

People of eastern extraction in Jos, Plateau State, have relocated from the popular Dilimi spare parts Market, built by them, to another part of the city where they believe they would be safe to carry out their businesses.

The move stems from concerns over security of lives and property. The traders say the only escape route open to them during any crisis is the Bauchi Road, which they describe as the stronghold of Hausa Muslims and where they are often hacked down mercilessly.

They appealed to the Plateau State government to come to their aid by providing a virgin land, where they can continue their businesses without fear.

The affected traders have been seen moving to different locations in trucks and pick-up vans ferrying their wares.

Reacting to the development yesterday, the National President of the Igbo Democratic Forum (IDF), Chief Chidi Ndu, confirmed to The Guardian that it is unfortunate that the Igbo are forced to relocate from Dilimi area where they have gained ample recognition.

Ndu said it is very unfortunate that all the assurances of safety of lives and property given by the Special Task Force (STF) have not been fulfilled.

"Igbo continue to be attacked and caged by Hausa Muslims without any justification," he said.

Ndu said that the affected Igbo are going to different directions as the relocation is impromptu and not envisaged, saying that their movement from Dilimi is an admission and acceptance of defeat on the part of the security operatives who are charged with the onerous responsibility for providing security.

Reacting to the development, in a telephone interview, spokesman of the Ulama Council in the state, Alhaji Muhammed Sani Mudi, said: "It is a sad development that the Igbo are relocating from Dilimi. But, however, we are not commenting on it officially."

The STF Commander, Brigadier-General Hassan Umaru and STF spokesman, Captain Charles Ekeocha, could not be reached for comments as their lines were busy.

Posted: at 24-01-2011 08:24 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- abuqerau at 24-01-2011 08:53 PM (13 years ago)
Thanks for mentioning "the only safe route for escafe
Posted: at 24-01-2011 08:53 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- cadanre at 24-01-2011 10:39 PM (13 years ago)
Lives and properties in Jos are at the greatest danger. If relocating is the only way out, let them find the GREEN ZONE where their lives and properties are safer. I really support their move. And this is the result of the unrest in Jos. Many lives lost, properties worth millions destroyed and now the business future of the tow is in trouble. The people of Jos had become enemies of their town. Now it is a crises torn state ever in Nigeria. I think state of emergency should be declared and that governor should be replaced with a military like one just as Obasanjo did during his tenure. If we did not forget, such measure restored peace during the time when Joshua Dariye was replaced with Chris Ali. I HOPE PEACE WILL SOON RETURN TO JOS. ENOUGH OF BLOODSHED AND THAT THE PERPETRATORS SHOULD BE BROUGHT TO BOOK.... NEVER BE ALLOWED OFF THE HOOK. I PRAY SO.

Posted: at 24-01-2011 10:39 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- nice9ija at 24-01-2011 11:28 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: abuqerau on 24-01-2011 08:53 PM

aboki awue what are you going to do with the info???
Posted: at 24-01-2011 11:28 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- missKalu at 24-01-2011 11:36 PM (13 years ago)
this guys are not serious they still want to relocate to another place in the same state where the are not welcomed. anyway make una dey dat north dey ye ye una self person no need u for him house and too u no wan comot for him house, which kind stronghead pikin una be?
Posted: at 24-01-2011 11:36 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- cadanre at 24-01-2011 11:36 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nice9ija on 24-01-2011 11:28 PM

Heiy! See this mouth of yours! U na wan fight? I no de here oooooooooooooo!

Posted: at 24-01-2011 11:36 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- popo2009 at 24-01-2011 11:39 PM (13 years ago)
These Hausa ingrates! what do they really want?
Is not time South, West and East join hands and exterminate
these heartless bastards from our country to hv peace.
Posted: at 24-01-2011 11:39 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chimeskan at 24-01-2011 11:48 PM (13 years ago)
I wonder oh!

Posted: at 24-01-2011 11:48 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ceejay58 at 24-01-2011 11:59 PM (13 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 24-01-2011 11:59 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ceejay58 at 25-01-2011 12:02 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: missKalu on 24-01-2011 11:36 PM
this guys are not serious they still want to relocate to another place in the same state where the are not welcomed. anyway make una dey dat north dey ye ye una self person no need u for him house and too u no wan comot for him house, which kind stronghead pikin una be?

my sister am glad u re also seeing things the way i ve always looked at it...

i ve always maintain that any igbo man still living in jos is an IDIOT.

Posted: at 25-01-2011 12:02 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ceejay58 at 25-01-2011 12:14 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: popo2009 on 24-01-2011 11:39 PM
These Hausa ingrates! what do they really want?
Is not time South, West and East join hands and exterminate
these heartless bastards from our country to hv peace.

wrong choice of words my brother....  we don't want to fight..

i only have problem with those igbos who should ve read the hand-writing on the wall long long time ago....
why would they keep sacrificing their families?...
just like someone has already stated here, why would they stubbornly remain at a place where they re not welcome?
is jos the only place in Nigeria where they can do business?

it doesn't make sense to me.
Posted: at 25-01-2011 12:14 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- emepretty at 25-01-2011 12:59 AM (13 years ago)
i grewup there.my family still lives there..its not easy to relocate like that.NOT WHEN U'VE BUILT UR WORLD AROUND A PLACE...ur property, friends, work, business, houses...men.......i don tire
Posted: at 25-01-2011 12:59 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- derbi at 25-01-2011 01:06 AM (13 years ago)
 Sad Sad hayaaaa so this is how naija will be divided gradualy gradualy Sad Sad......
Posted: at 25-01-2011 01:06 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- derbi at 25-01-2011 01:10 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nice9ija on 24-01-2011 11:28 PM

who knows their plan this time Huh?
Posted: at 25-01-2011 01:10 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- colenzo at 25-01-2011 01:11 AM (13 years ago)
DIM OJUKWU SAID BUILD THIS MARKET IN THE EAST THEY WILL COME TO BUY
IF THEY GET ROBBED ,THAT IS THEIR BUSINESS ,WHY MUST WE BE THE VICTIM OF THOSE HEART
LESS ABOKI WHO CAN'T WASH THEIR TEETH

Posted: at 25-01-2011 01:11 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- coolayo at 25-01-2011 02:32 AM (13 years ago)
na wa o na only God fit save nigeria.na illetracy dey make these hausas behave like cows
Posted: at 25-01-2011 02:32 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- emirateskyd at 25-01-2011 03:05 AM (13 years ago)
nawa oooo, jos isue don tire me! Angry
Posted: at 25-01-2011 03:05 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 25-01-2011 03:34 AM (13 years ago)
hmmm

Posted: at 25-01-2011 03:34 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- worldlife at 25-01-2011 04:29 AM (13 years ago)
One Nigeria my foot,oh
Posted: at 25-01-2011 04:29 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- monday3 at 25-01-2011 07:37 AM (13 years ago)
THIS GOAT PEOPLE, THEIR IN IGBO LAND AND  REST OF THE STATE,THEIR ARE FREE THERE AND LIVE THE WAY THEIR LIKE OVER THERE.NOBODY IS DOING THEM ANYTHING OR KILLING THEM,BUT THEY LIKE KILLING IGBOS AND ORTHER PEOPLE IN GOAT STATE.IS GETING TOO MUCH FOR THEM.ONEDAY WE GO VXXXXXXXXXXXXX FIGHT THEM BACK AND WE WILL MAKE SURE WE FINISH ALL GOAT PERSON IN OUR STATE.FOOLS.
Posted: at 25-01-2011 07:37 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4