Bishop Oyedepo Denies Slapping Church Member, Says He Cannot Be Sued (Page 5)

Date: 26-05-2012 12:15 am (11 years ago) | Author: Gwamna Gwamna
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 12
- screengoddess at 27-05-2012 08:36 PM (11 years ago)
"SUFFER NO WITCH TO LIVE"
IF A SLAP IS NEEDED TO COMPLETE A DELIVERANCE ON A CONFIRMED WITCH, WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT?
Posted: at 27-05-2012 08:36 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- gastro at 27-05-2012 08:52 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: JalanJalan on 26-05-2012 12:15 AM
"We submit that slapping being an act of assault an item outside the provisions of Chapter 4 of the 1999 constitution and the African Charter, this court therefore lacks jurisdiction over same."

The multi billionaire founder of the Living Faith Christian Church International, Bishop David Oyedepo, has denied slapping a young member of his congregation; stating that neither he nor his church could be sued.

In a notice of preliminary objection filed at the High Court of Ogun State and made available to PREMIUM TIMES; Bishop Oyedepo maintained that he and his church are "non juristic persons" and therefore asked the court to strike out the suit as it lacked jurisdiction to adjudicate on the matter.

Robert Igbinedion, a Lagos based lawyer, had in April, filed a suit on behalf of the young lady, who was slapped during a church service, for the enforcement of the lady's fundamental rights to freedom from inhuman and degrading treatment, human dignity, fair hearing, and freedom from discrimination.

Mr. Igbinedion prayed the court to award the sum of N2bn as 'general and exemplary damages' against the bishop as well as compel him to publish a public apology in two national dailies and one international satellite television.

In a counter affidavit deposed by Olugbenga Adegboye, the church's senior legal officer, Bishop Oyedepo stated that "his ministry is a ministry where the holy bible is preached and people are prayed for without coercion."

The church also said that there is no record of anyone called Miss Justice - a sobriquet given to the young lady for the purpose of the suit - in any of its services organized in the past.

A written address to support the preliminary objection signed by F. B Agbanwu, the church's Solicitor, insisted that the matter is not within the Nigeria constitution or the African Charter on Human and People's Rights.

Furthermore, the church urged the court to determine whether Mr. Igbinedion is capable of "bringing this kind of application" before it and whether "it is proper to bring this application against the 1st and 2nd respondents (Bishop Oyedepo and his church respectively).

Arguing that both Mr. Igbinedion and the respondents cannot sue and be sued, Bishop Oyedepo's lawyers noted that the cause of action must centre on clear infringement of a fundamental right.

"The cause of action or principal claim in this application centres merely on slapping one Miss Justice by the 1st respondent.

"The slapping of Miss Justice is an act that could be described as an assault which is a criminal offence punishable under the criminal code...

"We submit that slapping being an act of assault an item outside the provisions of Chapter 4 of the 1999 constitution and the African Charter, this court therefore lacks jurisdiction over same."

The court sits, June 1, for parties to adopt their motion before judgment is fixed.

In December last year, a YouTube video of Bishop Oyedepo viciously slapping a young lady who admitted that she was "a witch for Jesus" during an altar call went viral on the internet.

A second video that surfaced days later showed the bishop justifying his action adding that it is "his ministry to slap" and that "if he sees another witch, he'll slap."

Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed

Posted: at 27-05-2012 08:52 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sugaDaddy1forU at 27-05-2012 08:58 PM (11 years ago)
If a pastor will lie, why shouldn't the politicians.... Thats why Naija will never change in crimes.....

Posted: at 27-05-2012 08:58 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bashkol at 27-05-2012 09:02 PM (11 years ago)
nawa for all this coment o....abeg i wan ask somfin.......na witch una dey support ni abi na pastor una hate....ow many thief una don join dem beat for street....how many or ur gf or ladies u don assault even to the extent of beating the daylight out of them??? many of una wey dey comment na woman batter....abeg no one has the moral justification to condem anyone here.....bcos he be pastor u think say he be spirit abi...check well most of una wey dey talk no be say na support u dey support the girl na bcos una no dey go church at all....una better be happy say person dey help una slap the witch wey dey disturb una destiny......lollllllam not in support of slaping o....but abeg make una reduce una condemation here....no body holy passs..........lolllll
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:02 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- evans_nice at 27-05-2012 09:05 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: steveoneal on 27-05-2012 01:20 PM
HUH;; YOU TOO DEY TALK TRUTH;; GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR HOUSEHOLD;;; MANY PEOPLE GO SCHOOL; BUT IT DOESNT REFLECT IN THEIR WAYS OF THINKING; THEY ARE VERY VERY GULLIBLE;;I KEEP WONDERING WHEN PEOPLE ARE GONNA BE FREE FROM THE MENTAL AND RELIGIOUS SLAVERY::;; TOUCH NOT MY ANOITED IS THEIR CHORUS;; AFTER ASSAULTING THE POOR GIRL;; HE STILL WENT AHEAD AND BOASTED ABOUT DOING IT;; NOW HE IS DENYING WHAT EXAMPLE IS HE SETTING FOR ALL THE PEOPLE CALLING HIM THEIR (PAPA) THAT MEANS LYING IS PART OF HIS DOCTRINES AS WELL;;;; COMMON BISHOP OR NA ROOK OR  KNIGHT;;; TAKE RESPONSIBILITIES FOR YOUR ACTION

