Bomb blast again in Maiduguri •1 soldier killed •As residents flee troubled area

Date: 11-10-2011 2:16 am (12 years ago) | Author: Paddy Hayes
- at 11-10-2011 02:16 AM (12 years ago)
Written by James Bwala, Maiduguri Tuesday, 11 October 2011

TROUBLE started at about 8.00 a.m. on Monday following bomb blasts at Dala Alemderi ward of Maiduguri, the Borno State capital, where an unconfirmed report put the death toll at six, following sporadic gunshots immediately the blast occurred.

Fleeing residents of Alemderi who spoke to Nigerian Tribune said that the blast shattered the patrol vehicle of the Joint Task Force on Operation Restore Order in Borno, living an army officer dead.

According to the man who identified himself as Mohammed Sani, “immediately after the blasts, we could not tell exactly whether it was an exchange of fire between the JTF and Boko Haram members, or it was the military that were firing, but people were killed, shops were burnt and several cars also were damaged. The military went mad because it affected one of them as such we had to flee the area because we all knew what would happen next.”

The JTF spokesman, Lieutenant-Colonel Mohammed Hassan, told Nigerian Tribune that the bomb was planted near a high tension cable on the road heading to Dala Kabamti (the local beer joint where hundreds of people were massacred by unknown gunmen).

According to Lieutenant-Colonel Hassan, the sect planted the bomb targeting the JTF which unfortunately got at them, adding that there would be a news release from the JTF to that effect and that they would explain everything later.

But when Nigerian Tribune contacted the Field Operation Commander, Colonel Victor Ebhaleme, he said that the blasts ripped apart the JTF vehicle killing a NAF officer.

He explained that this was what the JTF had been fighting and nobody was spared by the sect members. “We would get them and they would definitely face the music,” he added.

Also, an elderly woman, who spoke to Nigerian Tribune in Bullumkuttu, Abuja ward, said she took some people to work on a farm and while coming home, she saw people running and those who knew her asked her to go back as soldiers had cordoned off the area.

According to her, she left her grandson at home who was still sucking, because the mother left him with her to go and write her examination at the university. “They said ‘Mama, go back, there is shooting’ and I told them it was not possible. I left my grandson at home, I had to go and see him no matter what. When I got home, soldiers were in front of my house, some of them were shouting and asking people to go back. I saw them beating somebody, I think they took him away because when my last born came to open the gate, we saw them beating people, but they didn’t talk to us as I entered my house and closed the gate,” she explained.

At the time of filing this report, several attempts to get the Borno State Police Commissioner, Mr Simeon Midenda, to speak on the issue did not yield result as his phone kept ringing without response.

via Tribune

Posted: at 11-10-2011 02:16 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 11-10-2011 06:46 AM (12 years ago)
GOD please save us in this country oooooooo
Posted: at 11-10-2011 06:46 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- Johnmilla55 at 11-10-2011 08:56 AM (12 years ago)
Naija never see anything ohhhh, na untill small pikin dem, go dey use boom dey play for road, na that time our government dem go come out to fight for this boom case.
see poster, not dey post dis kind matter for here, i wan dey hear say the boom enter aso rock, not killing a soldier. 
Posted: at 11-10-2011 08:56 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kebella at 11-10-2011 09:00 AM (12 years ago)
just passing..............i shaketh not Tongue

Posted: at 11-10-2011 09:00 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 27-07-2012 11:13 AM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 27-07-2012 11:13 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- vissionclem at 2-09-2012 10:23 PM (11 years ago)
AMAZING OFFER!!! Click here to see with your own eyes http://.com/*****?page=act/ref&invcod=48953
Posted: at 2-09-2012 10:23 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- xband at 2-09-2012 10:51 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: kebella on 11-10-2011 09:00 AM
just passing..............i shaketh not Tongue
Posted: at 2-09-2012 10:51 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 20-08-2015 07:07 PM (8 years ago)
Only God can help
Posted: at 20-08-2015 07:07 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

2. How Man Cut Off His Mum’s Hand So He Could Use Her Fingertips To Steal Cash From Account

3. VID: Suspected Cultist Who Killed Final Year ABSU Student Pleads For A Second Chance

4. Speed Darlington Drags His Aunt For Threatening To Kill Him After Asking Her To Remove Her Chur

5. Watch Drama As Passenger Refused Drunk Driver To Convey Them To Their Destination

6. One Dies Of Heart Attack As Bride-To-Be's Family & Passengers Foil Kidnap Attempt, Kill Bandit

7. Deji Adeyanju Threatens Lead British International School Over Bullying Of Namtira Bwala

8. Singer, Celine Dion Opens Up On Her Health Struggles

9. Manchester United v Sheffield: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

10. One Dies, Three Hospitalised As Building Partially Collapse In Lagos

11. Ogun Seals Three Worship Centres Over Noise pollution

12. Group Hits Hard On IGP For Opposing Establishment Of State Police

13. Bullying: Lead British International School in Abuja Shut Down

14. Embattled Actor, Baba Ijesha Files Appeal Challenging His 5Yrs Imprisonment Over Rape

15. How 18Yr Old Boy Fakes His Own Kidnap To Extort Father

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office