DISCRIMINATION? Nigeria needs tall players to succeed in volleyball

Date: 20-03-2012 10:19 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Akeem Jaffe Jaffa
- at 20-03-2012 10:19 PM (12 years ago)

Nigeria needs tall and skillful Volleyball players to compete favorably on the global stage, according to Mr. Musa Nimron.

The Nigeria Volleyball Federation (NVF)’s Board member said this while speaking with Daily Trust at the Abuja National Stadium.

“We are looking forward to have players that have height. We need players with nothing less than 1.7 to 1.8 meters for males. For the females, we are

looking at 1.6 to 1.7 meters”, he pointed out.

Mr. Nimron who recalled that the Arab countries had height advantage during the last All Africa Games, noted that “Today, either it’s the indoor or

beach volleyball, height is important. That is why we are emphasizing that we need players with higher heights.”

Grassroots talent hunt

He said the Federation has turned its attention to grassroots talents hunt to address the problem facing the national teams.

“We are going down to the rural communities now to get players.”

He continued, “Our indoor players are getting aged now and we need new ones that will take over from them.”

Mr. Nimron added that “if we can go to the secondary schools to get players and bring them up, I tell you, we will go back to the 70s and 80s. We lost all these in the early 2000.”

“We want players with the skills and the height. Either it’s volleyball or handball, we need height. Height is important.”

http://www.dailytrust.com.ng/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=157523%3Anigeria-needs-tall-players-to-succeed-nvf-board-member&catid=5%3Asports&Itemid=5

Posted: at 20-03-2012 10:19 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 21-03-2012 05:55 AM (12 years ago)
In nigeria whr we have so many tall guys naim u dey luk for tall guys. Luk no further, cum to national stadium lagos, u'll nt only see tall guys but long ones. U kn my country wit man kns man dats why u are luking for tall guys in d mist of giants.
Posted: at 21-03-2012 05:55 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- FBI_CIA at 1-04-2012 05:34 PM (12 years ago)
Just stop by to say Hi

Posted: at 1-04-2012 05:34 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming