Jonathan: Achebe not in tune with reality (Page 6)

Date: 14-11-2011 1:34 am (12 years ago) | Author: dammy rose
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7
- Vigilante at 15-11-2011 02:09 PM (12 years ago)
Just because he is one of the best in literary works does not mean he is beyond reproach. Leave him alone in his pride. The world will carry on without him.

After all it was just an honour.
Posted: at 15-11-2011 02:09 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- queenrukky at 15-11-2011 02:22 PM (12 years ago)
 Tongue
Posted: at 15-11-2011 02:22 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- vantheo at 15-11-2011 02:28 PM (12 years ago)
If he doesn't like wat is going on in nigeria, then he should change it. I believe he will make a good president. Let him come and run for 2015 presidency

Posted: at 15-11-2011 02:28 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- femro at 15-11-2011 03:11 PM (12 years ago)
The man is my hero. Our leaders need to have their heads examined if they say Prof. Achebe is out of touch with reality. They are the ones that cannot hear the people from the balcony.
Posted: at 15-11-2011 03:11 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- limpbizkit12 at 15-11-2011 03:18 PM (12 years ago)
ACHEBE IS A MAN OF HONOR AND DO NOT NEED YOUR HONORING WE HAVE SOMANY PROBLEM IN THIS COUNTRY TO TACKLE WHY TALK ABOUT HONORING, INNOCENT PEOPLE ARE BEING KILLED EVERYDAY BY THE SO-CALLED BOKO HARAM, UNKNOWN GUNMEN...IF THEIR IS ANY CHANGE IN THIS COUNTRY THE PROF WILL EVERLY KNOW THEIR IS NO DIFFERENT BETWEEN NOW AND 2004 MAYBE THE CHANGE IS IN YOUR BEDROOM AND NOT NIGERIA......WE HAVE SOME EDUCATED FOOLS RULING THIS COUNTRY ..PROF ACHEBE IS VERY RIGHT THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME HE IS REFUSING THIS AWARD YOU CAN GO STRAIGHT AND  HONOUR THE CELEBRITIES THOSE CAN BE BOUGHT BY FAME AND NOT PROF..

PROF HAVE REASONS AND HIS REASON IS WELL UNDERSTOOD BY THE EDUCATED NIGERIANS IF I WEAR YOU MR. PRESIDENT I WILL KEEP SHOT AND PRETEND I NEVER SEES HIS REFUSAL...MAY GOD HELP THIS COUNTRY.

Posted: at 15-11-2011 03:18 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Richiemontana at 15-11-2011 03:22 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Chizze on 14-11-2011 10:59 AM
We love Achebe, but rejecting the award to honor his contributions to literacy does not make any sense. I would think, the smartest thing would be use the opportunity to pass on his message of disillusionment of the political trend in Nigeria. You cannot affect a change by side-talking, sitting on the fence and not channeling the appropraite viewpoint to the right quaters, rigth time and right place. The world, and infact the deaf naija politicians would have heard his message if he accepted the award, organized reception party and mounted a pulpit to talk/express about his feeling regarding the present and past Nigerian leaders, and the sufferings of the people. As poor and ailing as our economy, a reception party in his honor would have generated millions of naira for our country. Did he think about the economic aspects of the award - not for him (because we know he is wealthy), but for businesses in Nigeria and beyond? An Igbo saying goes like this, "one does not add pepper to an aqueous solution made for curing an ailing eye".
IS IT BY FORCE?......By the way he wasn't d only person dat rejected their stupid award. A member of the House Of Reps. also did. So wots d fuss about.
Posted: at 15-11-2011 03:22 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mubtada at 15-11-2011 03:22 PM (12 years ago)
Not only the rejection is cherishable, but also the assertiveness of this legend is something to applause for!
Posted: at 15-11-2011 03:22 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- solid_solid at 15-11-2011 03:32 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: kingIyke on 14-11-2011 10:28 AM
Prof Chinue Achebe is nt right dis time around. Is he the only saint in Nigeria. What does he thnk he is, i mean what kind of height has he gotten to dat nobody has been b4. If he really love Nigeria as he claim to, dont he knw dat he would be encouraging Jonathan to work harder? Infact let him go to HELL