Yes chairman, is good to be good and stand polite sometime, I wonder why people out there can't speak some sense to that idiot Oyedepo face, well I can understand because they mine be scared of his bodyguard or attack,  the must shameful things about it is, when they visit western world to minister repentance ,they we not call on witch out or slap any body, let him come down and try it one time, and see where them go put  that in dirty ass, the must crazy thing for me, people standing there clapping their hand and watching that criminal assaulting the young girl, Oh my God, they have being brainwash, I can not imaging my self if i where the father of that innocent girl, 50billions sue,  funny thing about if is, is denying, what a shame, i through he is bishop, man go and pay and apology  to that girl because you hold her that, the world is washing the movie, now is action movies for Oyedepo, hay man why is paining you to give it out?  is not yours the money belong to the people who you slapping as well, shame shame shame that you don't try this in the State, all my handsome Barrister would have sue you even 100,00billions dollars and close your fake ministry. because is ministry of going around and slapping people and boasting of it.
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:05 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- sugaDaddy1forU at 27-05-2012 09:14 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: screengoddess on 27-05-2012 08:36 PM
"SUFFER NO WITCH TO LIVE"
IF A SLAP IS NEEDED TO COMPLETE A DELIVERANCE ON A CONFIRMED WITCH, WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT?

Only in Naija, with naija mentality... If we're so rightous in religions how come we're so poor to compare with non believer's countries....What a shame, we can never wake up, a good person to deliver naija from it's mess is yet to be born.....If a pastor will sit down nd lie for what he did, why would i sit down nd listen to him, what a shame.....

Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:14 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lore222 at 27-05-2012 09:19 PM (11 years ago)
Buhari has been mentioned as one of the sponsors of boko haram, where is Igbinedion, why can't he sue buhari for all the killings, he is suing a man of God and all of you are opening your mouths to say nonsense. If the law of human right exists in Nigeria, slapping is better than killing. Please, Igbinedion of a lawyer, sue buhar cos those people he killed had right to life.
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:19 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Lore222 at 27-05-2012 09:22 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: evans_nice on 27-05-2012 09:05 PM
Yes chairman, is good to be good and stand polite sometime, I wonder why people out there can't speak some sense to that idiot Oyedepo face, well I can understand because they mine be scared of his bodyguard or attack,  the must shameful things about it is, when they visit western world to minister repentance ,they we not call on witch out or slap any body, let him come down and try it one time, and see where them go put  that in dirty ass, the must crazy thing for me, people standing there clapping their hand and watching that criminal assaulting the young girl, Oh my God, they have being brainwash, I can not imaging my self if i where the father of that innocent girl, 50billions sue,  funny thing about if is, is denying, what a shame, i through he is bishop, man go and pay and apology  to that girl because you hold her that, the world is washing the movie, now is action movies for Oyedepo, hay man why is paining you to give it out?  is not yours the money belong to the people who you slapping as well, shame shame shame that you don't try this in the State, all my handsome Barrister would have sue you even 100,00billions dollars and close your fake ministry. because is ministry of going around and slapping people and boasting of it.
Buhari has been mentioned as one of the sponsors of boko haram, where is Igbinedion, why can't he sue buhari for all the killings, he is suing a man of God and all of you are opening your mouths to say nonsense. If the law of human right exists in Nigeria, slapping is better than killing. Please, Igbinedion of a lawyer, sue buhar cos those people he killed had right to life.

