‘Name Aso Rock after Abiola’

Date: 12-06-2012 5:30 am (11 years ago) | Author: Paddy Hayes
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9
- at 12-06-2012 05:30 AM (11 years ago)
June 12, 2012 by Sesan Olufowobi

The Lagos State chapter of the Action Congress of Nigeria says on Monday that the price paid by the acclaimed winner of June 12, 1993 presidential election, Chief MKO Abiola, was a sacrifice to ensure the dawn of the present democracy in Nigeria and should be celebrated.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW PHOTOS FROM THE PARADE

In a statement by its state Publicity Secretary, Joe Igbokwe, the party insisted that Nigeria still owed monumental debts to Abiola for the manner he stood against the military, which ultimately led to the ouster of military rule in1999.

The party urged the Federal Government to name the country’s seat of power, Aso Rock, after Abiola for his sacrifice for democracy in Nigeria.

The ACN said, “We remember that on that historical election, Nigerians forsook the dividing factors of religion, tribe and tongue to vote massively for Chief MKO Abiola in an election that is yet to be rivaled in its credibility and pan-Nigerian nature.

“The June 12 election has since survived to give a poignant picture of the desire of Nigerian people to live together, under a competent leadership trusted to bring about the rapid development and progress of the much abused country and her people.”

The party expressed dismay that 19 years after the June 12 election, democracy was still being operated by forces that never believed in it.

It said, “When we notice the serial abuses, cases of impunity, corruption, vice, avarice and greed that now disfigure and misrepresent democracy before Nigerians, we feel sad that Abiola was sacrificed and rouges are luxuriating at the expense of the Nigerian people for whom he fought and died.

“We call on the present government to heed the voice of reason by naming Aso Rock after Abiola for the major role he played in instituting the present democracy. We equally call on the federal government to declare June 12 the real and authentic Democracy Day.”

via Punch

http://www.punchng.com/news/name-aso-rock-after-abiola/

Posted: at 12-06-2012 05:30 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sugaDaddy1forU at 12-06-2012 05:45 AM (11 years ago)
These fools are going too far with this name change of thing about Abiola. Abiola name is not something to be remember of. I'm trying to remember any good thing Abiola did for the poor masses when was alive apart from sponsoring some coups in Nigeria nd the ITT contract that was awarded to him nd nothing came out of that...

Posted: at 12-06-2012 05:45 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sugaDaddy1forU at 12-06-2012 05:47 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sugaDaddy1forU on 12-06-2012 05:45 AM
These fools are going too far with this name change of thing about Abiola. Abiola name is not something to be remember of. I'm trying to remember any good thing Abiola did for the poor masses when he was alive apart from sponsoring some coups in Nigeria nd the ITT contract that was awarded to him that nothing came out of it...

Posted: at 12-06-2012 05:47 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jar84 at 12-06-2012 02:10 PM (11 years ago)
ds madness... jonathan is losing it. TOTAL FAILURE!!
Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:10 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Angelita2 at 12-06-2012 02:16 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:16 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 12-06-2012 02:21 PM (11 years ago)
why not name nigeria after him......Nonsense abeg make i pass this one jor

Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:21 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cadanre at 12-06-2012 02:26 PM (11 years ago)
These fools are going too far with this name change of thing about Abiola. Abiola name is not something to be remember of. I'm trying to remember any good thing Abiola did for the poor masses when was alive apart from sponsoring some coups in Nigeria nd the ITT contract that was awarded to him nd nothing came out of that...

Ya right! His life was meaning less. Then Aso Rock should be named after ODUMUGU OJUCOUP who happened to be an Igbo hero. He contributed a lot to this country (Nigeria not Biafra). He sent more than 1million Igbo fools to their death during three years Nigerian civil war. If at the present time those 1million fools were alive, this country would have been in a serious trouble. Thank you PAPA IKEMBANA for your good duty to your country Nigeria.

I hereby, officially renamed ASO VILLA as ODUMUGU UJUCOUP VILLA with immediate effect.

Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:26 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Xthyluv at 12-06-2012 02:26 PM (11 years ago)
They are mad, dis people ar goin crazy ooo nawao
Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:26 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- habiziz at 12-06-2012 02:27 PM (11 years ago)
smh Lips Sealed Embarrassed
Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:27 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sugarbaby2392 at 12-06-2012 02:30 PM (11 years ago)
arrant nonsense
Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:30 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Chijoy4peace at 12-06-2012 02:31 PM (11 years ago)

ARE SURE YOU ARE NOT THE BIGGEST FOOL? AT LEAST, HIS LIFE WAS USED AS SACRIFICE FOR NIGERIA DEMOCRACY BUT NOW ALL OF THEM DEMO CRAZY. FOOL AT THIRTY! Tongue
Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:31 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Chijoy4peace at 12-06-2012 02:34 PM (11 years ago)
DON`T YOU THINK ASO ROCK IS BETTER USE RATHER THAN UNILAG? MUMU PPLE!
Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:34 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sophyrocks at 12-06-2012 02:36 PM (11 years ago)
Anywys,it was jst a plea.lets jst c if jona wil rily do it.

Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:36 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malakite at 12-06-2012 02:44 PM (11 years ago)
Nigerians gave Jonathan the mandate to lead and so we should respect him by supporting him to immortalise M.K.O.Abiola.
Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:44 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- jerusalem88 at 12-06-2012 02:51 PM (11 years ago)
Jonathan is a person that leaves FIRE that is burning a house and be chasing a RAT. phyuk off WEAK GOVERNMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:51 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- nonsovin at 12-06-2012 02:56 PM (11 years ago)
WHY NOW???  WHY IN JONATHAN'S TIME???  WHY THEY DID'NT TALK ABOUT IT IN YAR' ADUA'S TIME OR OBASANJO'S TIME??? EVERYBODY IS NOW TAKING JONATHAN FOR GRANTED. SOMEONE CAN JUST RISE UP AND TALK ANYTHING HE LIKE AND ANYHOW HE WANT. MTCHEEEEEEEW   I WISH THAT JONATHAN CAN START ACTING LIKE A MAN!!!.........
Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lekan22 at 12-06-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago)
That's good.
Posted: at 12-06-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 12-06-2012 03:07 PM (11 years ago)
NONSENSE!!!
Posted: at 12-06-2012 03:07 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OnyemaechiJumbo at 12-06-2012 03:15 PM (11 years ago)
Naming Abiola after aso rock wont be permanent; it will change when jona is not there to defend it, so I think Unilag is ok.
Posted: at 12-06-2012 03:15 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- kaycee22 at 12-06-2012 03:16 PM (11 years ago)
Goodluck! Goodluck!! Goodluck!!! how many times i call u?
na which kind renaming presido u be self?
abeg small small b4 u go rename nigeria,.....
Posted: at 12-06-2012 03:16 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9