Top Seven Female MC's Dominating The Nigerian Music Industry

Date: 06-11-2011 1:51 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 6-11-2011 01:51 AM (12 years ago)
WAJE

OUTWARDLY, she is a determined woman. Inside her is equally a bigger spirit of survival. Added to her quality is  that strong sonorus voice which makes her irresistable.
Born on September 1st 1981, in Akure, she was brought into limelight on the platform of  MTN/Zain’s Advance Warning Competition where she ranked top 3.

Then she featured as the amazing voice behind P-Square’s video Do Me.  After that, she made a follow up with her single Kolo and lastly So Inspired where she featured sexy Muna.

She’s won the Hip Hop World award and is still striving to become a stronger force to be reckoned with in the industry.

KEL

She also ranks among one of the best when it comes to rap music. Kel began her music as far back as 2002 after engaging in it as a passtime. Her singles Wa Wa Alright, was a song where she appeared so strong and confident, speaking her mind to music lovers. The song broke into the hearts of music enthusiats, making her as strong as wild wind.

Later, she was signed on to Clarence Peter’s Capital Hill records but she’s since parted ways with the label.

The Satelite born and bread rapper is currently working on her new album. The album is said to  feature collaborations with Artistes and Producers including Tha Suspect , Dr.Frabs, TY Mix, Bigfoot, Knighthouse and J. Martins

OMAWUMI

She’s known for the excellent fussion of English and pidgin in her songs. This has clearly stood her out among contemporaries in addition to her strong vocals.

For her, her music career started when se enlisted as a contestant in the 2007 West African Idol. She came out as the semi finalsit and followed soon with an outstanding single, In The Music.

Other top list singles of hers include Love Nwantinti, Today Na Today, Niger Delta, Thank God and of recently, If You Ask Me.

Aside singing, she’s been seen picking up roles on movies including Funke Akindele’s Return of Jennifer.

She’s also involved in humanitarian activities in support of female like Project Alert, Pink Pearl Foundation and Notes2Notes .

TIWA SAVAGE

She came from the blues, all the way from the U.S and blewour minds away. Kele Kele Love is one song both old and young can’t forget in a rush.

Tiwa is also signed on as a Songwriter with Sony/ATV, and has worked with big names such as Mary J. Blige, Fantasia Barrino and Babyface.

She contested on the UK’s X-factor, and was among the 24 finalists. She’s also released another singles Love Me Love Me which is presently rocking the airwaves.

MO’CHEDDAH

Nicknamed the hip hop princess because of her versatility in both rap and singing, Mocheddah ranks among one of Nigeria’s best female acts.

Born Modupre Oreoluwa Oyeyemi, she’s a graduate of Creative Arts from the University of Lagos.

Her debut album, Franchise Celebrity which swallows songs like Ko Ma Roll,  If You Want Me and thirteen other tracks was the bump. Other singles are See Me, 24/7 etc.

She was also the 2nd place winner on the Hennessy Artistry 2009 competition, where she competed alongside the likes of Bez and Cobhams Asuquo, Ice Prince and Jesse Jagz, Jimmy Flames and Dr Frabz.

She was also one of the headline Artistes on the Girl Power 2009 Tour, alongside Ashionye, Nikki Laoye and Sasha, amongst others.

She is passionate about Nigeria and is involved in causes that promote Youth Empowerment and the abolishment of Child Labour.

GOLDIE

She ranks among those artistes with the best costumes and creativity when it comes to her videos.

Born Susan Oluwabimpe Harvey, she made her debut in 2007 with Ko Mole. Then she followed soothe with Spin Me.

She’s a graduate of Business Management of the University of Sunderland. According to her, her advenrure into music was an accident. However, she’s had no regret for getting involved in music.

SASHA

She  began with the Trybesmen, back in her days as an Undergraduate of the University of Lagos.

Since then, she ranks as one of Nigeria’s foremost female rappers.

Her debut, First Lady received a huge welcome, pushing her into the list of rappers to be reckoned with.

She was the first Nigerian female artiste to win an MTV MAMA Award for Best Female in 2010. she Sasha also received a KORA Award Nomination as the Most Promising Female Act in Africa.

won the “Best female artist ” award at the women in entertainment awards held in England (February 09) for her first single titled “Adara” ,and was nominated in two categories ( Best female video and Best cinematography) by the prestigious Nigerian Soundcity Video Music Awards for her second single “Only One” which was held on the first of August 2009.

Posted: at 6-11-2011 01:51 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- toibeli at 6-11-2011 03:12 AM (12 years ago)
Good luck ladies, very proud of you.
Posted: at 6-11-2011 03:12 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- babyleslie at 6-11-2011 05:09 AM (12 years ago)
 Cool Cool
Posted: at 6-11-2011 05:09 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 6-11-2011 07:31 AM (12 years ago)
I came, i saw and i pass >>>>>>>>>>>

Posted: at 6-11-2011 07:31 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- ikennaya at 6-11-2011 07:45 AM (12 years ago)
reallllllllllllllly???
Posted: at 6-11-2011 07:45 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- bellocity at 6-11-2011 08:16 AM (12 years ago)
maw Smiley
Posted: at 6-11-2011 08:16 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- dogodajiabuja at 6-11-2011 08:51 AM (12 years ago)
bcos dem deh rap music, na im make dem wowo like dis?
this pple wowo no be small!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 6-11-2011 08:51 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kattie77 at 6-11-2011 09:16 AM (12 years ago)
Nice work girls,my best is omawumi cos she is very natural and down to earth,by d way why is Goldie looking look like a witch here?
Posted: at 6-11-2011 09:16 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ebiskey at 6-11-2011 11:00 AM (12 years ago)
Naija babes are trying sha!
keep up the good work (musically) ladies.
Una dey really try!
Posted: at 6-11-2011 11:00 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Pointzero at 6-11-2011 11:41 AM (12 years ago)
u should have said top 7 according 2 ur ranking poster coz neither do i see ASA here nor BOUQUI

Posted: at 6-11-2011 11:41 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tokeec at 6-11-2011 11:52 AM (12 years ago)
thankGod for naija babes, it is highly recommendable, moe kudos.
Posted: at 6-11-2011 11:52 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- malamy at 6-11-2011 12:00 PM (12 years ago)
Nice looking ladies,keep it up.
Posted: at 6-11-2011 12:00 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nice9ija at 6-11-2011 12:13 PM (12 years ago)
bullshit
Posted: at 6-11-2011 12:13 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mayorsolar at 6-11-2011 01:14 PM (12 years ago)
Ok.I don hear u.
Posted: at 6-11-2011 01:14 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 6-11-2011 01:16 PM (12 years ago)
u guz re making us proud yeh beautiful nd inteligent babes
Posted: at 6-11-2011 01:16 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- ugochuks at 6-11-2011 01:44 PM (12 years ago)
they re singers not musicians..dem dey try sha, where is ASA and co?

Posted: at 6-11-2011 01:44 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Evrarocks at 6-11-2011 01:51 PM (12 years ago)
Hmmmm, where'z muna
Posted: at 6-11-2011 01:51 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- malvin2525 at 6-11-2011 02:11 PM (12 years ago)
 Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss
Posted: at 6-11-2011 02:11 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- all_d_audible at 6-11-2011 02:50 PM (12 years ago)
Asa is number one. Ayo, Nneka, bouqui,
Posted: at 6-11-2011 02:50 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Princess4God at 6-11-2011 03:12 PM (12 years ago)
Kip it up girls make our country proud & giv it gud name. make dem no say no b only bombin,rape, muda we sabi
Posted: at 6-11-2011 03:12 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4