GOOD NEWS MY FELLOW NIGERIANS: We now ranked 3rd as the fastest growing economy by The new World Bank/International Finance Corporation. Below are the details:
A high ranking on the ease of doing business index means the regulatory environment is more conducive to the starting and operation of a local firm. This index averages the country’s percentile rankings on 10 topics, made up of a variety of indicators, giving equal weight to each topic. The rankings for all economies are bench marked to June 2011.
On ease of starting a business, Nigeria was ranked 116th
obtaining a construction permit, 84th
getting electricity for a local firm was ranked 176th
registering property, 180th
getting credit, 78th
protecting investors, 65th
paying taxes, 138th
trading across borders, 149th
enforcing contracts, 97th
and resolving insolvency, 99th
On the 11th of this month, The Federal Government revealed that Nigeria is now classified as a lower middle-income country with total Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of N10 trillion. The classification which the Govt. admitted has not practically translated into improved standards of living for the citizens was a result of the movement of the nation's income per capita from $1,200 to $1,400.
Minister of state for Finance Dr Yerima Lawal Ngama, told journalists at the end of the federal executive council (FEC) meeting on Wednesday that Nigeria is now the 3rd fastest growing economy in the world with last year's growth rate of 7.68%. We are behind Mongolia - 14.9% & China - 8.4%.
I knw boys are not smiling but if u look at the rate prices of things & fares are sky-rocketing, you will wonder how we've been able to afford all these and still party every week especially the rate of marriage ceremonies every weekend.
if we can afford all those hike in prices of browsing, buying substandard products, petrol, diesel and the cost of maintaining our wives or girl friends , chai! we dey try oo.. I blive we are growing economically in ths country. who wud av thought we could afford transport fares or petrol at the rate it is ths days? but look at us, we are indeed rich (middle class)... No matter what, things will get better. God loves this country even if BH dey bomb us, they will end up bombing themselves till all BH souls are eradicated!
Posted: at 13-04-2012 11:28 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
Bettygirls at 13-04-2012 11:42 AM (13 years ago) (f)
Posted: at 13-04-2012 11:42 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
seriously girl, we are nt number one most corrupted nation. wht other country does ar even more gravious than ours but they do enuf to cover their asses to the world. u look at Russia & Italy for example...these countries were ran by Mafias & Murderers. Also take a look at Greece on hw they rsn down tht countries economy by deceiving their pple.
all these lil inapropriate things abt 9ja politicians will soon be eradicated in our life time, just watch & see.
Posted: at 13-04-2012 11:56 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
GreenBee at 14-04-2012 01:07 AM (13 years ago) (m)
"We now ranked 3rd as the fastest growing economy by The new World Bank/International Finance Corporation" Well am still finding it a bit hard to believe this piece of info. abt the 'abrupt' growth of our economy. I think you need a thorough review of this economic analysis going by the fact that Nigerian is still a "developing economy" globally. I rest my case
Posted: at 14-04-2012 01:07 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming