BEAUTIFUL DIVORCE

Date: 26-05-2012 9:41 pm (12 years ago) | Author: okechukwu Agu
- at 26-05-2012 09:41 PM (12 years ago)
I hadn't slept through the night for a number of  days. Solace had eluded me in the night of my apartment. The pressures of work gawk at me at the dawn of each new day, and at night, my newly married neighbours wouldn't let me have some peace. Their shouts and screams and curses, fierce arguments, brutal blows, angry shattering of ceramic designer plates...all bring me face to face with a denial of a sleep-relief-therapy.
They say "love is blind". How very stupid! What kinda love would bring couples together in a late hour combat? Where was the "love" they once claimed and flaunted before the glaring world?
This mohammed guy next door, who pounds his wife every night in fury and hate, has shared the same flat together with me for almost two years of his bachelor hood. Quite handsome, with a slim manly specie that makes every girl run after him with their reasoning flung to the air, and a nice job to keep him afloat his heavy wardrobe expenses, he had an express ticket to play the bad guy until he met this Tayo girl. Nature had bequeathed them the license to become love birds and they made no bones about it. Tayo would always be in the flat washing, scrubbing, cleaning up, cooking, ironing...all sorta house chore you could ever conceive. Tayo, I would often call her, "ain't you anything tangible to do after school?" I always asked in surprise. She would smile and reply, "I've just returned from school" or "I don't have lectures today". I usually wondered why ladies could get so stupid that they gave themselves out-body and soul to a man without any price tag. Well, I had to mind my business anyway. My choice to remain celibate until marriage isn't binding on a second party.
Finally, it came. Mother nature had rewarded and began her public awareness. How could she hide it? Mohammed had already began swearing how unprepared he was yet for marriage. I behaved as though I did not notice either. She needed care and he finally agreed to offer that grudgingly. But one day, they both invited me to their court wedding. Ofcourse I was there to witness. She had already dropped outta school and embraced her most wanted full house wife profession. But trouble had began brewing. Every night, it was quarrels that spanned into fights. Mother nature's reward had to give way and the hospital saved her life. But pretty sooner than expected, the reward resurfaced. And so it went on and on and on.

I have always asked, "where is this love syndrome leading this generation?" Our ancestors weren't this love crazy yet they built a sound family with a secure future. But these days hold out to us a sickly family foundation with almost no future. Almost everywhere I socialise, I catch a glimpse of single parents. Young single parents. And ofcourse, they hadn't eloped from their marriages without leaving behind innocent and ignorant children. These days ladies only specialise in moving about with shinny lipglosses, itchy legs that can't wait to jump into your bed, sweet tongues that profess a love they can hardly describe analytically and heavy hair dos that speak volumes of their emptiness. "How shall we curb these libido-propelled marriage?" Our society is fast decaying. Single parenting is disastrous in itself. Its evil effect only explodes as a time bomb would always.

Mohammed's incessant beatings have turned poor Tayo into a bag of bones. She's always in and out of hospital. Well, after lotta advice and warnings, they finally decided to part ways. Both had already suffered major losses. Mohammed had lost all those expensive electronics to hateful and revengeful shattering. His beautiful wardrobe had suffered intentional iron burns, oil stains, razor tears, just name it. In retaliation, he had reduced her to a punching bag of no value. Their parting had seemed a painful but a beautiful divorce if life was to be saved and careers recovered and peace returned....

Posted: at 26-05-2012 09:41 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 27-05-2012 04:42 AM (12 years ago)
what a  super story
Posted: at 27-05-2012 04:42 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- FlyMamacita at 27-05-2012 09:02 AM (12 years ago)
No get time for dis long tori today
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:02 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- wallas at 27-05-2012 11:46 AM (12 years ago)
mke nametalkam cme read dis gossip 4 me abeg
Posted: at 27-05-2012 11:46 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jossy4reall at 27-05-2012 01:21 PM (12 years ago)
no long thing

Posted: at 27-05-2012 01:21 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- miami at 27-05-2012 03:26 PM (12 years ago)

nyc write up, u got talent dude.... kip it up
Posted: at 27-05-2012 03:26 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- richy_ex at 27-05-2012 05:17 PM (12 years ago)
i will come back  for summary
Posted: at 27-05-2012 05:17 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 27-05-2012 05:24 PM (12 years ago)
We ladies shuld learn frm it and respect ourselves. Marriage is sacred, dnt jump into it cus everybody is going into it.
Posted: at 27-05-2012 05:24 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Akeenzmann at 27-05-2012 08:51 PM (12 years ago)
nice write up. Hope d present generation of youths can learn from dis
Posted: at 27-05-2012 08:51 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- omomarty at 27-05-2012 09:01 PM (12 years ago)
very nice.............
Posted: at 27-05-2012 09:01 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Beauti4 at 27-05-2012 11:15 PM (12 years ago)
What kind of name would u give to a stupidily sad story?
Posted: at 27-05-2012 11:15 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- mallorca at 28-05-2012 12:45 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 27-05-2012 04:42 AM
what a  super story

Posted: at 28-05-2012 12:45 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- waco at 28-05-2012 01:04 PM (12 years ago)
some1 should pls summarise for me later....

Posted: at 28-05-2012 01:04 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- mizcollins1 at 28-05-2012 01:05 PM (12 years ago)
nah too long brav
Posted: at 28-05-2012 01:05 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sophiebaby at 28-05-2012 01:10 PM (12 years ago)
NYC WRITE UP..God bless u for dis piece

Posted: at 28-05-2012 01:10 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. VIDEO: Jarvis Surprises Peller With a Lavish Birthday Gift

2. PHOTOS: How Your Favourite Celeb Stepped Out For 2025 For AMVCA Cultural Night

3. Pregnant Woman Dies Mid-operation As Jehovah’s Witness Doctor Refuses Blood Transfusion

4. EFCC Arrests Two Chinese Nationals, Six Nigerians Over Illegal Mining in Ogun State (Photos)

5. Ganduje Sparks Controversy With One-Party State Remarks Amid Wave Of Defections

6. Lagos Lady Recounts Ordeal in 'One Chance' Bus, Says She Was Hypnotized, Robbed & Abandoned

7. EFCC To Investigate Alleged ₦528bn Misappropriation By Ex-Zamfara Governor, Matawalle

8. Wizkid. Ayra Starr Face Backlash Over “Gimme Dat” Lyrics Allegedly Insensitive To Amadou Diallo

1. Benue In Uproar As Leaked Adult Videos Spark Outrage, Calls For Arrests

2. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

3. 103 Virgin Girls Initiated Into Womanhood At Ovia Osese Festival In Kogi State (Photos)

4. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

5. VDM And I Are Officially Married - Actress Sarah Martins Drops Bombshell

6. LA HOTTIE! Davido’s Wife, Chioma Adeleke, Flaunts Her Hot Bod In Lovely New Photos

7. "Why I Would Choose Davido Over Burnaboy, Wizkid" – Singer, Zinoleesky

8. 'Some Men Are Praying For Their Wives To Die So They Can Marry Another' -Nigerian Man Blows Hot

9. Nollywood Star, Uche Ogbodo Undergoes 'BBL & Tummy Tuck'; Shares Recovery Journey (Video)

10. I’m Married To Jesus — Pretty Reverend Sister Tells Asaba Boys Asking For Her Number (VID)