Itsekiri, Ilaje and Ijaw youths today shut down operations at Chevron in Warri, Delta State over alleged failure of the company to provide employment for graduates in the communities.
The protesting youths claimed that the company has refused to sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the host communities which among others stipulate that youths of the communities are given employment.
They pointed out that contrary to popular belief that Niger Delta youths are adverse to formal education, they have acquired degrees with commendable grades and are only asking to be employed in their own land.
The youths carried placards, canopies and cooking pots to bear their grievances. The youths occupied the entrance to Chevron gate in Warri stating emphatically that they would remain there unless their demands were met.
The youths said despite writing Chevron exams yearly, graduates from other states are given employment over them. Efforts to get reaction from representatives of the company yielded no results.
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 7-12-2011 02:21 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
The thing no be joke ooo. The protest s stil on up till dis minute. Chevron no dey try in terms of employment of indigence. They employ outsiders and leave d host community behind which is wrong. They re suppose to carry everyone along to avoid things like this.
Posted: at 7-12-2011 03:05 PM (13 years ago) | Hero