Assassins on the prowl in Enugu

Date: 09-04-2012 4:47 am (12 years ago) | Author: Paddy Hayes
- at 9-04-2012 04:47 AM (12 years ago)
…How yam seller was murdered, as wife petitions acting IGP

RELATIONS and wife of a 38 year-old businessman, Mr. Athanasuis Emeka Nsude, gruesomely murdered in Enugu last Wednesday, have cried out to the acting Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Abubakar, to come to their rescue and assist the family in exposing those behind the dastardly act.

They also called on the Enugu State Police Commissioner and Divisional Police Officer, DPO, Awkunanaw Police Division, to do all they can to track down the perpetrators and bring them to justice.

Crime Alert gathered that Mr. Nsude, a prominent yam dealer at Garriki Market, Awkunanaw, Enugu and father of four was shot and stabbed to death by unknown armed gang who later dumped him and his car near Umuonu Flyover bridge, Amechi, along Enugu/Port Harcourt expressway with his intestine ripped open.

Undisclosed appointment
According to a reliable source, the yam dealer who used to import lorry loads of yams from Taraba State to Enugu for sale, on the fateful day, drove home his wife and children from the market at about 6:30pm in his car and turned back to keep an undisclosed appointment within the Garriki area. But he did not return the following morning while he was later found by Policemen on patrol lying dead beside his car, near the said flyover bridge.

Our source furthered revealed that the suspected assassins might have trailed the businessman on his way home around 8:30pm and murdered him. The amount of money taken from the deceased by the bandits is yet to be disclosed. It was also gathered that the cream-coloured Toyota Camry in which he was driving home was thoroughly ransacked and his mobile phone taken away.

According to the deceased’s wife, Mrs. Ifeoma Nsude, “My husband brought me and my children home from the market at about 6:30pm that Wednesday evening and said he was coming back. When he did not return till around 8:30 to 9pm, I started calling his mobile phone but it was not going. I continued to try his line without success until the following day when the tragic news of his death was broken by policemen from Awkunanaw Police Station.

“I don’t know what offence my husband has committed to deserve such wicked treatment. I plead with the acting Inspector-General of Police, Commissioner of Police, Enugu State and the DPO, Awkunanaw Police Division, to assist the family to unmask the killers of my husband and expose their motive”.

Meanwhile, the entire Umuonu Community where the slain businessman lived as well as the yam section of Garriki Market have been thrown into confusion and deep mourning since the incident occurred.

Residents of the area, including the deceased’s business customers, co-parishioners and youths have condemned the killing, describing it as “wicked and callous”.

The Parish priest in-charge of Holy Trinity Catholic Church, Umuonu Amechi, where the deceased worshiped, Rev. Fr. Linus Okwu who was devastated by the brutal murder said, all those involved must not go unpunished.

One of the deceased’s relations and senior journalist, Mr. Emeka Ugwoke, described the slain businessman as ‘a generous and kind man who enjoyed rendering assistance to the needy.’ He, therefore, joined the call on the police authorities to go after the murderers.

The Enugu State Police Public Relations Officer, Mr. Ebere Amaraizu said when contacted, that the report was yet to reach his office. However, police sources at Awkunanaw Division said detectives that conveyed the remains of the deceased to UNTH, have already obtained useful statements from some of the suspects arrested so far.

via Vanguard

Posted: at 9-04-2012 04:47 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mallorca at 9-04-2012 05:54 PM (12 years ago)
 Cry Cry Cry Cry

Posted: at 9-04-2012 05:54 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 9-08-2012 06:05 PM (11 years ago)
what a wicked world we are living Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry RIP
Posted: at 9-08-2012 06:05 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cadanre at 9-08-2012 06:09 PM (11 years ago)
Aha! Igbos at it again. BLOODY CRIMINALS. That is how they everyday kill one another till they finish themselves.

Posted: at 9-08-2012 06:09 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- mallorca at 9-08-2012 11:42 PM (11 years ago)
passing

Posted: at 9-08-2012 11:42 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dlimelite at 10-08-2012 12:02 AM (11 years ago)
 Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry why would someone commit such a brutal act
Posted: at 10-08-2012 12:02 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 10-08-2012 12:08 AM (11 years ago)
May his soul rest in peace. I send my condolences to the family. May God give them strength
Posted: at 10-08-2012 12:08 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- BendelArmedRobb at 10-08-2012 11:25 AM (11 years ago)
ALTHOUGHT WE HAD NO MONEY ..I AM RICH AS I COULD BE IN MY COAT OF MANY COLORS MY MAMA MADE FOR ME ,AND WHAT YOU HAVE IS BETTER THAN WHAT YOU HAVEN'TGOT.EVERY BODY IS BEAUTIFUL IN THE EYE OF THE ALMIGHT JAH ,IN THE BEGINNING GOD CREATED HEAVEN AND EARTH .AND HE GIVE US POWER TO BE LOVE ONE AND OTHERS...GENESIS CHAPTER 1,PARISE GOD FOR CREATION AND WE SHALL FIND PEACE ,,ALL I WANT TO FEEL IS COMFORTABLE AND REAL YES AND A LOVE FROM ABOVE ETERNALLY FOR US,,,BEAUTY ,SILVER,GOLD ,MATERIALS THINGS SHALL RISE AND FALL,EVEN THE WORLD WILL PASS AWAY BUT RIGHTEOUSNESS SHALL LIVE FROEVER ,,,DON'T LET THEM FOOL YOU,,THERE IS NOTHING BETTER THAN LOVE AND RESPECT .... Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 10-08-2012 11:25 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 10-08-2012 11:41 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: dlimelite on 10-08-2012 12:02 AM
Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry why would someone commit such a brutal act

Because he is igbo.

Posted: at 10-08-2012 11:41 AM (11 years ago) | Hero