No witch is a 'poor' girl, if you know what witches do I dont think you would be here saying nonsense. Was she forced to come to the church and say nonsense? If she is a witch, let her go to there coven an not to the church, it is the house of God.
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:22 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Emmanuel44 at 27-05-2012 09:28 PM (11 years ago)
touch not my anoint and do my prophet  no harm
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:28 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- sunanalysis at 27-05-2012 09:38 PM (11 years ago)
rubbish
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:38 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- smartiyke at 27-05-2012 09:48 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: osamabinladin on 26-05-2012 09:33 PM
Bishop don turn to lie lie

yeah, the mothaphyuker is scared now
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:48 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- smartiyke at 27-05-2012 09:53 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: dogodajiabuja on 27-05-2012 07:19 AM
one day, una go talk finish,
una no go fit talk again!

hahahahahaha, soon, you will be dead mothaphyuker.
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:53 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- evans_nice at 27-05-2012 09:54 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Lore222 on 27-05-2012 09:22 PM
Buhari has been mentioned as one of the sponsors of boko haram, where is Igbinedion, why can't he sue buhari for all the killings, he is suing a man of God and all of you are opening your mouths to say nonsense. If the law of human right exists in Nigeria, slapping is better than killing. Please, Igbinedion of a lawyer, sue buhar cos those people he killed had right to life
No witch is a 'poor' girl, if you know what witches do I dont think you would be here saying nonsense. Was she forced to come to the church and say nonsense? If she is a witch, let her go to there coven an not to the church, it is the house of God.

Lore222 you an idiot, I can not imaging fool like you  still existing, we are commenting on issue that is right on table you are writing referring to  another issue, does it mean because Boko haram is killing people, that give  bishop oyedepo slapping the young innocent girl also? speak A*#S? anyway you are far from the light, and lack of knowledge  and 100% brainwash without him you can not go to heaven when he say you are die you die, total madness.
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:54 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- smartiyke at 27-05-2012 09:57 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: CammyWhite on 27-05-2012 09:11 AM
Would you people quit it with that "touch not my anointed" bulldust? That preacher is a smug, greedy, self-righteous bully and jerkwad who needs to be knocked off his perch.

I'm with you on this one, he can't go around smacking folks (slapping peopel), he needs to go to jail. While in jail, I hope they make him toss salad (suck dick).
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:57 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Maggiecube at 27-05-2012 09:58 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:58 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- evans_nice at 27-05-2012 10:02 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Lore222 on 27-05-2012 09:22 PM

Primary 4 boy is even intelligent than you, ha ha  tell me how witch is looking like, I can't believe you are still believing in century years, oh i don't no you really idiotic ass pumper, men men people like you need to be sending to hospital.
Posted: at 27-05-2012 10:02 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- osamabinladin at 27-05-2012 10:42 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Lore222 on 27-05-2012 09:19 PM
I dont know how old u are,but any kobo that was spent on ur head concerning education is a waist of resources,because ur thinking is is so low and retarded,
Posted: at 27-05-2012 10:42 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- patbest at 27-05-2012 10:48 PM (11 years ago)
In Benin, in Evbuotubu to be precise a Naked woman a witch was caught on High tension power-line early morning, she said her fuel finished and got herself stoked on top of the power-line. This woman was almost stoned to death by youth.

A little girl of 9 years confess how she took her mother's life was told to bring her father but she refused, those of u born n brought in Europe do not know anything about Africa witch, what they do and their evil, is just a pity that some of us who have lived in Africa are commenting nonsense.

Even if this man is jailed I won't be surprise bcos even Christ himself was killed after all the miracles he did and also lived a sinless life.

My prayer is simple, for as many who do not believe in witchcraft or who believe but yet condemning the man of God on this forum, may witches n wizard visit u all n ur families this year
Posted: at 27-05-2012 10:48 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 27-05-2012 11:00 PM (11 years ago)
[/size]LIE LIE
Posted: at 27-05-2012 11:00 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 27-05-2012 11:03 PM (11 years ago)
BACK TO SENDER OOO MR PAT BEST
Posted: at 27-05-2012 11:03 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 12

1. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

2. Video of Yahoo Boys Spraying Cash On Pastor During Church Service Stirs Reactions

3. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

4. 42Yr Old Man, Nkwuda Cuts Cousin’s Throat For Demanding Felling Tree Branches In Ebonyi

5. Photo Of Unknown Woman Reportedly Found Dumped On Abuja Road

6. VIDEO: Excitement As 2face Idibia And Kizz Daniel Collaborate

7. Video: Fans In Loggerhead Over Wizkid And Davido's Feud

8. Borussia Dortmund v PSG: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers And Stats

9. Two Brothers Arrested For Impersonating NSCDC Commandant On Facebook

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

5. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

6. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

7. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)