Nigerian Famous polygamist, Massaba, marries 91st wife, divorces 21

Date: 02-08-2011 3:05 am (12 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 2-08-2011 03:05 AM (12 years ago)
Celebrated polygamist and Islamic cleric, Pa Abubakar Masaba, on Monday said he had divorced 21 out of his 86 wives over indiscipline.
The Punch, had three years ago broken the news of the then 84 years old man having 86 wives. But today Masaba, who is from Bida, headquarters of Bida Local Government Area of Niger State, at 87, married his 91st wife, Fatimah Abubakar, on Friday in the town.
Masaba said the marriages collapsed due to acts of indiscipline, denying the allegation that the women were divorced for embracing western medicine.
He said, “I am a law abiding citizen, so I have never prevented health officials from immunising my children or those with me against child-killer diseases.
“If I refuse to use western medicine, it is because of my spiritual belief and the way Allah has been working with me. I bear no hatred or animosity against anybody who takes it.”
Fatima corroborated Masaba’s claim on the wedding, insisting that it was divine.
“To be frank with you, I was fascinated by Baba’s character, humility and behaviour. He is a great philanthropist and a man that is always ready to assist fellow human beings, irrespective of tribe, race or religion. He is my dream of a man, he takes perfect care of his wives and other people living with him,” she stated.
Investigations by our correspondent revealed that the officiating of the wedding between Masaba and 32-year-old Fatimah was presided over by Alhaji Shehu Lemu.
The octogenarian, who spoke in a telephone interview with our correspondent on Monday, described the marriage as divine.
“As you know, I don’t do things without the consent of Allah, I prayed and Allah said she was my wife and I should go ahead before I went ahead and marries her,” he stated.
Masaba, who also denied a recent newspapers report (not The Punch) giving his name as Nmodu Chinkangi, of Chinkagi village in Lavun Local Government Area of the state, said, “I’m Abubakar Bello Masaba of the Masaba’s Ruling House in Bida. My records while working with Bacita Sugar company is there, I have never in my life changed name or place of birth.”

He described Islam as a religion of peace, adding that adherents of the religion must embrace peace at all times.

Posted: at 2-08-2011 03:05 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onases at 2-08-2011 09:57 AM (12 years ago)
Congrats Masaba for keeping for keeping up to this particular African culture of many wives.In the good old days a man was known by the strength of his household.That is,the number of wives and children.Today has the one man one wife not created more problems?There is baby market everywhere in the name of adoption,there are more unmarried women than the married,some women have drastically shortened the lives of their husbands because they believe that these men will never marry second wives.Masaba at 87 has just married the 91st wife.How many people with one wife live up to 60?There is evidence that our forefathers who married many wives lived longer than we do in this age of monogamy.
Posted: at 2-08-2011 09:57 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- divineproject at 2-08-2011 11:00 AM (12 years ago)
Use and dump, who go marry these 21 women wey you don dump now?..........

Posted: at 2-08-2011 11:00 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Merlin at 2-08-2011 11:18 AM (12 years ago)
mstcheeewww!!!
Posted: at 2-08-2011 11:18 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 2-08-2011 01:37 PM (12 years ago)
To! We don hear!

Posted: at 2-08-2011 01:37 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- mairo774life at 21-12-2011 04:54 PM (12 years ago)
Ok!OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!.

Maybe he married some of those women out of pity, kindness or whatever reasons, but no right-thinking woman should kid herself into thinking that this type of marriage is ideal.

Besides, will "BABA" ALWAYS BE UP TO THE TASK of giving these women EQUAL RIGHTS AND OPPORTUNITY ( as stipulated in the Q,RAN?Huh?  I very much doubt it....!  Na waooo.   And so, at the  end of the day, most of the kids, produced out of this unions will end up depending on the extended family system  to help out .....(AS ALWAYS).

And for all you Men out there who are advocates of Poligamy just like BABA, dont  forget that his being married to all those women does not neccessarily mean that ALL THE KIDS BEING BORN TO HIM ARE BIOLOGICALLY HIS!...Dem dey do DNA for Naija at all sel Lips Sealed Lips Sealed :-Xf???
Posted: at 21-12-2011 04:54 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kossino at 29-12-2011 04:24 PM (12 years ago)
hahaha dats african man 4 u always strong,healthy n equal 2 d task so well
Posted: at 29-12-2011 04:24 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kossino at 29-12-2011 04:36 PM (12 years ago)
hahaha dats african man 4 u always strong,healthy n equal 2 d task so well
Posted: at 29-12-2011 04:36 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Lekan22 at 16-04-2012 10:23 PM (12 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 16-04-2012 10:23 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- saintdav76 at 16-04-2012 10:31 PM (12 years ago)
Congrat o u most reach 100 b4 u go
Posted: at 16-04-2012 10:31 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- saintdav76 at 16-04-2012 10:38 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: mairo774life on 21-12-2011 04:54 PM
Ok!OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!.

Maybe he married some of those women out of pity, kindness or whatever reasons, but no right-thinking woman should kid herself into thinking that this type of marriage is ideal.

Besides, will "BABA" ALWAYS BE UP TO THE TASK of giving these women EQUAL RIGHTS AND OPPORTUNITY ( as stipulated in the Q,RAN?Huh?  I very much doubt it....!  Na waooo.   And so, at the  end of the day, most of the kids, produced out of this unions will end up depending on the extended family system  to help out .....(AS ALWAYS).

And for all you Men out there who are advocates of Poligamy just like BABA, dont  forget that his being married to all those women does not neccessarily mean that ALL THE KIDS BEING BORN TO HIM ARE BIOLOGICALLY HIS!...Dem dey do DNA for Naija at all sel Lips Sealed Lips Sealed :-Xf??? Gbam u don talk finish

Posted: at 16-04-2012 10:38 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac