Please advice me on how to graduate with a first class (Page 2)

Date: 05-02-2008 4:55 pm (16 years ago) | Author: faya moses
- myragonza at 27-03-2008 04:35 PM (16 years ago)
not Yankee oooooo.....not much hassles

Posted: at 27-03-2008 04:35 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lucabracci at 28-03-2008 03:38 AM (16 years ago)
i dont find it stressful tho apart from the seminar sessions which i dont realli like but gt no choice lol are you saying they dont do seminars and essays in yankee uni
Posted: at 28-03-2008 03:38 AM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vixenx at 28-03-2008 07:08 AM (16 years ago)
hi
Posted: at 28-03-2008 07:08 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lucabracci at 28-03-2008 12:02 AM (16 years ago)
hella Cool Wink
Posted: at 28-03-2008 12:02 AM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vixenx at 28-03-2008 01:51 AM (16 years ago)
kedu
Posted: at 28-03-2008 01:51 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lucabracci at 28-03-2008 05:13 AM (16 years ago)
kedu kodi...odinma Wink
Posted: at 28-03-2008 05:13 AM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- myragonza at 28-03-2008 10:22 AM (16 years ago)
how far..!?

Posted: at 28-03-2008 10:22 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 28-03-2008 11:30 PM (16 years ago)
hola mi amigo..como estas?
Posted: at 28-03-2008 11:30 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lucabracci at 29-03-2008 04:47 AM (16 years ago)
ibo ppl pls correct me jare see vixen speaking spanish abeg correct my kedu if it was correct na...
Posted: at 29-03-2008 04:47 AM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vixenx at 30-03-2008 05:49 AM (16 years ago)
your kedu is perfect..u even said it better than me..are u sure u ain't?..........
Posted: at 30-03-2008 05:49 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 30-03-2008 06:52 AM (16 years ago)

Posted: at 30-03-2008 06:52 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lucabracci at 30-03-2008 03:04 PM (16 years ago)
lol dont worry,thats the beginning ill invite you when i get my chieftaincy title in igbo land very soon... Wink Cool
Posted: at 30-03-2008 03:04 PM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vixenx at 31-03-2008 02:38 AM (16 years ago)
Posted: at 31-03-2008 02:38 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 31-03-2008 09:40 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: lucabracci on 30-03-2008 03:04 PM
lol dont worry,thats the beginning ill invite you when i get my chieftaincy title in igbo land very soon... Wink Cool

i will be waiting with my feather....

Posted: at 31-03-2008 09:40 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajetlove at 10-09-2008 07:39 PM (15 years ago)
Hmmmmmmm
Posted: at 10-09-2008 07:39 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- damuche at 14-09-2008 10:59 AM (15 years ago)
smoke some bush and study you will be kool
Posted: at 14-09-2008 10:59 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- giftjustice at 18-09-2008 12:02 PM (15 years ago)
But from experience, the following could be useful:
I READ ABOUT THIS ON NAIRALAND.COM AND I THINK IT WILL BE OF HELP TO YOU.

A. ONE PSOTER POST:

1, NATURAL BRILLIANCE: Most First class grads are naturally brilliant,not strugglers. Sure you still have to read. Yes, you just have to read. But if you see student X and student Y read for 3 hours, subject to the same condition, and X scores 80%(or let's say graduates with with Firts Class) and Y scores 50%(or more generally, graduates with 2-2), what is at play there is natural brilliance. First Class materials don't struggle academically, they are naturally brilliant. In my class for example, the guy that read most was not among the Top 60 students in class. Likewise, I wasn't among among the Top 20 heaviest readers, if hours spent reading is anything to go by.

2, OPTIMISM & SELF BELIEF : Most First Class students have self-belief that they can make it, right from year 1. They don't get swayed by the common pessimistic ranting of majority of the students that YOU CAN'TMAKE FIRST CLASS;THEY WONT GIVE YOU. First Class materials dismiss such claims, and go ahead pursuing it.

3, LONG TERM TARGET Most First Class studenst don't use the Fire Brigade approach. It involves setting targets and being conscious of it. I started a conscious pursuit of it right from my year 1. I always targeted A in every course.

4, CALCULATIONS: Most First Class students always have their brains doing calculations and permutations on how to achieve their target.Don't be surprised if you see a First Class reading a purely theoretical course but having calculator by his side.He is using the calculator, not for the course he's reading, but for calcualting stuffs and assumptions like: 'If i had B in this course,what will my GP be?', 'What if I misfire in a 30 marks questions(i.e misinterprete) in this course and eventually score D, won't i drop from First Class'. He will simply take his calculator by his side and work out what his GP will be under these assumptions.I, for one,didn't look at A from the point of scoring 70% but from missing 30 marks. 30 marks is too big to miss in a course.So in any course I didn't miss up to 30, I scored 70% and above and that was A. Later, A became so easy for me. I scored A in 76.6% of all the courses I did from year 1 to 4.

5, COMPETITION: I have always hated playing the second fiddle in my life. I think many First Class students also share this. I can't stand not being among the 'frontliners' anywhere I find myself. So the desire to top my class motivated me to study hard. My class was especially very competitive, and I can't afford not to among the best, if not the best.

B. AND YET ANOTHER:
1. DESIRE. This is the very important one of all. You need to want it before you could actually work towards it. The desire is very important. I know a lot of People back in school that just didn't care, so they never made it and it didn't border them. So simply put you need to want it first.

2.BELIVE. This too is very key, you need to believe in yourself. I remember back then in school i kept telling myself that i can't fail(and i never did) with that aside you need to now ask yourself so what grade to i want.

3 PLAN. You can't leave this behind. Before the Semester commences, I use to right out all the courses i would be taking and i write a proposed Grade to it. I know some will be difficult so i tend to spend more time on them and spend less time on the ones i know am good at(but am not saying you should underestimate any course).

4 READING. You need to read, but don't just do this because everyone one is doing it. You need to know yourself and what time you tend to assimilate better. For me early morning was the thing, just waking up from bed, and the head is still clear

5 Competition. Engage yourself in a secret competition with the best in your class, understudy him or her and try to see what they do differently. This is important because they are lots of courses  out there and what works in science might not work completely in art.

6 STUDY GROUPS You need a group of good students to motivate you, this is key too because at times we might just be lagging behind.

7PRAYER. Am actually saving the best for the last, I'll say this is the most most most important of all. You need God's Favour to get ahead. We all do so please don't leave this behind.

This are what worked for me, but you still need to take a ittle time to discover yourself to know what works
I don't believe Geniuses are made and not born

I hope this helps!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 18-09-2008 12:02 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- benardshow at 19-09-2008 09:27 AM (15 years ago)
please tell me how to be best in class
Posted: at 19-09-2008 09:27 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- bertona12 at 20-09-2008 10:47 PM (15 years ago)
Do what others are doing.finish
Posted: at 20-09-2008 10:47 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fibee at 26-09-2008 03:43 PM (15 years ago)
Set out goals, and study real hard, attend all lectures because what u hear and jot down might not be in any material given.
Above all pray, eat well and eat right. Sleep but not too much.
First class will be yours
Takia and all the best Wink Kiss
Posted: at 26-09-2008 03:43 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie