Jonathan: Achebe not in tune with reality (Page 7)

Date: 14-11-2011 1:34 am (12 years ago) | Author: dammy rose
1 ... 4 5 6 [7]
- henryemekaob at 16-11-2011 01:59 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ugochuks on 14-11-2011 10:40 AM

ur second name must be hmmmm EWU damaturu!!!  the man rejected the stuff,has his own reasons and u re here typing rubbish,,he didnt take it just bcuz he is not as blind and stupid as u re.....
atleast somebody like chinua achebe has in his part uplited the image of nigeria as a citezenry dept he owl your country in a high esteem and i will b happy just to hear that you do the same. you know what i mean. after all nigeria didnt help in any way to safe guide his dream as u and i are struggling to make it in education in filty environment who knows if u have the intention let a lone being leurrete.
Posted: at 16-11-2011 01:59 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- djosh4cesc at 16-11-2011 02:13 PM (12 years ago)
Jonathan just won't stop embarrassing himself
Posted: at 16-11-2011 02:13 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- YaroEsq at 17-11-2011 08:10 PM (12 years ago)
 Shocked dis we presido no get sense ooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 17-11-2011 08:10 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kebella at 17-11-2011 09:11 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: djosh4cesc on 16-11-2011 02:13 PM
Jonathan just won't stop embarrassing himself

Posted: at 17-11-2011 09:11 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Lekan22 at 18-11-2011 07:35 PM (12 years ago)
Achebe rejected the offer, whats the President prob about that?
Posted: at 18-11-2011 07:35 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Don_Pedro at 21-11-2011 05:12 AM (12 years ago)
The dunderhead sits and watches home video and uses the cast thereof as the winners of national awards...he is inviting Achebe to come home and see when he needs to leave the ceiling fans of Aso cave and see that ordinary Nigerians working hard are the real winners of awards...can the man ever get any thing right?
Posted: at 21-11-2011 05:12 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Chizze at 22-11-2011 06:09 PM (12 years ago)
Some small minds on this forum are still talking about Achebe's literary contributions to the society. No one is denying him that accolade, more bravos to the elder statesman. However, in times like this we need more than personal achievement. That is the point. Just as one would like Goodluck Jonathan to do more to help the people, we need Achebe to use his position to promote change and to make economic impact "for greater good". His achievement earned him personal recognition worldwide, not enough economic impact on his people. Rather than point fingers at the sitting president, he should find an avenue to "rub brains" with him (the president) so the people could benefit more from his (Achebe's) wisdom and high echelons. The award thingy was an avenue to get words in and a probably breakthrough to making some social and economic impact. We need to look beyond past achievements - most of which were personal. For someone to say the country did nothing to help Achebe become what he is today is sad and makes me wonder the type of brains we have on this forum: If no other thing, he suckled on his mother's Bosom . Shalow minds always reason from their shalow brains.
Posted: at 22-11-2011 06:09 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Obitexa at 23-11-2011 12:31 AM (12 years ago)
D fact is that Achebe was wrong this time around...this award was not given to him for political reasons, but because of his own personal achievements. Jonathan is trying his best, but Achebe is demoralizing him by rejecting this award. It is not good...Prof, you were wrong..
Posted: at 23-11-2011 12:31 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Obitexa at 23-11-2011 12:55 AM (12 years ago)
That GEJ is facing challenges does not mean that he should shelve giving awards to those like Achebe as he is constitutionally empowered to. Prof no matter how revered you are, Nigeria will still move forward without you and when Nigeria eventually gets better as you pray it will, this award you blindly rejected may never come to you again.
Posted: at 23-11-2011 12:55 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Idbabe at 23-11-2011 04:59 PM (12 years ago)
Abeg leave the man alone.  He is my man of the year.  To hell with dirty award.  Is dat wat we need now?
Posted: at 23-11-2011 04:59 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- rayOFsunshine at 23-11-2011 05:21 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Obitexa on 23-11-2011 12:55 AM
That GEJ is facing challenges does not mean that he should shelve giving awards to those like Achebe as he is constitutionally empowered to. Prof no matter how revered you are, Nigeria will still move forward without you and when Nigeria eventually gets better as you pray it will, this award you blindly rejected may never come to you again.

He doesnt need it, he already got so many of them.  you people can keep it
Posted: at 23-11-2011 05:21 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 25-06-2012 05:19 PM (11 years ago)
ok na..
Posted: at 25-06-2012 05:19 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 25-06-2012 05:21 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 25-06-2012 05:21 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
1 ... 4 5 6 [7]