guy u really phyuk up ...... why u type this trash here? ....
guy u really fall my hand big time i dey tell u.
Posted: at 15-11-2011 03:32 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Parisco at 15-11-2011 03:45 PM (12 years ago)
Prof. Chinue Achebe was right in his decision for rejecting the so-called persuasive and enticing honour awarded him by mr. president. I have read some statements posted by some unpetriotic and unscrupulous elements here. what is't to happy about in this country?.  When i was a small boy i used to be proud of Nigeria and promised to be faithful to my country, Nigeria; we used to sing the national athems "i will serve Nigeria with all my strenght" but as i grow older i began regreting why i was born into this country, because the country belongs to some clique of political animals. If anyone of u has read and understood the book called " Animal Farm"; the writer, wrote the book against Russian political system and he said that the book is also written against some other political system to come all over the globe which i personally have ascribed to the system of govt in Nigeria today. From the story of Animal farm, when humans were ruling the animals was far better than when animals started ruling animals. When mr.Jones the owner of the farm was in charge of the farm the animal were co-operating and worked for certain hours and rest but when some group of Animals who called themselves political demi god took over the farm from human, then, slevery, overlabour, hardship, embasslement, and mismanagement of Offices now became the order of the day. Jesus wept because of what he saw that is going to pass through. Ask yourself that what would be the future of  Nigeria ten years to come. Nigeria is deteriorating in all ramifications, football, govt , economy, creativity, religion, goodwill, academics,security etc. There are two types of professor in the world; professor as a scholar and professor as a politician. I appreciate what he did by rejecting the honour. Fellow Nigerians  lets wake up and fight for our right and our country. Forsake greed, cheating,untrusthworthyness, vandalization of country's  properties.
Posted: at 15-11-2011 03:45 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- shynur44 at 15-11-2011 03:59 PM (12 years ago)
na by force dem dey receive award?  both president badluck jonathan and that stupid reuben abati should go and screw themselves up.
Posted: at 15-11-2011 03:59 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Josseyjessy at 15-11-2011 04:03 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Parisco on 15-11-2011 03:45 PM
Prof. Chinue Achebe was right in his decision for rejecting the so-called persuasive and enticing honour awarded him by mr. president. I have read some statements posted by some unpetriotic and unscrupulous elements here. what is't to happy about in this country?.  When i was a small boy i used to be proud of Nigeria and promised to be faithful to my country, Nigeria; we used to sing the national athems "i will serve Nigeria with all my strenght" but as i grow older i began regreting why i was born into this country, because the country belongs to some clique of political animals. If anyone of u has read and understood the book called " Animal Farm"; the writer, wrote the book against Russian political system and he said that the book is also written against some other political system to come all over the globe which i personally have ascribed to the system of govt in Nigeria today. From the story of Animal farm, when humans were ruling the animals was far better than when animals started ruling animals. When mr.Jones the owner of the farm was in charge of the farm the animal were co-operating and worked for certain hours and rest but when some group of Animals who called themselves political demi god took over the farm from human, then, slevery, overlabour, hardship, embasslement, and mismanagement of Offices now became the order of the day. Jesus wept because of what he saw that is going to pass through. Ask yourself that what would be the future of  Nigeria ten years to come. Nigeria is deteriorating in all ramifications, football, govt , economy, creativity, religion, goodwill, academics,security etc. There are two types of professor in the world; professor as a scholar and professor as a politician. I appreciate what he did by rejecting the honour. Fellow Nigerians  lets wake up and fight for our right and our country. Forsake greed, cheating,untrusthworthyness, vandalization of country's  properties.

You are right. Mr Jonathan's reality has taken Nigeria backwards rather than forward. Greed and corruption are the order of the day while the silent majority live in abject squalor and poverty. 'All animals are equal but some are more equal than the others'   Angry Angry.
Posted: at 15-11-2011 04:03 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kebella at 15-11-2011 04:03 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: tusk on 15-11-2011 12:03 PM
I beg the guy no hear you cos he is deaf and dumb use sign language or waterside lang....
Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 15-11-2011 04:03 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 15-11-2011 04:06 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: mallorca on 14-11-2011 11:12 PM
i knw no wetin u n ebony dey talk for here..protest to aso rock,gudluck if u come back alive
i no dey fear accidental discharge  Shocked ...........

Posted: at 15-11-2011 04:06 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Nonso85 at 15-11-2011 04:27 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: kingIyke on 14-11-2011 10:28 AM
Prof Chinue Achebe is nt right dis time around. Is he the only saint in Nigeria. What does he thnk he is, i mean what kind of height has he gotten to dat nobody has been b4. If he really love Nigeria as he claim to, dont he knw dat he would be encouraging Jonathan to work harder? Infact let him go to HELL

You're so insensible, just read ur lines again.........IDIOT, your whole family success joined together will never get to 5% of Achebe's.........DAMATURU GOAT as earlier said.
Posted: at 15-11-2011 04:27 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- gboganist at 15-11-2011 11:23 PM (12 years ago)
MAY GOD OPEN THE EYES OF OUR LEADERS OR... RULERS.
Posted: at 15-11-2011 11:23 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- just2sexy at 16-11-2011 12:29 AM (12 years ago)
naijapals and fake titles

Posted: at 16-11-2011 12:29 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- flameo at 16-11-2011 01:18 AM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 16-11-2011 01:18 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- iykdon at 16-11-2011 05:18 AM (12 years ago)
1 problem wit sm nigerians,is dat they drift away 4rm d truths nd reality,due 2 hight level of coruption nd poverty in d country,chinua achebe is a man of his words,he did wat he feel dat is gud 4 him,nd its d best a gud nigerian'r ought to do.
Posted: at 16-11-2011 05:18 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Chizze at 16-11-2011 08:01 AM (12 years ago)
It seems Nigerians expected miracles immediately GEJ came into power. This issue about award is not about Achebe or GEJ; it is about the poor masses who are suffering from hardship created by bad governance. Did we expect Jonathan to turn things around within two years? Were Nigerian problems so simple we hoped Ebere Jonathan could fix them in a short space of time? Has the complexity caused by union of un-identical cultures lightened enough to herald a radical change? These social giants that now speak bad about Jonathan, have they established avenues/outlets to affect change in Nigerian leadership, and have they stayed the course? Is Jonathan the right person for the whole country to vent anger on? What is the name of Chinua Achebe's foundation - social impact on the people? Nigerian would have been better with people like Achebe in power; did he make any effort to lead the nation out of the doldrums and dungeon of self-centered political philosophy? Award is more than acknowledgement of contributions; award is a motivational and inspirational strategy to encourage people to emulate good did, an invitation to get involved in the process and raising of the bar for other aspirants. I still think it a missed opportunity for our elder statesman to make impact and to channel his social and political viewpoint regarding the present economic condition of the country - other than a literary giant, we give that to him any day. Consequential totalitarianism would have thanked him for accepting the award looking at a bigger picture.

Posted: at 16-11-2011 08:01 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- itiswell4gud at 16-11-2011 10:53 AM (12 years ago)
not withstanding he deserve to receive the honour.despite the matter on ground in the country.
Posted: at 16-11-2011 10:53 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7