Do Elderly People In Nigeria Have Dementia?

Date: 21-06-2011 6:56 pm (12 years ago) | Author: mariam sleek
- at 21-06-2011 06:56 PM (12 years ago)
HELLO, I AM CURRENTLY STUDYING MASTERS IN PYCHOLOGY IN UK. I AM DOING SOME RESEARCH OF DIFFERENT ILLNESS IN NIGERIA. WHAT I CAME ACCROSS WHAT MOST PEOPLE IN NIGERIA DONT KNOW WHO HAS OR WHAT DEMENTIA IS.

ACCORDING TO wikipedia: Dementia (taken from Latin, originally meaning "madness", from de- "without" + ment, the root of mens "mind") is a serious loss of cognitive ability in a previously unimpaired person, beyond what might be expected from normal aging. It may be static, the result of a unique global brain injury, or progressive, resulting in long-term decline due to damage or disease in the body. Although dementia is far more common in the geriatric population, it may occur in any stage of adulthood.

DEMENTIA IS COMMON IN UK AND I UNDERSTAND IN NIGERIA MADNESS OCCUR IN YOUNG PEOPLE OR THOSE WHO ARE SPIRITUAL INFECTED IN TERMS OF BABALOWO AND STUFF. IS IT BECUASE OF OUR BELIEF WE DONT HAVE DEMENTIA. I  WANT TO KNOW WHAT U THINK?

P.S AM A FEMELE, NOT A MALE

Posted: at 21-06-2011 06:56 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ladysleek4u at 21-06-2011 07:05 PM (12 years ago)
it depends, old people in Nigeria have different way to cure themself.
Posted: at 21-06-2011 07:05 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- tttonero at 21-06-2011 07:10 PM (12 years ago)
Go into your account and correct it.  Grin
Posted: at 21-06-2011 07:10 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- gucciberry at 21-06-2011 07:11 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: tttonero on 21-06-2011 07:10 PM
Go into your account and correct it.  Grin

i did it not letting me
Posted: at 21-06-2011 07:11 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- LOYOLAR at 22-06-2011 03:10 AM (12 years ago)
The elderly people do not have dementia in Nigeria. They do have instead loss of memory at times. The elderly ones in Nigeria are die-hard people. They are usually strong till death.
Posted: at 22-06-2011 03:10 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ekpelove at 22-06-2011 04:26 AM (12 years ago)
Some do. In some cases it could be genetic,
and since some of our African parents hardly visit the
hospital for a proper medical check up, they have this believe that
some old witch in the village is the cause. Though some might be cause
by the hands of the evil ones, However, dementia such as alzheimer's
affects some elderly people who have the genetic trait.

Posted: at 22-06-2011 04:26 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 15-05-2012 04:31 PM (11 years ago)
I believe some of the old have dementia in Nigeria

Posted: at 15-05-2012 04:31 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Idbabe at 15-05-2012 04:33 PM (11 years ago)
Poster, which country are u from before u begin to learn about Nigeria.   Everybody just want to rubbish Nigeria and go dia way.  Wetin na?
Posted: at 15-05-2012 04:33 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Bachelorette at 15-05-2012 04:43 PM (11 years ago)
Well, from my own perspective, everybody - Asian, Aussie, American, Australian, European, Africans have some element of madness. wether young or old, but for the sake of clarity...I'll split it in two - whites and Blacks. While White people have Emotional Madness, Black people have Hardship Madness. I rest my case!

Posted: at 15-05-2012 04:43 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tantabanana at 15-05-2012 04:45 PM (11 years ago)
WHAT THEN IS THE DIFFERENCE BTW SENILITY AND DEMENTIA?
Posted: at 15-05-2012 04:45 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Annizzle at 15-05-2012 05:02 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Bachelorette on 15-05-2012 04:43 PM
Well, from my own perspective, everybody - Asian, Aussie, American, Australian, European, Africans have some element of madness. wether young or old, but for the sake of clarity...I'll split it in two - whites and Blacks. While White people have Emotional Madness, Black people have Hardship Madness. I rest my case!
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 15-05-2012 05:02 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- doubleheartz at 15-05-2012 05:33 PM (11 years ago)
Dementia, according to national geographic journals...caucasians >>african americans  @risk of dementia.
   You study psychology but still haven't figured out belief has no effect on dementia. When considering the disease condition associated with dementia (Alzheimer's dz & Parkinson) and their etiologies,  belief has NO part to play in declined rate of tropical dementia but might play a minor role in increasing incidence of schizophrenia(ie  madness occurring in young people).
Posted: at 15-05-2012 05:33 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- babydesire at 15-05-2012 07:49 PM (11 years ago)
COPY N PASTE POSTER..UR RESEARCH IS RUBBISH!!
Posted: at 15-05-2012 07:49 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 15-05-2012 07:51 PM (11 years ago)
Running,this one pass me jari
Posted: at 15-05-2012 07:51 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ozobig at 15-05-2012 08:02 PM (11 years ago)
THE ONLY THING I CAN WISH YOU IS GET MARRIED SOON GOOD LUCK

Posted: at 15-05-2012 08:02 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 15-05-2012 08:27 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 15-05-2012 08:27 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Senegal at 15-05-2012 08:37 PM (11 years ago)

Are you a clown or something
Posted: at 15-05-2012 08:37 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- kathy1 at 16-05-2012 12:18 AM (11 years ago)
Hi there
In relation to your research, as far as I know, Africans don't suffer from dementia. I have worked with patients from different part of the world and i have never come across any Africans with dementia, is not part of our genetics. Africans are more likely to have cardiac problems such as hypertension, heart failure and more recently they are lots of Africans with gestational diabetics , type 1 and type 2 diabetics but in terms of neurological problems, Nigerians and Africans in general don't have Dementia.
Posted: at 16-05-2012 12:18 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- malvin2525 at 16-05-2012 03:21 AM (11 years ago)
Your Profile Is Fake So How Can we Answer Your Question
Posted: at 16-05-2012 03:21 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- open_reality at 16-05-2012 03:53 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Bachelorette on 15-05-2012 04:43 PM
Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 16-05-2012 03:53 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Igbo Billionaire, Arthur Eze Says Tinubu Will Change Nigeria After Eight Years In Office

2. Kwankwaso, 13 Others Dragged To EFCC By NNPP Over Alleged Fraud

3. PSG v Borussia Dortmund: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers And Stats

4. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

5. 40Yr Old Man, Abiola Arrested For Allegedly Defiling Minor Inside Mosque's Restroom In Ondo

6. Actress, Etinosa Finally Reveals BBN Pere As Debtor Who Refuses To Refund Her Money, Slams Him

7. Edo Assembly Speaker Suspends 3 Lawmakers Over Alleged Impeachment Plot

8. Nigeria Would’ve Been Better If Yar’Adua Completed His Tenure Says Yakubu Gowon

9. Many Arrested As Gov. Peter Mbah Launches Onslaught Against Insecurity In The State

10. Odumodublvck Praises Olamide For His Generosity, Reveals How He Gift Him $20K & A Private Jet

11. Charly Boy Questions Pres. Tinubu’s Unannounced London Visit, Demands Transparency

12. Heavy Rainstorm Injures Three, Destroy 200 Houses In Plateau

13. Singer, Harrysong Raises Speculations After Sharing Cryptic Post

14. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

15. VIDEO: Lady Laments Over Small Portion Of Porridge Sold At N5,500 By Chef Hilda Baci

16. Nigerian Rapper, Dremo Issues Stern Warns To Those Calling Him Untalented

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

4. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

5. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

10. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years