Double Standard...........Your Take

Date: 11-04-2011 3:25 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Obiajunwa
[1] 2 3 4
- at 11-04-2011 03:25 PM (13 years ago)
A child is a product of two people - a man and a woman.

The upbringing of a child is supposed to be collective becos each party has a part to play to bring up a child well.

Now when a child turns out right, he or she is called the father's child.  In other words, the man takes the praises for raising up such a nice child.

But when a child turns our wrong, he or she is called the mother's child.  Here you find the father telling the mother, he/she is your child, no longer our child.

Now I have been wondering how come a bad child is always the mother's when it is both parties that were or are supposed to be involved in the upbringing of the child.

Yea yea, I know that the woman is the one mostly with the children (that is no longer the case in most homes these days when women also have to help to provide for the family) but I think that if a child turns out fine, both parents should take the praise and not just the man and if a child turns out wrong, both parents should take the blame.....It is time we stop the double standard...... Lips Sealed

Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:25 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- diplomatik at 11-04-2011 03:31 PM (13 years ago)
i see this phrase used in movies alot (naija films)
i think its mainly cos the father refuses to take the blame... may bcos he's disappointed the way his kid turned out. i also noticed that men tend to think its women's responsibilty for the child's up bringing..they forget its a two way thing...  Undecided

Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:31 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Youngstoriez at 11-04-2011 03:34 PM (13 years ago)
...hmmmm! u are wrong on the side sayin dat a man is the one with d praise when the child turns out a nice child......all the praises go to d mum, to be sincere!! but it makes no sense actually........all of 'em were involved in d child existence and training!! but all the same, all praises goes to both....and sometimes its no big deal giving d praises to d mum....she deserves it..truly!!
Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:34 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Youngstoriez at 11-04-2011 03:37 PM (13 years ago)
but its unfortunate when d child turns out a bad child.......both parents are to be blamed in a way! So d man is ashamed to take d blame!! its kinda unfair thou
Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:37 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nametalkam at 11-04-2011 03:38 PM (13 years ago)
Surely, Where was she when the child was turning wayward?

This is not only in human beings, even in animals. It is the woman's job to make sure the baby grows up right and the man has to take the glory for a job well done by the woman.

Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:38 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- diplomatik at 11-04-2011 03:39 PM (13 years ago)
SMH..mehn   Undecided

Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:39 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 11-04-2011 03:41 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Youngstoriez on 11-04-2011 03:34 PM
...hmmmm! u are wrong on the side sayin dat a man is the one with d praise when the child turns out a nice child......all the praises go to d mum, to be sincere!! but it makes no sense actually........all of 'em were involved in d child existence and training!! but all the same, all praises goes to both....and sometimes its no big deal giving d praises to d mum....she deserves it..truly!!

When you call the good child the father's child, it means you have claimed the praises na

Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:41 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- bittersweet at 11-04-2011 03:42 PM (13 years ago)
Damn wrong! Angry

Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:42 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- trolling at 11-04-2011 03:42 PM (13 years ago)
It is the father that taks the credit, not the mother, dont you get that yet, because the credit should and will always to go to the Man.
Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:42 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yukicares4u at 11-04-2011 03:44 PM (13 years ago)
Its just a stupid Naija way of thinkin' and it has become a kind of standard which is very bad...pple shud change the way they see things cos bringin up a child is nt the sole responsibility of one party, but of the two parties involved.
Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:44 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 11-04-2011 03:44 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on 11-04-2011 03:38 PM
Surely, Where was she when the child was turning wayward?

This is not only in human beings, even in animals. It is the woman's job to make sure the baby grows up right and the man has to take the glory for a job well done by the woman.

See what am talking about?.........

Where was the man too when the child went bad?.....they made the baby together and they both should be involved in the upbringing of the child....

and if the man can take the glory for a job well doen, he should also take the the blame when things turn sour..........QED

Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:44 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- diplomatik at 11-04-2011 03:45 PM (13 years ago)
i concur  Cheesy

Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:45 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- trolling at 11-04-2011 03:45 PM (13 years ago)
What does a man look like when they are commending his wife in the presence of him for his children when he is the head of the household,you still thinking like a tom boy.
Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:45 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 11-04-2011 03:46 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: trolling on 11-04-2011 03:42 PM
It is the father that taks the credit, not the mother, dont you get that yet, because the credit should and will always to go to the Man.

Oh pls.........if the man must take the credit, he MUST be ready to take the blame.......

Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:46 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Youngstoriez at 11-04-2011 03:48 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 11-04-2011 03:41 PM
Quote from: Youngstoriez on 11-04-2011 03:34 PM

When you call the good child the father's child, it means you have claimed the praises na
...nah nah
Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yukicares4u at 11-04-2011 03:48 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: trolling on 11-04-2011 03:45 PM
What does a man look like when they are commending his wife in the presence of him for his children when he is the head of the household,you still thinking like a tom boy.
Let him even look like a dummy...the fact is praises shud be given 2 the woman that has worked 2 mk sure that child brought honour 2 d family...n nt d man who sat watchin n doin nuffin.
Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 11-04-2011 03:49 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: trolling on 11-04-2011 03:45 PM

hehehe, OYO for you Trolling..........am saying that both take the blame when the child is wayward and both take the praise when the child turns out fine.......

Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:49 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 11-04-2011 03:51 PM (13 years ago)
make i go takia of my children b4 they go astray

Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:51 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- trolling at 11-04-2011 03:52 PM (13 years ago)
If the child turns out bad that means while the man was going into the fields to provide for the family,the wife was busy gossipping or watching nollywood lol.
Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:52 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 11-04-2011 03:55 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: trolling on 11-04-2011 03:42 PM

Yeah right.... Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry and hissing
Posted: at 11-04-2011 03:55 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4

1. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

2. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

3. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

4. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

5. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

6. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

7. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

8. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

9. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

10. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

11. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

12. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State