24 Hours Curfew In Kaduna State Following Violent Protest

Date: 11-01-2012 1:35 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 11-01-2012 01:35 PM (12 years ago)
The Kaduna state government has imposed a twenty four hour curfew following violence on the second day of the protest against the removal of subsidy on petroleum by the government.

In a statement sent via short message service (SMS) by the spokesman to governor Patrick Yakowa at 7:20 yesterday, Tuesday January 2012, evening, the curfew takes effect from 9 o’clock same day.

The protests in the state had earlier in the day degenerated into violence with the shooting of a protester by a policeman.

The statement by the state government says the curfew became necessary following the destruction of public property and harassment of innocent resident s of the state

The SMS statement reads: “we have realised that the strike over the removal of subsidy has been hijacked by persons other than those committed to the cause.

“The demonstration which began yesterday peacefully, today turned violent. People were harassed, intimidated and installations vandalized.

“in view of this unfortunate situation, the Kaduna state security council has no choice than to impose a 24-hour curfew on the Kaduna metropolis and its environs with effect from 9.00pm today (tuesday), 10th january, 2012.01.10. “

In a related development, other states across the country have imposed curfews to varying degrees in a bid to contain mass protests being organised by the Nigeria labour Congress, the Trade Union Congress and their affiliate unions against the recent withdrawal of subsidy on petroleum.

Three states including Kano,Oyo, Zamfara have imposed curfews in a bid to stop protesters from marching on the streets. Kano will observe the curfew from 6pm to 8am while Oyo and Zamfara will do so from 7pm to 7am.

Posted: at 11-01-2012 01:35 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- malvin2525 at 11-01-2012 02:04 PM (12 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 11-01-2012 02:04 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bazemaster at 11-01-2012 02:50 PM (12 years ago)
Na only curfew this idiots sabi. All from the foolish GEJ administration

Posted: at 11-01-2012 02:50 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DHash at 11-01-2012 03:03 PM (12 years ago)
Good for them!!
Posted: at 11-01-2012 03:03 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DELAT at 11-01-2012 03:09 PM (12 years ago)
Nigerians can not demostrate peacefully,they always
damage lot of properties and life,so stay home.
Posted: at 11-01-2012 03:09 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- janell96 at 11-01-2012 03:18 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: DELAT on 11-01-2012 03:09 PM
Nigerians can not demostrate peacefully,they always
damage lot of properties and life,so stay home.
.Yes o,we dnt want protest nd strike,pple re dying bcos of dis whole tin,tank God eastern part is peaceful.
Posted: at 11-01-2012 03:18 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- mimibaby_5 at 11-01-2012 03:20 PM (12 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? its a pity
Posted: at 11-01-2012 03:20 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Simon-Zeletus at 11-01-2012 03:25 PM (12 years ago)
impose curfew we not end the problem
Posted: at 11-01-2012 03:25 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toibeli at 11-01-2012 05:31 PM (12 years ago)
Mr. President, let the people's wish be done. Avoid these blood shed, and repeal your decision on the subsidy.
Posted: at 11-01-2012 05:31 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- embago at 11-01-2012 05:49 PM (12 years ago)
Shame on him..so he has Security but boko haras kills innocent soul..Satan will punish all of you, there on seat...idiots...
Posted: at 11-01-2012 05:49 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- PrinceDarby1 at 11-01-2012 06:26 PM (12 years ago)
We are not protesting against subsidy removal. We are protesting against Corruption. The issue of subsidy sparked off the protest.....who knows where it will end up....maybe a revolution...Nigerian spring. Good  economic policies is only relevant where the system permits it. Here in Nigeria, Corruption is the bedrock. Every policy  is built on corruption. Creating loop holes for Cabals. The government created those loop holes so they should close them without suffering the already poverty stricken masses.GEJ is not sincere. Governor Rochas used his security votes to finance free Education in Imo state. What has GEJ done to convince us that is is different from others? Which looted fund has he recovered. Imagine paying the family of Boko Haram leader 100 million. How much did he pay to families of victims of boko haram?Do you mean without the removal of subsidy there will not be any meaningful development? THE QUESTION IS .WHY SHOULD WE EXPORT CRUDE OIL TO IMPORT REFINED PRODUCTS. Economic  policy indeed!!! If we do not import fuel who will talk of subsidy? why are our refineries not working? Must we import fuel and why? CORRUPTION.
This govt finished $33BILLION in our foreign reserves in less than 2 years without anything to show for it and they are asking us to give them N1.4TR Through paying more for fuel. How much is N1.4TR in Dollars? Just a lil above $8BILLION. Now, how does a govt that finished $33BILLION on nothing wants us to believe that they will build all the infrastructures that we have ever needed and provide all the jobs all our youths need with just $8BILLION. How many of the thieves that stole the $33BILLION has been arrested? Mr Tony Anenih who got N300BILLION to fix our roads and refused to do so is still Mr President's friend. Alameighsia (difficult spelling) a convicted criminal wines and dines with the presidency always. What changes have they made in the way things are done to show us that this money will be used better this time around? And what economic sense will tell me that 8billion will do what 33BILLION could not do? We say no 2 fuel subsidy removal and bad govt. Solidarity 4eva,strike continues. Pls pass it on
Posted: at 11-01-2012 06:26 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Ampo9ja at 11-01-2012 06:54 PM (12 years ago)
na wa oh
Posted: at 11-01-2012 06:54 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- interpo77 at 11-01-2012 06:54 PM (12 years ago)
THATS GUUD FOR THOSE HUASA THAT PROVED INUTIL AND RECKLESS FOR A VERY LONG TIME NOW, THEY DESERVED MORE THAN CURFEW
Posted: at 11-01-2012 06:54 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bobstan4luv at 11-01-2012 07:00 PM (12 years ago)
Y only in kaduna state?
Posted: at 11-01-2012 07:00 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Lekan22 at 11-01-2012 07:15 PM (12 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 11-01-2012 07:15 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 11-01-2012 08:02 PM (12 years ago)
More of that in all states....

