Reports claim Milan 'stole' Taiwo from Real Madrid

Date: 12-05-2011 4:56 am (12 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 12-05-2011 04:56 AM (12 years ago)
THE Spanish media have claimed that newly crowned Italian champion, AC Milan, "stole" Nigerian Taye Taiwo from right under the noses of Real Madrid.
Milan's coach, Massimiliano Allgeri, disclosed at a press conference on Monday that his club has signed Taiwo alongside Philippe Mexes from AS Roma to bolster an aging back line. The Milan coach announced: "We have already signed Mexes and Taiwo."
Taiwo has bagged a three-year contract, while Mexes will pocket 4.5 million euros a year at Milan, according to reports. Milan and Real have a very good relationship, but according to the radio station Onda Madrid, Taiwo was on his way to becoming a Galactico before he was pinched away to the San Siro. Onda Madrid reported that Real moved in for Taiwo to shore up its vulnerable defence.
The 26-year old defender is a free agent after he refused to extend his contract at French champion, Olympique Marseille. He was lately linked with top Portuguese club, Benfica, as well as a rash of clubs in Spain, England and Germany, before Milan's formal announcement.
Announcing the signing of Taiwo, 26, who has spent six years with French champion, Marseille, and 29-year old Mexes - who has been at AS Roma for seven seasons - the coach of the newly crowned Italian champion said they would bolster an aging defence. Allegri, who won the title largely relying on veteran players, said: "We are looking good in terms of defence with the signings of Mexes and Taiwo."
Both players came on free transfers. Mexes is set to replace Milan's legend Alessandro Nesta, 35, in the centre of defence alongside Brazilian Thiago Silva. Taiwo, who played for Nigeria at last year's World Cup finals, has had a successful spell with Marseille, playing a pivotal role in its first league title in 18 years last term and scoring the only goal in the club's League Cup final victory last month.

Posted: at 12-05-2011 04:56 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenolis at 13-05-2011 12:54 AM (12 years ago)
i know
Posted: at 13-05-2011 12:54 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Geematrix at 13-05-2011 04:33 PM (12 years ago)
there's nothing like stealing....the guy signed where his heart belongd
Posted: at 13-05-2011 04:33 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Larrykingomoj at 13-05-2011 11:17 PM (12 years ago)
The two clubs are doing well, so whereever he signed is good for him; i wish him good luck, he is a cool headed guy.
Posted: at 13-05-2011 11:17 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Egypt Tops List As Most Powerful African Country In 2024 (See Full List)

2. Why Rapture Did Not Take Place Despite My Prophecy - Prophet Metu Makes U-Turn, Reveals Reason

3. Photos: Comedian, Warri Pikin Celebrates 11th Wedding Anniversary With Husband

4. Traumatic! Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates How Her Boss Impregnates Her

5. Naira Depreciates Because I Wasn't In The Country, I Am Back Now, Naira Will Appreciate

6. I Hate Mohbad More Even In Death – Naira Marley’s Associate Spills Reasons

7. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

3. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

4. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

5. Nigeria Loses Title As Africa’s Largest Economy; Slips To Fourth Place

6. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

7. "How I Was Stylishly Set Out Of My Husband’s House The Same Day He Was Buried- Ajigijaga's Wife

8. Nigerian Singer, Davido Claims Family Powers Nigeria With Electricity Empire

9. Nigerian Afrobeat Sensation, Rema Calls Out Mavin Records Over "Fake" PR, Denies New Project

10. EFCC Cracks Down On Currency Fraud: 34 Suspected Speculators Arrested In Abuja (Photos)