"My Wife Slaps Me At Will" - Man, Olawale Idowu Tells Court To Dissolve His 13-Yr Marriage

Date: 06-07-2024 7:14 am (10 months ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 6-07-2024 07:14 AM (10 months ago)

A spare-part dealer, Olawale Idowu, on Friday, pleaded with a Grade A Customary Court at Mapo, Ibadan, to dissolve his 13-year marriage to his estranged wife, Yemisi, citing persistent violence.

Idowu, residing at No. 25 Okeolode Aremo area of Ibadan, expressed deep regret over his marriage. “My lord, despite my relentless endurance, Yemisi remained troublesome. I abandoned the house to her on December 16, 2023, after she violently attacked me at midnight. Yemisi slaps me and tears my clothes at will,” Idowu lamented.

He added that Yemisi tore the court summons and threw it at him when served. Idowu presented the torn clothes and summons as exhibits to the court.

Responding to the allegations, Yemisi countered that her husband's abandonment was due to his interest in another woman. "It's true we had a midnight fight in December. Idowu’s mother was aware of everything, but instead of resolving the issue amicably, she threatened me. My mother-in-law called the police, and I was arrested,” Yemisi explained.

The court’s President, Mrs. S.M. Akintayo, noted that none of the evidence indicated a bride price presentation, essential for a lawful customary marriage in Nigeria. Consequently, Akintayo ruled that there was no marriage to dissolve, as it never legally existed.

Despite Idowu’s request, Akintayo awarded custody of the three children to Yemisi, ensuring that Idowu retains access and remains jointly responsible for their welfare, education, and other necessities. The court ordered both parties to go their separate ways and restrained Yemisi from threatening, harassing, or disturbing Idowu henceforth.

Posted: at 6-07-2024 07:14 AM (10 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- Nomie at 6-07-2024 08:04 AM (10 months ago)
Slaps you at will when you didn't pay bride price, guy your mumu too much.
Then tie your placenta to that kind of relationship. If you no like am you move.
You dey there, dey say you dey endure. You're a simp
Posted: at 6-07-2024 08:04 AM (10 months ago) | Upcoming
- onedoor1010 at 6-07-2024 09:27 AM (10 months ago)
Weak man, you did not marry her and your enduring her slap and troublesome . Some people  a grade 1 mumu.
Posted: at 6-07-2024 09:27 AM (10 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 6-07-2024 02:41 PM (10 months ago)
una dey call him mumu now if he beat her blue/black na una go say woman beater  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 6-07-2024 02:41 PM (10 months ago) | Grande Master