14 years for love?

Date: 22-12-2011 7:18 am (12 years ago) | Author: Malvin Bishop Rock
- at 22-12-2011 07:18 AM (12 years ago)

Having attended an all-girls all boarding school, the girl-on-girl thing is all too familiar to me. In fact, I could say it was a norm as young entrants were ‘hooked’ up with eager seniors under the guile of being ‘school-mothers’. However, in my mind this culture meant anything but the actual intercourse that normally goes on between two people of the opposite sex. I didn’t even know that the terms ‘homosegxwal’ or ‘gay’ included the feminine gender until I raised the issue amongst a group of friends. The funny thing is that they also said that indeed, female homosegxwality is more tolerable than male homosegxwality. How appalling?

Whatever the case may be, I belong to that class of people who are convinced that homosegxwals, whether female or male are definitely not of normal orientation. Leave sanctimony aside, if nature meant for women and women or men and men to procreate , then I’m sure it would have also provided situations for both organs in both cases to be complementary. Gay couples interested in having children opt for adoption, artificial insemination or even surrogacy…the irony of it all. On the one hand, approbating the axioms of nature and on the other hand, reprobating them.

Secondly, even in the animal world, copulation is based on opposites and diversity. Almost all animals have a name used to describe the female and another used to describe the male. For dogs, it’s the dog and the bitch. For cows, it’s the bull and the cow. For geese, it’s the goose and the gander and for lions, it’s the lion and the lioness. The fact that some animals like the snake don’t have any names to differentiate both sexes doesn’t mean copulation for them is any different.

In addition to the aforementioned, as a Christian who attended enough Sunday school to know that God created Adam and Eve and all legitimate relationships and marriages in the bible refer to man and woman, I am sure without a doubt that homosegxwality is highly immoral and totally unacceptable. As a preacher, here in Lagos once said, “God did not create Adam and Steve; neither did he create Madam and Eve.” So even though, some preachers all over the world have defended homosegxwality by coining and tweaking scriptures to suit their actions, I still believe that if God did intend for men to leave the female species and become joined to other men, he certainly would not have made the penis and honeypot complementary in design. Hence, until I see two female dogs mating or a bull elephant on heat looking for another bull elephant to mate, homosegxwality remains unnatural.

Nevertheless, as much as I oppose homosegxwality, I am well aware that I am in no way more righteous or more deserving of freedom, in any capacity, than those of that orientation.  Besides who am I to judge anyone? After all, I tell the occasional lie, backbite and from time to time ignore people who offend me. Does that make me any better than a lesbian? I’m sure no, because even in the bible all sins-fornication, adultery, covetousness, malice, and lying-are all the same, none greater than the other. It is their choice and having fundamental human rights, they are free to express themselves as long as it does not threaten the life of another human being. If so, why then, should a ‘free’ citizen be sentenced to 14 years behind bars for love?

Early last month, a bill was placed before the Nigeria national assembly to ban same-sex relationships. Shortly after it passed the 1st reading the Senate President David Mark made a very interesting quote “Homosegxwality is offensive to our culture and tradition; it is incomprehensible to contemplate. I cannot understand it. My father as a Christian abhors it. We cannot allow our tradition and value system eroded. It is offensive. It is repugnant. I do not think any religion supports this…”  Two statements in this quote caught my attention. They are “Homosegxwality is offensive to our culture and tradition” and “We cannot allow our tradition and value system eroded.”

One of the most contentious issues in same-sex relationships and marriages in Nigeria and even Africa is whether it is totally alien to our culture. It will interest Mr Senate president to know that there is a strain of same gender marriage in Nigerian tradition, particularly in Igbo land. In Imo state in south-eastern Nigeria, traditionally marriage is done between a man and a woman; however, there are some cases where marriage between a woman and a woman is permissible. In a situation where a woman who has no son or child loses her husband, it is culturally allowed for her to marry a wife. She goes out, inquires and gets a wife of her choice but this is not before paying a dowry and fulfilling other traditional rights as done when a man is marrying a woman. After this, she becomes the husband and they start living together as husband and wife. To have children, the woman-husband and wife agree to allow a man from the same or neighbouring village/town to sleep with the wife. To top it all, the children born bear the name of the woman-husband. Asides this, evidence abounds that these types of “marriages” exist in several ethnic groups in southern Nigeria. Nevertheless, because of the secrecy, lack of expressiveness and hypocrisy that goes with segxwal expression, no one can really say whether these female partners actually have segxwal intercourse with each other.

Typical with us, we love to rank one sin above the other. We think telling lies, committing adultery, syphoning public funds to private accounts overseas and collecting bribe are better than being homosegxwal. Thousands of Nigerians die every week due to car accidents and diseases that would have been prevented if the same lawmakers hadn’t diverted funds meant to rehabilitate roads and hospitals to their bank accounts. Recently, another bill was passed to remove fuel subsidies by January 2012 and a long list was released to expose the companies who have been collecting fake subsidy payments. To the best of my knowledge, there was not one homosegxwal on that list. Each year the Economic and Financial Commission (EFCC) parades an alleged looter in court hearings that make the front pages of top newspapers, all in efforts of propaganda, and finally allows him or her to walk freely. Was it a homosegxwal who looted 10 billion naira and bought mansions for his family in elite estates all over the world? Or is it homosegxwals who filibustered the House of Representatives report on the probe of the power projects?  Why then, in a free and democratic society should we put a citizen behind bars for 14 years for segxwal expression?
Our problems in Nigeria are much deeper than our leaders are willing to address, an attitude all too familiar to us. The things that deserve urgent attention are of no significance to us; it is those things that add little or nothing to our progress that we concentrate and expend all energy on. In any case, the Nigerian government needs to accept that individuals are becoming more open, more assertive and expressive about their segxwal and marriage choices, desires and identities. segxwal and marriage paradigms are changing rapidly and Africans must make the necessary social, cultural and legal adjustments in response to accommodate these changes.

Posted: at 22-12-2011 07:18 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malvin2525 at 22-12-2011 07:21 AM (12 years ago)
  Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 22-12-2011 07:21 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neduz at 22-12-2011 09:22 AM (12 years ago)
Thats a good message, but it very wrong to say that our African or Nigeria culture and tradition is repugnant to natural justice, because culture and tradition is what any given society is known for. Therefore any society without culture and tradition are heading to doom... equally not all tradition and culture are good nor bad, and not all western or modern culture is equally good, so is now left for us to sieve out what is good or right. What is right is right and what is wrong is wrong. Thank you.
Posted: at 22-12-2011 09:22 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Neduz at 22-12-2011 09:25 AM (12 years ago)
Thats a good message, but it very wrong to say that our African or Nigeria culture and tradition is repugnant to natural justice, because culture and tradition is what any given society is known for. Therefore any society without culture and tradition are heading to doom... equally not all tradition and culture are good nor bad, and not all western or modern culture is equally good, so is now left for us to sieve out what is good or right. What is right is right and what is wrong is wrong. Thank you.
Posted: at 22-12-2011 09:25 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- youngrashy at 22-12-2011 09:40 AM (12 years ago)
wetin happen,too long
Posted: at 22-12-2011 09:40 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyiis at 22-12-2011 09:54 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Neduz on 22-12-2011 09:22 AM

thank you very much my brother !!  Kiss Kiss Kiss

Posted: at 22-12-2011 09:54 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- 123Sonia at 22-12-2011 10:20 AM (12 years ago)
wetin come happen for de 14yrs of rove. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin longtin
Posted: at 22-12-2011 10:20 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fatihu at 22-12-2011 10:24 AM (12 years ago)
Dont you people think these kinds  of insincere activities ( homsegxwality, rape etc ) are the causes of our suffering ? The more we displease God the more we suffer. I advise we all seek Gods' forgiveness.
  Personally, i dont see any sense in this long story .  Any one who respects his faith, tradition and values will surely support the senate in their response to that issue
Posted: at 22-12-2011 10:24 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- onyiis at 22-12-2011 10:28 AM (12 years ago)
Some believe all western cultures are perfect ................so they can do anything to be like them

Posted: at 22-12-2011 10:28 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- amara95 at 22-12-2011 04:39 PM (12 years ago)
na true talk
Posted: at 22-12-2011 04:39 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kebella at 22-12-2011 05:14 PM (12 years ago)
i need help pls.........someone can summerize Cool

Posted: at 22-12-2011 05:14 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ajento at 22-12-2011 05:22 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: kebella on 22-12-2011 05:14 PM
i need help pls.........someone can summerize Cool

I beg tell me if una summerize this 14yrs of reading.
Posted: at 22-12-2011 05:22 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 22-12-2011 05:29 PM (12 years ago)
i wish to get an urgent respond Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 22-12-2011 05:29 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Emmandazie at 22-12-2011 05:36 PM (12 years ago)
Poster, ya teacher no teach you essay summary 4 school?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh??
Posted: at 22-12-2011 05:36 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyiis at 26-12-2011 10:05 AM (12 years ago)
lolz ...............@ Emma and urs no teach you "reading comprehesion"  Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 26-12-2011 10:05 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Emmandazie at 26-12-2011 01:07 PM (12 years ago)
Lolzzzz Onyiis, ma teacher teach me many comprehensions; eating compr; laughing compr; bashhhhhing compre; reading hmmmba no!
Posted: at 26-12-2011 01:07 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyiis at 26-12-2011 04:30 PM (12 years ago)

Posted: at 26-12-2011 04:30 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- giftmurphy at 27-12-2011 02:42 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Ajento on 22-12-2011 05:22 PM
I beg tell me if una summerize this 14yrs of reading.
Grin Grin
Posted: at 27-12-2011 02:42 PM (12 years ago) | Hero

1. Lady Raises Alarm Over State of Actor, Nonso Diobi After Spotting Him in Her Area (Video)

2. Wetin She Wear - Movie Producer, Stanley Nwoko Mocks Destiny Etiko Over Her AMVCA Outfit

3. This Nigerian Woman’s Unusual Makeup Stirs Mix Reactions on The Streets

4. This is The Only B!tch I Know - Singer Shallipopi Shares Photo of His Main Babe

5. Mother Of 5 Convicted For Forging Late Abba Kyari’s Signature

6. Fubara Did Not Vote For Tinubu – APC Opens More Can Of Worms As Rivers Crisis Deepens

7. Ex-Rivers Commissioner Blasts Fubara Says He Would’ve Been L-14 Civil Servant If Not For Wike

8. Rivers Youths Petitions President Tinubu To Call Wike To Order Now

1. POLITICAL TURMOIL UNVEILED! 'Wike Was Instrumental To Peter Obi's Exit From PDP' - Paul Ibe

2. Reactions as Naira Marley and Sam Larry Were Spotted Vibing to Portable's Diss Track About Them

3. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

4. Niger Speaker, Sarkindaji Initiates Mass Marriage For Orphaned Girls Affected By Banditry

5. 'We Kidnap, Extort & Rap3 Male Victims' - Gang Of Homosegxwal Criminals Arrested In Lekki

6. Man Shoots Stepmom Who Tried To Give Him Hug During Graduation Ceremony

7. Muslim Man Criticised After Sharing Photos Of Him & His Christian Wife Praying In Different Way

8. "Ikpeazu Transferred N10bn Airport Funds Into 32 Different Accounts" — Abia Gov. Alex Otti

9. Naira Returns As World Worst-performing Currency Over The Last Months

10. Five Truths Why Most Women Don't Enjoy Wearing Bras And Panties