UNILAG students continue prostest; block third mainland bridge (Page 4)

Date: 30-05-2012 12:11 pm (11 years ago) | Author: hakeem Babatunde
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 10
- mickky21 at 30-05-2012 08:20 PM (11 years ago)
Guys plz go back to ur studies.........our police na this kind thing they want...........una know say dem sabi shoot anyhow. 4 una sake, 4 the sake of una parents n loved ones, plz go back to schl. i no like the name change at all........they want to dig up a hole to fill a hole.
Posted: at 30-05-2012 08:20 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- FinlandGuy at 30-05-2012 08:30 PM (11 years ago)
Make dem no go back to class,until one Dangote trailer go use dem do break,dat time dia body go tell dem.Useless student,what has change of school name has to do with academic excellence!!!
Posted: at 30-05-2012 08:30 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 30-05-2012 08:41 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: FinlandGuy on 30-05-2012 08:30 PM
Make dem no go back to class,until one Dangote trailer go use dem do break,dat time dia body go tell dem.Useless student,what has change of school name has to do with academic excellence!!!
what jonathan did was wrong. He made this decision without consultation or respect for people's opinion. How can he do that without lettin those concerned know. For ur info its not only d students that are protestin, even lecturers and the asuu chairman of the institution are part of the protest

Posted: at 30-05-2012 08:41 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ajayi9ice at 30-05-2012 08:52 PM (11 years ago)
quote]Someone please tell me why the remaning is so controversial. Is that Abiola is not worthy for such honours in Yorubaland or is it because the school will end up as unfortunate as abiola?[/quote]

Your question sounds as foolish as you may look in the outer world. EWU.

@ Topic
In as-much as i am not in support nor sympathy of this baseless protest, I will still want to point out the fact that the motive behind the renaming of the school sounds some how wrong and very misplaced, those of you talking about quality, well you are right in one area, but the brand is also a determining factor when we talk about tertiary institution. come to think of it, do you think every one that attended or is planing to attend HARVARD are doing so because of its quality? well it a no cos most people are interested in the name and this also applies to UNILAG also. or lets look at it from another angle, don't you guys think its somehow painful to sleep as an AKOKITE and then wake up the following morning as a MUSHOODITE or watever Grin Grin. Nevertheless, they reserve the right to express their displeasure baseless or not. 
Posted: at 30-05-2012 08:52 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 30-05-2012 08:56 PM (11 years ago)
I am beginning to think that these students have death wish. Why are these students going
crazy because of mere name change?
Posted: at 30-05-2012 08:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FinlandGuy at 30-05-2012 08:59 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: vantheo on 30-05-2012 08:41 PM
what jonathan did was wrong. He made this decision without consultation or respect for people's opinion. How can he do that without lettin those concerned know. For ur info its not only d students that are protestin, even lecturers and the asuu chairman of the institution are part of the protest
Jonathan a lone cannot woke up from sleep and take that decision you must know!!!
Posted: at 30-05-2012 08:59 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FinlandGuy at 30-05-2012 09:02 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: toibeli on 30-05-2012 08:56 PM
I am beginning to think that these students have death wish. Why are these students going
crazy because of mere name change?

Dont mind dem,if to say dey change the name to Bill Clinton University Lagos,all of them will be happy,dey will never protest against me.Nam me u dey see our African brain.
Posted: at 30-05-2012 09:02 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FinlandGuy at 30-05-2012 09:04 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ROYAlPRINCE77 on 30-05-2012 09:00 PM
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH so fbi sabi talk self i think say na deaf and dumb before.....maybe na person help am comment here Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin no more stop by to say hi the best English he can speak Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Thank you Prince,how far naa how your side,i dey hail You,i never see Arsenal since.I hope he is doing fine  ,me too don talk am say i no know say FBI get bad mouth like dis.
Posted: at 30-05-2012 09:04 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FinlandGuy at 30-05-2012 09:07 PM (11 years ago)
Pls GEJ Change all the University in the North to Boko Haram University of Bombing Technology,dat is if there any uni dia in the North !!! This one there will be no protest all.  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 30-05-2012 09:07 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FinlandGuy at 30-05-2012 09:10 PM (11 years ago)
Pls GEJ Change all the University in the North to Boko Haram University of Bombing Technology,dat is if there any uni dia in the North !!! This one there will be no protest all. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 30-05-2012 09:10 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- denmal at 30-05-2012 09:20 PM (11 years ago)
go to skool
Posted: at 30-05-2012 09:20 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 30-05-2012 09:37 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 30-05-2012 09:37 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- vantheo at 30-05-2012 10:03 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: FinlandGuy on 30-05-2012 08:59 PM
Jonathan a lone cannot woke up from sleep and take that decision you must know!!!
but why didn't he seek public opinion or let d institution know before d change? Why must it be unilag? Aren't there other better ways of honourin MKO Like makin june 12 a public holiday or better still puttin his pic in d 2000 or 5000 naira note which they want to introduce? I tell you this move of renamin unilag is political. I know you wont agree cos ur a staunch jonathan supporter

Posted: at 30-05-2012 10:03 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- mallorca at 30-05-2012 10:41 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Bachelorette on 30-05-2012 12:59 PM
GEJ is a celebrity now. No wonder He's in the 100-man list of the most influencial people on earth. Everywhere Goodluck, Goodluck, Goodluck. It has become a household name. I like the guy Swagg sha

Posted: at 30-05-2012 10:41 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 30-05-2012 10:44 PM (11 years ago)
see them,insted of them to face thier studies.EDUCATED ILLITRATES Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 30-05-2012 10:44 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Larrykingomoj at 30-05-2012 10:56 PM (11 years ago)
These students do want to study at all, what is wrong in changing name, and no school fee hicking?
Posted: at 30-05-2012 10:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onlyGodknows at 30-05-2012 11:02 PM (11 years ago)
Dem go there to study name now, I thought the school fees was increased, just a mere change of name. Tell me what UNILAG has produced that assisted the nation in any positive way? Carry UNILAG post for ur heads now. Sudden change of name could bring reaction, but this is over reaction.
Posted: at 30-05-2012 11:02 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- deboalabi262 at 31-05-2012 01:14 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Keffejude on 30-05-2012 07:44 PM
dats d hight of joblessness if em 2 vex make em go boil stone chop or rather go private sch if fit afford am. Anyways i n o blame em cuz dats d yorubas natural attitude(fighting 4wat isnt theres). Like say em papa done put pillar or add any block to unilag apart 4rm their lii sch fees.
O boy, you don spoil your post with tribal sentiments.  Try and think always with your brain intact..  OK?

Posted: at 31-05-2012 01:14 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- deboalabi262 at 31-05-2012 01:19 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: FBI_CIA on 30-05-2012 01:20 PM

Treasure2 or wateva ya nem is, I have bn 4-lowing ur comments and u always sm to criticize GEJ. wetin be ur own sef? Na Goodluck Jonathan send u to Italy to do Ashawo abi na during his govt u decide to go Italy for ur Ashawo profession? ans my Question ooo

Posted: at 31-05-2012 01:19 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- batima at 31-05-2012 01:20 AM (11 years ago)
I'm appalled that people think the fight not to rename UNILAG to Mushroom Abiola University (MAU) is all about swag. i dont need to guess that its non UNILAG students that are speaking this way. Unilag being one of the best in West Africa and 200 in the whole world attests that the school has distinguished its self in exceptional global academic excellence. To flush all these down the toilet just becos GEJ needs a political nod from the South west is disheartening. My reasons for saying this are not far - fetched:

Firstly, UNILAG is not a street or a baby or an individual that you name and rename as you wish and once you print out the change of name in guardian or tribune newspaper the story ends. It is an institution established by acts, constitution, ordinances and has constitutional rights hence due process must be followed. what due process was followed in this case? the president bypassed the school council, senate, the legislative arm of the NASS, did not receive the votes of 2/3rd majority of NASS before changing a constitutional body. This so unacceptable for a president that claims to celebrate democracy. Democracy is about the rule this was absent by the 'suprise announcement'.

Secondly, UNILAG has a population of at least 40,000 students excluding staff members, college of  medicine and its staffs. The cost to print new identity cards for these amount of people, the resources to be spent and time to be wasted is not worth it if its for the same 'democracy' that is being practiced by this PDP govt-govt for the few,of the few and by the few. it would cost billions of naira to build and implement the change in the university and its college of medicine and i don't recall in Mr president speech any allocation being made for the name change.

Thirdly, the certificate that carries the prestigious University of Lagos stands us out in interviews, scholarship applications and even granting exemptions in writing professional exams within and outside Nigeria. we wont be there when these bodies are trying to process the name Mushroom Abiola University. The offer would have been given to another candidate from a school they understand is founded on principles and not politics. our certificate credibility is what we fight for. this is the main reason Unilag students are on the streets. this is the reason we study hard so we can work and be successful with our certificates. Britain is one of the world power and has so many heroes why hasn't it changed the Harvard, Standford, Liverpool Universities to these heroes' names. UNILAG is Nigeria's Harvard, a global brand, Africa's pride!!!!!

we cannot say this name change will not come with its cost. we know this govt. if its has to fund the name change this would lead to increase in  tuition to probably N450,000. this is why we are saying NNNNNNOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!

If Mr President believes so much in this democracy let him use the money for National Museum to build a befitting University for the late democrat Abiola or revive Abiola Scholarship fund or better yet his extinguished businesses. we see national heroes on our naira notes. i think we av seen enough them. its time to move forward, make and celebrate new heroes like Gov. Fashola of Lagos State, Gov. Rochas Okorocha of Imo state, Gov Godwill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom, to mention but a few. These once have delivered and are still delivering dividends of democracy.

we are saying NO to manipulation, we are saying NO to unwarranted sufferings, we are saying NO to ruining our certificates, we are saying  to the abuse of power and flagrant disobedience for the rule of law. We are saying no to UNILAG becoming history!!!!!!!!

ALUTA CONTINUA VICTIRIA SANITAS!!!!!!!!
GREATEST AKOKITE!!! UNILAG SHALL NOT DIE!!!
Posted: at 31-05-2012 01:20 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 ... 10