Now Official: 14 Years In Jail For Gay and Lesbian Marriages IN Nigeria

Date: 29-11-2011 2:56 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 25
- at 29-11-2011 02:56 PM (12 years ago)
he Nigerian Senate today passed a Bill prohibiting same-sex marriage.

Termed Same-Sex Prohibition Bill, it stipulates a 14-year jail term for couples who get married and up to 10 years for those who help in the process.

Announcing the passage of the Bill, Senate president David mark said that marriage between same sexes is alien to the Nigerian tradition and against all religious morals.

Senators had last month vowed to pass the law since according to them, it is a taboo.

Speaking during the Public Hearing on the Bill on 31 October, Senate President David Mark rejected the proposal saying, “my faith as Christian abhors it. It is incomprehensible to contemplate on same sex marriage. I cannot understand it. I cannot be a party to it. There are enough men and women to marry each other. The whole idea is the importation of foreign culture but this one would be a freedom too many. We cannot allow our tradition and value system eroded.”

He had added also then that, “It is offensive. It is repugnant. I will preach against it and we must stand up to reject same sex marriages in Nigeria.”

However, a self-confessed lesbian, who gave her name as Dr. Obiowu and spoke on behalf of Nigerians in diaspora against anti-sex laws, had described the move to outlaw same sex marriage as a gross violation of their fundamental human right.

She said lesbians and others deserved to be allowed to live their lives since Nigeria is a secular state saying, “Fundamental human rights of segxwal minorities are violated because of criminalisation of same sex marriage”.

“If we are all same sex how do we produce human beings who have human rights?” asked Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba (PDP, Cross Rivers Central).

Posted: at 29-11-2011 02:56 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Chiluvsky at 29-11-2011 03:14 PM (12 years ago)
Good news
Posted: at 29-11-2011 03:14 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 29-11-2011 03:16 PM (12 years ago)
thnx God Cool

Posted: at 29-11-2011 03:16 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 29-11-2011 03:17 PM (12 years ago)
bad market 4 dem! Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 29-11-2011 03:17 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vigilante at 29-11-2011 04:53 PM (12 years ago)
This is wonderful news.
Posted: at 29-11-2011 04:53 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- embago at 29-11-2011 04:59 PM (12 years ago)
wonderful.. the only thin my Niger can fight for..hahahahhaha..
Posted: at 29-11-2011 04:59 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Youngstoriez at 29-11-2011 05:03 PM (12 years ago)
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin....This is REALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLY Gooooooooooooooood!!!!! Hahaha...Lets see the deranged idiot that will break the law!!! Cool Cool Cool...So cool mahn!!! Cool Cool
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:03 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daddison at 29-11-2011 05:05 PM (12 years ago)
Good but let them also legislate against poverty, unemployment, hunger, high level stealing, and bad governance. People are hungry and they are there treating frivolities.
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:05 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- helenojimadu at 29-11-2011 05:10 PM (12 years ago)
good news but with more seriousnessand those involved will be dealt with
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:10 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kebella at 29-11-2011 05:16 PM (12 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:16 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- muhammedalans at 29-11-2011 05:25 PM (12 years ago)
good to hear
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:25 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- onyeanwunaokonk at 29-11-2011 05:26 PM (12 years ago)
Good one.
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:26 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ify0 at 29-11-2011 05:27 PM (12 years ago)
this is not the issue we want our government to deal with,we have alot in our country nigeria to fight against and not  this they are saying here,bcos this one is not important for now.
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:27 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- vicann at 29-11-2011 05:29 PM (12 years ago)
YEA UN TRY WELL
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:29 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- luther4real at 29-11-2011 05:31 PM (12 years ago)
thumbs up men.....this is the best bill ever this year to be passed
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:31 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jiraiya at 29-11-2011 05:34 PM (12 years ago)
 Grin
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:34 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 29-11-2011 05:36 PM (12 years ago)
I applaud the senate for passing this law, it will be a lot better if they can pass another law to
eradicate armed robbery, Kidnapping, children and women exploitation.
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:36 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- richiestone at 29-11-2011 05:37 PM (12 years ago)
Good news no way for fag's and lesbian's they can go to hell. If you are fag or lesbian answer senator Victor Ndoma-egbe question "if we are all same sex how do we produce human beings who have human rights?". Gay and Lesbianism is not African thing let live it for the foreign culture, if gay and Lesbianism where to be African thing the westerner would have condemn it as they have condemn circumcision.
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:37 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ekems44 at 29-11-2011 05:40 PM (12 years ago)
@ ifyo well me no sabi waitin u carry for mind sha ! noooo tell me say u follow dem Oooooooo ...........................
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:40 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- prettybon at 29-11-2011 05:47 PM (12 years ago)
Carry on...
Posted: at 29-11-2011 05:47 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 25