Nigeria Needs N106 Billion To Settle ASUU - Education Minister

Date: 09-12-2011 1:58 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 9-12-2011 01:58 PM (12 years ago)
Minister of Education, Professor Ruquyyatu Rufai, has said that about N106billion is needed to meet the demands of the striking Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) which she said could not be sourced now.
The minister, who announced this while answering questions from newsmen in Minna, Niger State yesterday, said though there was an agreement between government and ASUU in 2009, both parties did not agree on where the fund would be sourced from.
She said: “The initial agreement was that the money to offset the allowances as demanded by ASUU was supposed to come from the Internally Generated Revenue, IGR, from all the universities across the country.
“But the IGR of all these universities put together is just about N25 billiion and we are looking for N106 billion.
’’Even if we do not touch the IGR from these universities, we cannot meet up; so we have to find a way of sourcing for this money,” the minister remarked.
The minister who was in Minna for the commissioning of the N56 million new Zonal office of the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, JAMB, said that as at now, government had implemented nine of the demands of the union.

Posted: at 9-12-2011 01:58 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- rayOFsunshine at 9-12-2011 02:05 PM (12 years ago)
This amount is nothing to some of you people na
just get about 3 or 4 of you guys and we don raise the money
I didnt say borrow us, I said give us back some dat you people 'colobied' from us
Posted: at 9-12-2011 02:05 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kayla1 at 9-12-2011 04:02 PM (12 years ago)
That is a small amount compare to the one  they'v been stealing frm us.
Posted: at 9-12-2011 04:02 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- vantheo at 9-12-2011 04:54 PM (12 years ago)
really?

Posted: at 9-12-2011 04:54 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- lanudja at 9-12-2011 05:23 PM (12 years ago)
They will indirectly generate frm student. Yeye.
Posted: at 9-12-2011 05:23 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- queenrukky at 9-12-2011 06:29 PM (12 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 9-12-2011 06:29 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sylax at 9-12-2011 08:48 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: rayOFsunshine on  9-12-2011 02:05 PM
This amount is nothing to some of you people na
just get about 3 or 4 of you guys and we don raise the money
I didnt say borrow us, I said give us back some dat you people 'colobied' from us

Seriously, you said it all, this bastards have all year round reservation in the most expensive hotel in the world Burj-al-Arab hotel in UAE. Of which one night cost tens of thousand USD. Vanity upon Vanity is Vanity. They won't even spend a month in it through out the year just sheer stupidity.
Posted: at 9-12-2011 08:48 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bobolic at 9-12-2011 09:17 PM (12 years ago)
I knew it was all about the money. University teachers are killing the system because of their greed and the belief that they are the best brains in the land.They advance several reasons for their incessant strikes, but as soon as money is released, they rush back to the classrooms.No word is mentioned about autonomy,26 per cent UNESCO recommendations,etc.They delay teaching for months but administer exams as soon as the strikes are called off. Other sectors of the Nigerian polity suffer less allocation than education and yet they manage.Not so for these semi gods.They want a professor to retire at 70.Not even Alex Ibru, one of our richest men made it to 70.If they have nothing new to go to strike about, let me say that we have heard them and seen their faces one more time,and return to their classrooms and help their students move on in life.
Posted: at 9-12-2011 09:17 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- smallboy10 at 9-12-2011 10:58 PM (12 years ago)
How much government is spending on legislator?
Posted: at 9-12-2011 10:58 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Chambestar at 9-12-2011 11:00 PM (12 years ago)
I knew it was all about the money. University teachers are killing the system because of their greed and the belief that they are the best brains in the land.They advance several reasons for their incessant strikes, but as soon as money is released, they rush back to the classrooms.No word is mentioned about autonomy,26 per cent UNESCO recommendations,etc.They delay teaching for months but administer exams as soon as the strikes are called off. Other sectors of the Nigerian polity suffer less allocation than education and yet they manage.Not so for these semi gods.They want a professor to retire at 70.Not even Alex Ibru, one of our richest men made it to 70.If they have nothing new to go to strike about, let me say that we have heard them and seen their faces one more time,and return to their classrooms and help their students move on in life.

Honestly, I am tempted to be abusive here. But let me reason a while with you. The lecturers are probably not the best brains in the country. You may be right on the count, the best brains are not here anymore, they have left for universities elsewhere in the world including Ghana and Botswana, where conditions of service are much better and the pay meaningful. Yes, ASUU won't go on strike for the other reasons you mentioned for the sufficient reason that your corrupt govt will never address such issues, afterall "Other sectors of the Nigerian polity suffer less allocation than education and yet they manage." Yes, lecturers should retire like businessmen or earlier than them, afterall, all Nigerians including you spent 12 to 20yrs in the university just to earn a PhD and be qualified to lecture. Am sure people like you, if you ever attended a high institution, are among those who never finish a coursework in due time, and create all kinds of troubles for teachers. Let your greedy and confused govt continue to toy with the future of Nigerians: Reach agreements with the lawyers, medical doctors, economists, political scientists and philosophers who make up the ilk of the lecturing profession and then renege. The govt will always get what is coming to them.
Posted: at 9-12-2011 11:00 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larrykingomoj at 10-12-2011 05:31 AM (12 years ago)
I can see where they are going
Posted: at 10-12-2011 05:31 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Swtezvikky at 10-12-2011 11:57 AM (12 years ago)
Am regretting eva being a nigerian student.asuu union shud b abolished
Posted: at 10-12-2011 11:57 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kasiemobi at 10-12-2011 05:35 PM (12 years ago)
Gov't should sack all this fools and replace with new brains that are looking for work. How can a human being that has life expectancy of 48 be demanding for 70 yrs retirement age? So, they want to work till death? They dont want to live a pension life?
Posted: at 10-12-2011 05:35 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- faco at 10-12-2011 11:05 PM (12 years ago)
National cake, i dey vess
Posted: at 10-12-2011 11:05 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 11-12-2011 08:34 AM (12 years ago)
nonsense, thy should fetch the money and paid them, if more than that amount could be gotten and taken out from the CBN just in two day, to rigged the a must win and do or die election,they deserve to be paid that amount too
Posted: at 11-12-2011 08:34 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 11-12-2011 08:35 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: vantheo on  9-12-2011 04:54 PM
really?

yes
Posted: at 11-12-2011 08:35 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- Hollandear at 11-12-2011 10:09 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Larrykingomoj on 10-12-2011 05:31 AM

How i wish i could see what you saw!

Posted: at 11-12-2011 10:09 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 11-12-2011 01:16 PM (12 years ago)
impossible
Posted: at 11-12-2011 01:16 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- Idbabe at 12-12-2011 12:08 PM (12 years ago)
Then let them release the money for them na.  Na chicken change if they really want to do it
Posted: at 12-12-2011 12:08 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- jiraiya at 12-12-2011 01:47 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Larrykingomoj on 10-12-2011 05:31 AM
abi na
Posted: at 12-12-2011 01:47 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming