SS2 Student Has 2 Wives, 7 Kids, Says I Endure Insults Daily

Date: 11-02-2011 9:34 pm (13 years ago) | Author: WhoBdat
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8
- at 11-02-2011 09:34 PM (13 years ago)
Life has been challenging for 31-year old Islamic cleric, Yekini  Akeem, an SS-2 Student of Itabo  Community High School, Itabo, Lanlate, Oyo State, Southwest Nigeria. This is because he is attending  secondary school at that age and he has two wives and seven children.

Alfa, as he is popularly referred to by his colleagues, said one of the  greatest challenges facing him has been the difficulty of interacting with his classmates who are far  younger than him.
Some of them, he claimed, heap lots of insults on him daily because of his age and they know that back  home he has two wives and seven children.
Alfa said: “I disregard every insult because I know what I want.  Often, I serve punishment together  with my classmates even when it is receiving strokes of the cane.”
Yekini blamed the delay in his secondary education on an illness that affected his father in 1995 when  he was preparing for his Junior Secondary School Certificate exam, JSCE. This later truncated his  education.
“ After staying for six years at home, Alfa said he later enrolled in a Qu’ranic school. He graduated  in Arabic studies in 2004 and became a qualified Islamic teacher (Alfa).
After many years of staying away from school, Alfa said he attended a public lecture by Mallam Surakat  Abdul Rofiu which ignited his desire to return to school.
After the lecture, Yekini approached a community leader, Chief Saraki who assisted him to enrol as a  JS1 student in 2006. He was later promoted to JS2 and he wrote his junior WAEC.
Commenting on Yekini’s attitude and performance in school, his Vice Principal, Mr. Gbenga Adeshina  Babatunde said he has been of good conduct, therefore, he had always been interested in his education.
After his secondary education, Alfa is said to be interested in studying Arabic at tertiary level.

•His wives: Rofiat (l) and senior wife Sadiat
But his ambition may be thwarted by two factors. One, his poor financial background. His two wives are  petty traders. One sells banana while the second wife sells food. Yet he has seven children to cater  for. One of them is already a JS 2 student. Alfa relies on his meagre earning as an Islamic cleric and  farming to cater for his family.
Two, obviously because of his age and distractions at home, Yekini is not a particularly brilliant  student.
His principal at Itabo Community High School, Mr. Ayo Opaderin, described Alfa as a humble student but  entertains fears about his ability to go further in education.
He said his poor English might hinder his understanding of other subjects. But he admitted his  education will assist him a lot in his chosen field as an Islamic cleric.
Another daunting task for Yekini who was made Senior Prefect because of his age is that of relating  with relatively younger classmates.
For example, the Senior Prefect Girls, Suliat Aderoju, 19, is one of the oldest of his classmates.  Others in SS 2 with him include Miss Olayinola Jumoke, 18, and 16-year old Toheed Aderinto.
Suliat said of Alfa: “whenever we are playing in the class, he cautions us. He is a nice person who  always encourages us to take our studies seriously. He is very disciplined. He may not be good in  English Language, but he is good in Yoruba and Accounting.”
Alfa disclosed that he went back to school so that he could be a better Islamic preacher because he  needed to master English to be able to evanglise Islamic doctorines, adding “Education is very  important and I feel I should be educated to be a teacher. I am not ashamed.”

Posted: at 11-02-2011 09:34 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ivy4 at 11-02-2011 10:30 PM (13 years ago)
Wonderful!!
Posted: at 11-02-2011 10:30 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bafyguy at 11-02-2011 10:37 PM (13 years ago)
This guy realy wants to be educated but i think he begin too late.    
Posted: at 11-02-2011 10:37 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sugaDaddy1forU at 11-02-2011 10:48 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bafyguy on 11-02-2011 10:37 PM
This guy realy wants to be educated but i think he begin too late.    
NOTTING IS TOO LATE, HE'LL BE FINE.

Posted: at 11-02-2011 10:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mr-World at 11-02-2011 11:06 PM (13 years ago)
hahahaha ALFA GOES 2 SKUL

Posted: at 11-02-2011 11:06 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- interpo77 at 11-02-2011 11:14 PM (13 years ago)
hiaaaaaa, how come marrying two wives?damn so yoruba pple too joined huasa in marrying up to that?okk
well for his earger to search for knowledge is gud and i encourage him to continue
education has no age limit though i know what he might be facing daily. insults etc
again what about if he can join adult education instead of secondary sch?
Posted: at 11-02-2011 11:14 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- interpo77 at 11-02-2011 11:15 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Mr-World on 11-02-2011 11:06 PM
hahahaha ALFA GOES 2 SKUL
hahaha make i follow u lAF the laf  of OBJ to ATIKU

Posted: at 11-02-2011 11:15 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- japhethjeff at 11-02-2011 11:33 PM (13 years ago)
Often, I serve punishment together  with my classmates even when it is receiving strokes of the cane.” ...................................eyaaaaaa
Posted: at 11-02-2011 11:33 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- e4ma at 11-02-2011 11:40 PM (13 years ago)
wow
Posted: at 11-02-2011 11:40 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kasablanca at 12-02-2011 12:47 AM (13 years ago)
what a pathetic story ...... i wich i could help lol 
Posted: at 12-02-2011 12:47 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- tofa407 at 12-02-2011 01:04 AM (13 years ago)
Gentlemen, I believe going to school late is better than illiterate Alfa. Kudos to this guy.
Posted: at 12-02-2011 01:04 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Pointzero at 12-02-2011 01:12 AM (13 years ago)
uh huh...............such is life........most adult dat didn't have d opportunity 2 go 2 skool earlier are doing that now in night classes
maybe he is much free in d day time dats y he goes 4 morning classes

Posted: at 12-02-2011 01:12 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Hollaburday at 12-02-2011 02:25 AM (13 years ago)
Nice...age is not a barrier to acquire knowledge...you r a courageous  alfa keep it up...
Posted: at 12-02-2011 02:25 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- charles637 at 12-02-2011 02:52 AM (13 years ago)
love the idea. though it may be bad now with the insults and hardships of life but at the end of the road is blessings and respect. wish you luck
Posted: at 12-02-2011 02:52 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- NjeziIyke at 12-02-2011 03:47 AM (13 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Wat can I say?Education is the "KEY", 2 wat sef?
Posted: at 12-02-2011 03:47 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- flyakin at 12-02-2011 04:02 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: japhethjeff on 11-02-2011 11:33 PM
Often, I serve punishment together  with my classmates even when it is receiving strokes of the cane.” ...................................eyaaaaaa

tHATS a good movie title if i might add, lol since nigeria has so many movie titles and  they are gonna run out of it soon.
Posted: at 12-02-2011 04:02 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- felixworld at 12-02-2011 04:39 AM (13 years ago)
Yeah- Age is not a barrier to acquire knowledge; he's still young. In my class - some are 30yrs, 40yrs, some even sixty(60yrs) and above -both male and female- and they are attending classes here in the United States. And if they dare make fun anybody-damn - minimum of $120,000 and not less than 20yrs in (prison).
So my bro. keep it up. But the problem now - you have two wives instead of one. pity.
Posted: at 12-02-2011 04:39 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- chubby10 at 12-02-2011 04:42 AM (13 years ago)
 Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassedis good going to skul but that wives and seven kids is for what......how can 9ija be better with all this nonse things call marriege
Posted: at 12-02-2011 04:42 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Anieque at 12-02-2011 04:47 AM (13 years ago)
It's never too late for a shower of rain...do wah yuh affi do mi bosss.......so di ting set..nothin beats trial but failure
Posted: at 12-02-2011 04:47 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- RocketShip at 12-02-2011 04:50 AM (13 years ago)
At least the guy wants to do something with his life...i think it's kind of disrespectful for the teachers to punish him along with the kids in his class...honestly this guy should enroll in night school or an adult school...any wayz thank God he is going to school sha
Posted: at 12-02-2011 04:50 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8

1. Female Student Who Assaulted Namtira Bwala at Lead British School Apologises For Her Action

2. Wives Of Osun State Gov Adeleke Battle For Position Of 1st Lady As Nigeria's 1st Lady Visits

3. VIDEO: Carter Efe Calls Out Sydney Talker Over Singer, Khaid’s Health Status

4. Davido’s Manager, Asika Speaks On why Davido is Yet to Collaborate With Wizkid, Burna Boy

5. I Am Not In EFCC Custody - APC Gov. Aspirant, Akinterinwa Denies Being Detained By EFCC

6. Rita Edochie Throws Shade As She Celebrates May Edochie On Her Double Achievement

7. Reno Omokri Reacts To Abuja Chinese Supermarket 'Racist', Demands Wike's Action

8. NAFDAC Uncover Illegal Activities Of Fake Cosmetics Producer In Lagos

9. Singer, Simi Reveals How She Wrote & Sang Her Hit Song, ‘Joromi’ With Irritation

10. Police Deploy Officers to Investigate Bullying at Leads British International School

11. Niger: Gov Bago Dragged For Spraying Naira Notes At Citizens

12. BULLYING: Lead British School, Abuja Releases Public Statement

13. OAP Do2dtun Reacts To Viral Bullying Videos, Calls Out Secondary School Bullies

14. Owner Of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Denies Barring Nigerians

15. Police Seek Family Of Missing Child Found Wandering In Osogbo

16. Abuja Court Fails To Hear EFCC Suit Against Order Restraining Yahaya Bello’s Arrest

17. Amotekun Arrests Man Who Cons Hospital Patients, Flees With Money Meant For Tests, Treatment

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. Owner of Cybercrime 'Yahoo Yahoo' Training School, Ikemesit Edet Jailed 10 Years in Uyo