Olajumoke Ademuyiwa, Nigerian That Stole N1.3m In Uk Benefits Scam

Date: 14-04-2011 2:09 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 14-04-2011 02:09 PM (13 years ago)
A woman who helped to steal hundreds of identities and fraudulently claimed over £1.3m of tax credits has been jailed for four years.

Olajumoke Ademuyiwa, 42, from Canning Town, a former Jobcentre Plus employee, was part of a Nigerian-led gang, a court heard. She was arrested in July 2008.

And a search of her home in Tarling Road uncovered evidence of the fraud taking place, including the details of at least 40 bank accounts held in the gang’s names and aliases.

There was also documentation which held hundreds of innocent people’s identities.

Revenue and Customs investigators also seized £25,000, which are believed to be proceeds of the crimes and will be subject to confiscation proceedings, to be calculated at a later stage.

Ademuyiwa was found guilty of fraudulently obtaining payments of tax credits, by using the names and home addresses of unsuspecting individuals without their consent and acquiring criminal property.

‘You lied and lied’

When sentencing, His Honour Judge Simon Davis told her: “You demonstrated blatant disregard for the truth, not only in the witness box where you lied and lied and lied, but also with documentation used in the fraud.

“With your role in attacking the revenue, you lied and turned things upside down which the jury saw through

“You played an essential role as a helper beyond the scope of just opening bank accounts in the fraud.”

Her accomplice, Olaide (John) Taiwo, 35, a security guard from Camberwell, south-east London was jailed for eight and a half years for his part in the scam at Inner London Crown Court.

Richard Young, acting Assistant Director for HM Revenue & Customs said:

“The lengthy jail sentences given to this pair will act as a deterrent to anyone considering committing this type of crime.

“Over a four year period, they deliberately attacked and abused a system designed to provide financial help to the most vulnerable people in our society, by submitting over 300 fraudulent tax credit claims.”

Posted: at 14-04-2011 02:09 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- deboalabi262 at 14-04-2011 02:13 PM (13 years ago)
Uh, what a Fraudster......

Posted: at 14-04-2011 02:13 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- popo2009 at 14-04-2011 02:20 PM (13 years ago)
This is the kind of people bringing bad image to Nigeria.
people will say that Nigerian Govt isn't doing well, they will leave
the country in search of greener pastures only to end up
giving the country a worst image in different countries...from drug peddling, to robbery, to fraud, to immigration offences etc
Posted: at 14-04-2011 02:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pholake at 14-04-2011 02:20 PM (13 years ago)
Na wa o!
Posted: at 14-04-2011 02:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bibismall at 14-04-2011 02:29 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: popo2009 on 14-04-2011 02:20 PM
giving the country a worst image in different countries...from drug peddling, to robbery, to fraud, to immigration offences etc

How sad!

Posted: at 14-04-2011 02:29 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ziggigm3 at 14-04-2011 03:27 PM (13 years ago)
Bad news for her ooo.

Posted: at 14-04-2011 03:27 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- chicanorose at 14-04-2011 03:28 PM (13 years ago)
hmmmmmmmmmmmmm
na wa ooooooooooo

Posted: at 14-04-2011 03:28 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AJALA at 14-04-2011 03:31 PM (13 years ago)

Thanks Popo,Crimes only serve to tarnish the image of our country and countrymen abroad.
Posted: at 14-04-2011 03:31 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- itoroesie at 14-04-2011 03:35 PM (13 years ago)
fast babe, see what ur speed has led u into.
Posted: at 14-04-2011 03:35 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Adikpe at 14-04-2011 04:09 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: itoroesie on 14-04-2011 03:35 PM
fast babe, see what ur speed has led u into.

That's a bad speed
Posted: at 14-04-2011 04:09 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- edwinchizi at 14-04-2011 04:37 PM (13 years ago)
every time a scammer(s) is (are) caught in the UK, its always a (the) yoruba(s)!!!
Posted: at 14-04-2011 04:37 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- MissyBarbie at 14-04-2011 05:13 PM (13 years ago)
Jeeeeezzzzz A woman for that matter
Posted: at 14-04-2011 05:13 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Haryormipo at 14-04-2011 05:24 PM (13 years ago)
Now u don see ur self u don mess ur self up babe phyuk ur ass!!!!!
Posted: at 14-04-2011 05:24 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- LEONE at 14-04-2011 05:36 PM (13 years ago)
This is a SHAME.
Posted: at 14-04-2011 05:36 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ozowalu at 14-04-2011 05:49 PM (13 years ago)
UK ppl una never see anything sef...........wetin una naija now na payback time........only if we go use our head like as dey use do us.......
Posted: at 14-04-2011 05:49 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Commonsense at 14-04-2011 05:59 PM (13 years ago)
This is just a tip of the iceberg, there are many of her type doing the same thing in the UK right now. Useless girl.
Posted: at 14-04-2011 05:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- STKASTRO at 14-04-2011 06:58 PM (13 years ago)
God help us , to much trouble for nija. From hallow chamber's to police force > to electoral fraud> to pple in executive arm of goverment > to fraudstars masqurading them-selves as pastors + religious leaders>to area boys on the street lagos> lecturers in university collecting money and awarding marks   too many to mention wat is wrong wit my pple . God pls deliver us.   
Posted: at 14-04-2011 06:58 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- AJALA at 14-04-2011 07:11 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: STKASTRO on 14-04-2011 06:58 PM
God help us , to much trouble for nija. From hallow chamber's to police force > to electoral fraud> to pple in executive arm of goverment > to fraudstars masqurading them-selves as pastors + religious leaders>to area boys on the street lagos> lecturers in university collecting money and awarding marks   too many to mention wat is wrong wit my pple . God pls deliver us.   

Posted: at 14-04-2011 07:11 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sylax at 14-04-2011 08:25 PM (13 years ago)

What annoys me most is they are not just bringing shame to themselves, but to all 150million good citizens of Nigeria who are trying to make end meet. My friends looked for job for more than 3mths in Canada no one called them back, but one decided to play a jovial trick and change that same resume to a Ghanaian and he got three calls for interview in a week. He didn't attend the interview bcos he wasn't a true Ghanian, he's was pissed off.
Posted: at 14-04-2011 08:25 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- wunzie at 14-04-2011 08:30 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: edwinchizi on 14-04-2011 04:37 PM
every time a scammer(s) is (are) caught in the UK, its always a (the) yoruba(s)!!!

Well, isn't this just phyuking great........ You know, i rarely agree with much of your comments on here, however, in this case, i must say "well said" Wow bros, that's big, fantastic, awesome news!! So, all the scammers in the UK and around the world are Yorubas, huh?!

Posted: at 14-04-2011 08:30 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

6. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

7. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

8. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

9. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

10. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

11. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

12. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

13. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

14. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

15. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

16. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

17. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

18. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo

19. “My Album Is Coming To Save You All From Shitty Music” – Zinoleesky Tells Nigerians

20. Lady, Hajara Yusuf Pours Hot Cooking Oil On Man Over N100 In Adamawa