Wow! Igbos Voted Based On Their Stomach - Wole Soyinka

Date: 05-05-2015 8:00 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 5-05-2015 08:00 PM (8 years ago)
Reportedly, Nobel Laureate and foremost social critic, Wole Soyinka, is of the opinion that Igbos are the only Nigerians who can be predicted accurately.

According to the Cableng, while delivering a lecture titled ‘Predicting Nigeria, Electoral Ironies’ at the Harvard University Hutchins Centre for African & African American Research, in Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA, on the 29th of April,the revered scholar described Igbos as “greedy”. He said:

“Igbos remained unrepentant and resolute towards their strategic objective of secession at worst; or a Nigerian president of Igbo extraction at best.

The climax of MASSOB’s war against the Nigerian state was the call for sit-ins and civil
    disobedience that shut down markets and public services, as Igbos stayed at home in a symbolic gesture to assert Biafran independence. The call was honoured by governors in the two principal Ibo states, though without fanfare.

The Igbos are probably the only group of Nigerians that you can predict with great accuracy whom they will vote for in an election, because they tend to put their votes where their stomachs take them; suffering as it were, from incurable money-mindedness, as they would stop at nothing in their quest for personal financial gain.”

Commenting on the result of Nigeria’s presidential election, Soyinka said the re-election of President Goodluck Jonathan would have been “disastrous”, as Muhammadu Buhari, Nigeria’s president-elect, is better option.

“Muhammadu Buhari was the better of the two evils as the incumbent president Goodluck Jonathan had been an unmitigated disaster and failure. It was a painful decision to tell people to vote Buhari, but the country needed a new beginning. I was more against Jonathan, than I was pro-Buhari.

Nothing is more unworthy of leadership than to degrade a system by which one attains fulfillment, and this is what the nation witnessed time and time again under Jonathan, who was increasingly becoming intolerant of opposition in an escalating streak of impunity and authoritarian madness, which was most blatant and unconscionable.

The ‘militricians’ – soldiers turned politicians in power – aren’t looking for excellence; their civilian cohorts are worse. Short cuts and how to circumvent the system for the profit of a few are the norm of governance. Those who do honest work are derided as lacking the skill to fit it. Ironically, things haven’t quite changed a bit after 16 years of democracy in the country.”

Posted: at 5-05-2015 08:00 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 5-05-2015 08:28 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 5-05-2015 08:28 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mikelu at 5-05-2015 08:57 PM (8 years ago)
Typical of his kind, no matter how educated, end up reasoning very poorly. This man went so far to show his ignorance and hate for an industrious tribe that is the backbone of this nation.
Posted: at 5-05-2015 08:57 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- manope at 5-05-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago)
truth is bitter. Any Nigerian that voted in support of the present government has shown no consciousness to the high  level of impunity callousness vindictive and poor leadership of that government. 
Posted: at 5-05-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Activated at 5-05-2015 09:57 PM (8 years ago)
YEA EXACTLY, TYPICAL OF YOUR KIND, THAT TENDS TO FORGET ABOUT THE HISTORY OF THIS COUNTRY BUT JUST TALK FROM THEIR PACIFIED STATE -------OWAMBE LIFESTYLE.

WELL EXPECTED MORE FROM YOU BUT SEEMS LIKE THAT SAME TRIBALISM BUG THAT HAD OVERTAKEN YOUR FOLKS HAVE EQUALLY BLINDED YOUR EYES-------SHAME ON YOU
Posted: at 5-05-2015 09:57 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Francolysis at 5-05-2015 10:10 PM (8 years ago)
I used to respect this man but he is a big fool, time will tell if we voted right or not.
Posted: at 5-05-2015 10:10 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Eziest777 at 5-05-2015 10:17 PM (8 years ago)
Honestly, Truth is very very bitter.
Posted: at 5-05-2015 10:17 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- fallah at 5-05-2015 10:28 PM (8 years ago)
Yes, I can see a very reason in your speech. However, Yoruba are very sophisticated sensitivities to give the right justice at  the time of their pleased mood. Compare to some ethnic group, who are always train move in using their senses like a group of sheep. We are running dual economy in a country where constitution is existing, while some are praising for such injustice to be continue.
Posted: at 5-05-2015 10:28 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- freethinker at 5-05-2015 10:40 PM (8 years ago)
ELDER STATE FOOL
SOYINKA IS A BIG FOOL
NO MATTER HOW EDUCATED A YORUBA CAN BE, HE WILL STILL BEHAVE LIKE A FOOL
Posted: at 5-05-2015 10:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dankan at 5-05-2015 10:46 PM (8 years ago)
PC,  Huh?
Posted: at 5-05-2015 10:46 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ololababs at 5-05-2015 10:49 PM (8 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin  Grin Grin Grin Grin;D Grin Grin Grin Cheesy Grin Grin Grin Grin
U can say that again Wole! I respect u so much cuz u dear no one in saying d truth which they say can be painful in other people's ears.
Posted: at 5-05-2015 10:49 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 5-05-2015 11:14 PM (8 years ago)
No matter how monkey take chop bellyfull, he will still jump up to eat banana, this is type yoruba behaviour and mentality. Tribalism is in there blood, I thought this idiot is well educated. Shame on u and ur pathetic tribe.
Posted: at 5-05-2015 11:14 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 5-05-2015 11:28 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 5-05-2015 11:28 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- orji1234 at 5-05-2015 11:33 PM (8 years ago)
Yorubas also voted for their stomach too. Yorubas voted apc bcos Osibanjo was chosen as a vice president to Buhari. Now,yorubas are praying that Buhari should die soonest in order for Osibanjo to become president of Nigeria . Dangerous stomach!!  Wolo soyinka is a stupid man. He is the worst professor in naija that is full of tribalism. He does not know how to talk.
Posted: at 5-05-2015 11:33 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Kokomoney1 at 5-05-2015 11:38 PM (8 years ago)
igbos are most hated tribe in naija ..just because of our useless pride with just 5 state ..we cant win the 19 states in the north ..dont be foolish monster
Posted: at 5-05-2015 11:38 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- makedemtalk at 6-05-2015 12:05 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mikelu on  5-05-2015 08:57 PM
Typical of his kind, no matter how educated, end up reasoning very poorly. This man went so far to show his ignorance and hate for an industrious tribe that is the backbone of this nation.
MAY GOD DELETE YOU ANY THE TRIBE YOU CALLED INDUSTRIOUS TRIBE....THE CENTRAL GOVERNMENT THERE AS INDUSTRY CENTER DOESN'T MEAN YOU ARE INDUSTRIOUS,DUDE....WHAT DO YOU GUYZ PRODUCE?Huh??NARCOTICS,KIDNAPPING,CRIME OR WHAT DO YOU PRODUCE THAT BENEFIT THE COUNTRY Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?...THE HAUSA'S KEEP PROVIDING FOOD FOR THE NATION,SO WHAT DID YOU DO TO MOVE NIGERIA FORWARD????IN TEN YEARS TO NOW,THE WHOLE ASIAN,WILL DO US THE GREATEST FAVOR,BY CHOPIN YOUR STINKY HEAD OFF YOUR BODY....DAM'BOROBA SHEGE.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 12:05 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- uplogsa at 6-05-2015 12:14 AM (8 years ago)
Soyinka I'm so disappointed at your stupid reasoning and judgement however how could I forget that you are a descend of unreliable tribalistic fools.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 12:14 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- fatmax at 6-05-2015 01:22 AM (8 years ago)
IS NOT NEW HE HAS BE GOING UP AND DOWN SINCE I WONDER IF HE FORGET THAT ALL IS WORDS RE ON PAPERS,HE WILL BACK JONATHAN TODAY TOMORROW HE WILL BACK BUHARI FROM HIS HEART HE HAS SPOKEN OUT, SOYINKA YOU RE TOO OLD TO BE YOUNG.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 01:22 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mobbysmartins at 6-05-2015 01:24 AM (8 years ago)
I really do not understand this Yoruba hatred to the Igbos.But for this man that is supposed to be highly educated to join the bandwagon of ethnic bashing and profiling,I now understand the extent of the Yoruba hatred for the Igbos.I am now certain that every Yoruba man have an inbuilt hatred for the Igbos and I have advised myself to be weary of this group of haters called Yoruba,and to you Wole Soyinka,you just lost all the respect I used to have for you,to all my Yoruba friends,I am now afraid of all of you and I will take necessary measures to protect myself since you have decided to make me and my people the object of your demonic hatred.History is taking note,God is watching.It is not always the aggressor that wins every fight.Keep that in mind.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 01:24 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mobbysmartins at 6-05-2015 01:32 AM (8 years ago)
Wole Soyinka,I will advise you to check yourself into a psychiatric hospital for your head to be examined,your statement is unbecoming.Just like respect is EARNED, insult is also earned,therefore by insulting me and my people without provocation,you have earned my insult and I just want to say you are a very FOOLISH old man,you are an IDIOT.You are a cultist,may all the gods in Igboland punish you.May thunder fire that your smelly mouth there.IJIOT.
Posted: at 6-05-2015 01:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4