Posted: at 11-01-2012 08:02 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- verah at 11-01-2012 08:24 PM (12 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 11-01-2012 08:24 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bachelorette at 11-01-2012 08:31 PM (12 years ago)
e long sef... nor be Kaduna wen I know? the hub of religious crises!

Posted: at 11-01-2012 08:31 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- basfitz2018 at 11-01-2012 08:58 PM (12 years ago)
My man Princedarbi1 you have spoken welland if i may add to what you just wrote. We are not demonstrating because of the fuel subsidy that was removed rather that all politicians should have a rethink, step down and let Nigerians have peace, Those senators are only decievers, they all have poted bellies because they are all cultists, they have swallowed what will kill them, every politician in Nigeria from local level to the president are all cultists, now tell me how a group of evil men will run this our dear country nigeria? the FG slashed salaries with just 25%, as for me, that 25% is what should be paid to them because they does nothing other than going to share our money, and i don't see any reason why a Nigerian senator's salary 4 one year should be an American's senator salary for 7years, what is their level of intelligence? what have they contributed to our economy other than pains? if Nigerians are aware of the lotting of these senators and politicians in general i bet you the national house of assembly will be set ablaze with the senators, house of rep, governors, local govt chairmen and the president himself. without touching or removing the fuel subsidy, we can get what ever money we want from the excess spending of these educated illiterates who calls themselves politicians. THEY ARE EVIL OCULTIC MEN RULING THIS COUNTRY NIGERIA. NIGERIANS SHOULD BE READY TO DIE ONCE AND FOR ALL FOR OUR COUNTRY IF ALL THESE CABALS MUST GO. BABANGIDA TRANSFORMED ABUJA, BUILT 3RD MARYLAND BRIDGE WHICH EVERYBODY CAN SEE TODAY, OBASANJO RULED 8YRS, NOTHING TANGIBLE WAS SEEN OR DONE, YARADUAH THE SAME NOW ITS JONATHAN, THEY SHOULD TELL US WHAT OUR SINS ARE SO THAT WE CAN PRAY FOR FORGIVENESS BUT IF ITS A DELIBERATE ACT TO PUNISH NIGERIANS PLEASE GOD ARISE FOR OUR SAKE AND FLUSH OUT THESE BASTARDS FROM B4 OUR EYES.
Posted: at 11-01-2012 08:58 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- mkpume22 at 11-01-2012 09:14 PM (12 years ago)
HMMN
Posted: at 11-01-2012 09:14 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac