Muhammad Ali, the Champ turns 70 years today

Date: 17-01-2012 7:46 pm (12 years ago) | Author: EMMANUEL FASHAKIN
- at 17-01-2012 07:46 PM (12 years ago)
The people's champion, Muhammad Ali, turns 70 years old today. Apart from Nelson Mandela, whose own odyssey and triumph of good over evil is well known all over the world, no other living human being has provided so much inspiration like the "Champ", Muhammed Ali.

Born Cassius Clay in Louisville, Kentucky, nobody in the Boxing world thought Cassius Clay will win glories in professional boxing. Even though he won the Gold Medal in the Light Heavyweight category at the 1960 Olympics, the experts gave him little chance to succeed against the likes of Floyd Patterson and Sonny Liston. The pundits said that he was too light, that he had no sting in his punches, that he hangs his gloves too low, inviting socks to the jaw, and that he leaned from punches, instead of ducking down, as great boxers do. But young Cassius overcame all these misgivings to become the very best in the business.

Fighting for the championship against Sonny Liston aged only 21 years, the boxing pundits gave Cassius no chance whatsoever. But boxing history was re-written when the Big bear was knocked out. Cassius confirmed the feat months later in the re-match, with the "phantom" punch that was so fast that many people did not see it, and the TV replay technology available at the time could not show it clearly. Cassius changed his name to Muhammad Ali. "The greatest" has been born. With Mr Bundini Brown of blessed memory, the jive was:

Float like a butterfly; fly like a bee;

Your hands cannot hit what your eyes can't see!

And float like a butterfly he did. He defeated all humans the boxing world put in front of him: Henry Cooper (twice), Flood Patterson, Archie Moore and all the renowned at the time. Then the US Government step in. Muhammad was drafted to go and fight in Vietnam. "The Viet Congs have done me no wrong", he explained; why should he go into their villages to kill them. According to Muhammad, it is really America doing him wrong, with discrimination and racial prejudice. Muhammad was stripped of the boxing title, had his International passport and boxing licences revoked, and faced jail time. By the time the US Supreme Court overturned his conviction almost three years later, the Champ was past his prime, and there was a new sheriff in town, Joe Frazier.

The confrontation with Smokin' Joe was inevitable; there were to be three of them, all epics. The first took place at our Madison Square Garden in the summer of 1971. The Fight of the Century lived up to its billing, with Frazier knocking down Ali with the famous left hook in the 15th round en route to the decision. Unfortunately for Ali, Frazier got demolished by George Foreman in Kingston, Jamaica in one round before any rematch with Ali. If Ali wanted the title back, he would have to go through George. "Whatever George hits falls", so how can Ali survive against Foreman?

The Ali/Foreman battle took place in Zaire in 1974, hosted by President Mobutu. Beamed to most countries of the world live, I watched Ali demolished Forearm in 8 rounds after laying on the ropes for seven rounds and absorbing all what George had to offer. The fight is over; the Champ is back. Ali became only the second person in history to reclaim the World Heavyweight Title (Floyd Patterson was first). All was to reclaim it later for the 3rd time after being upset by Leon Spinks, the first time to win the biggest person title in sports three times.

Muhammad would be remembered for his three fights against his arch-enemy, Joe Frazier. The third fight, the "Thrilla in Manilla", left both men half dead on their feet. Defense was thrown to the winds: they hit each other with everything they had, everywhere they could. It was that personal. Muhammad remarked later that this was the only occasion when he almost died in the boxing ring; but he refused to quit. Joe Frazier's trainer, Mr. Eddie Futch, pulled out Frazier in the 14th round. Eddie remarked later that he did it for his love of Joe and his children: he did not want Joe to be hurt for life.

About twenty-five years ago, the cumulative blows to the head of low-glove carrying Muhammad seemer to have caught up with him: he was diagnosed with "Punch-Drunk" syndrome, Parkinsonism as a result of repetitive head trauma. After being told of the diagnosis, the Champ declared "I will last the distance with this thing; I will whip it"! And he has. Twenty five years later, the Champ is still here, even though he was expected to live less than ten years. I could not help but remember that Joe Frazier died within two months of his diagnosis with cancer late in 2011. Although Parkinson's disease is not cancer, it is deadly, and I could not help thinking that the Champ has beaten Joe again. It is good that Joe forgave Ali for all the disparaging remarks about him only three years before his death.

"I refuse to lose", the Champ used to bellow. After lasting the distance with Parkinson's, I cannot argue with him.

Happy Birthday to the "Champ". Still the "Greatest"!

Emmanuel O. Fashakin, M.D., Esq.

Posted: at 17-01-2012 07:46 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- mdfash at 18-01-2012 12:53 PM (12 years ago)
 I saw Muhammad Ali as a small boy with my Dad when he came to Onikan Stadium in Lagos after his first Frazier fight. He did some exhibition fights in Nigeria before returning to the United States. He stood head and shoulders above everybody, and you could not miss him in the surging crowd. He was graceful to watch. His foot speed in the ring was amazing. I said "whao, how could someone move so fast and not trip over"? A Daily Times photographer took Ali's picture as he sat in the corner in between rounds, and published it with the caption "Ali, Beautiful Ali."

Muhammad Ali's life has always been a source of inspiration to me in my own life. His "I refuse to lose" slogan is deeply entrenched in my being, and has served me well in critical situations in my life.
Whatever the situation may be in life, I have learnt to "hang in there" and remain positive, and keep probing for whatever ways to make a good difference to other people's lives, to keep fighting, to avoid self-pity, to keep the head above the water, and not give in to despondency. And sure enough, after all the "wahala", the Lord always shines the light through the hordes of darkness, and good days always dawn again.

Muhammad Ali's life also reminds us that the masses, the majority in the population, are not always right. He opposed and spoke out against the Vietnam War, when it was extremely unfashionable -- and "unpatriotic" to do so. History has proven Ali right. The Vietnam War is now regarded with disgust by most people in the world, including most Americans. Ali followed his conscience rather than the herd. He suffered a lot for his convictions and was vilified. He could not practice his profession, jail time was imminent, but he never batted an eyelid. He stuck to his guns, and at the end he was vindicated. The world needs more people like Ali.

In the film "Champions Forever", George Foreman, who had every cause to be bitter against Ali, who had truncated his reign so soon after he became World Champion, said of Ali "Muhammad has been an inspiration to many people. Painters, Actors,.....Cooks came to Ali and they became better in their professions. He inspired everybody."

Enough said.

Emmanuel O. Fashakin

Posted: at 18-01-2012 12:53 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie