Fashola Vows To Reposition LASU, Bans Honourary Degrees

Date: 15-06-2012 10:24 am (11 years ago) | Author: Olufowose Temitope
- at 15-06-2012 10:24 AM (11 years ago)
The Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola yesterday vowed to reposition the Lagos State University to its past glory, even as he ordered the ban of awards of honourary degrees in the institution.

The governor who spoke at the 17th Convocation ceremony of the Lagos State University held at its campus located in Ojo area of the state said awards of honourary degrees in the country had gone from sublime to the ridiculous, adding that people now network to get honourary degrees to raise their curriculum vitae in the society.

The visibly perturbed Fashola who affirmed  that awards of honourary degrees should be commensurate with the level of contribution of the awardees to the development of the society, noted that arbitrary awards of degrees generally in the country had made both the academic and honourary degrees so awarded worthless.

According to him,” Honorary degree which is a mark of honour is conferred by any degree awarding institution on a person as a way of honouring the contribution made by someone in a specific field of human endeavour or contribution to the society in general.

“All the honorary degrees that we have awarded to people in different disciplines have not reflected in adding value to the society.

“Regrettably, in our society, we all desire to receive title and honour in order to add values to the society. And because we are determined to keep the stream of honours here, we have decided to raise the bar. Our university wants to lead this society to a higher degree of excellence by challenging our people to seek for higher values.

“What is the basis for our honouring people . Do we have electricity. Can we refine our own petroleum products. What are their inventions. If we cannot do all these, why are we honouring people with degrees?”

Meanwhile Lagos State yesterday got its  14th Chief Judge as Justice Ayotunde Adeyoola Phillips, was sworn in to head the third organ of government for the state.

The state governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola while swearing  in the new CJ testified  to her courage and independent-mindedness.

“I can assure the people of Lagos State that not only have we appointed a fearless and independent judge but we have appointed a reformist and transformer judge,” the governor stated.

Fashola reiterated the independence of the three arms of government but said their interdependence in the state had led to the success of the reform agenda of his administration.

The governor said the appointment of Justice Phillips marked the commencement of another leg of the reform agenda for the judiciary in the state.

Posted: at 15-06-2012 10:24 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Senegal at 15-06-2012 10:52 PM (11 years ago)
Kudos Fashola
Posted: at 15-06-2012 10:52 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Solidstonez at 15-06-2012 11:42 PM (11 years ago)
Noted

Posted: at 15-06-2012 11:42 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- denmal at 16-06-2012 12:01 AM (11 years ago)
na so
Posted: at 16-06-2012 12:01 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- adoinem at 16-06-2012 01:32 AM (11 years ago)
It's part of the general corrupt malaise affecting Nigeria that degrees can be bought or given for favour
Posted: at 16-06-2012 01:32 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- deboalabi262 at 16-06-2012 01:44 AM (11 years ago)
That is the right decision at the right time in LASU's history.......

Posted: at 16-06-2012 01:44 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- amcq2001 at 16-06-2012 04:56 AM (11 years ago)
Good Thought from the Governor, good thinking. Too much universities. Nigerian govt suppose to build technical school, establish more technological programs. many Nigerian from high schools, universities student can not even perform simple measurement calculation. We technical schools the country can  grow more technical skill people to work in  building houses, roads, bridges, electrical, plumbing, carpentry. our govt lose focus and enjoy stealing public money, shame with a country who lack focus. We all have to wake up with our reality. 
Posted: at 16-06-2012 04:56 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- omoiya1 at 16-06-2012 05:56 AM (11 years ago)
Yes Governor Fashola you are making points.
Posted: at 16-06-2012 05:56 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sugarbaby2392 at 16-06-2012 06:22 AM (11 years ago)
good to know
Posted: at 16-06-2012 06:22 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yvonneobas at 16-06-2012 06:51 AM (11 years ago)
Tell dem 4 us,na sooooooooooooo..........
Posted: at 16-06-2012 06:51 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- colliboy at 16-06-2012 07:30 AM (11 years ago)
  i hear u sir
Posted: at 16-06-2012 07:30 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dogodajiabuja at 16-06-2012 07:35 AM (11 years ago)
surprised the students never protest
abi dem no get protest organizers?
since protest is d order of the day in naija these days
Posted: at 16-06-2012 07:35 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- onlyGodknows at 16-06-2012 08:06 AM (11 years ago)
U try well Fashiola.
Posted: at 16-06-2012 08:06 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- MrZack at 16-06-2012 09:06 AM (11 years ago)
Nice one Governor Fashola. the thing must stop. Even people wey never fit spell their names they collect Honorary degrees.
Posted: at 16-06-2012 09:06 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- larijo at 16-06-2012 09:26 AM (11 years ago)
DAT'S GUD, MR GOVERNOR
Posted: at 16-06-2012 09:26 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- M-dread at 16-06-2012 09:38 AM (11 years ago)
Fashola May You Leave Long More Than Məṯûšélaḥ.. We Need Somebody Like You As Our President In 9IGERIA..Goodluck abi Badluck Don Tired. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 16-06-2012 09:38 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- funkeyalbert at 16-06-2012 10:47 AM (11 years ago)
i don hear  Smiley Smiley Smiley
Posted: at 16-06-2012 10:47 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- moriztuos at 16-06-2012 10:51 AM (11 years ago)
Nice 1 Fash  Wink
Posted: at 16-06-2012 10:51 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mindcare at 16-06-2012 11:20 AM (11 years ago)
Sir, we need you in our presidential seat not those 1920's criminal leaders.. we need a change to that seat plsssssssssssssss
Posted: at 16-06-2012 11:20 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- malvin2525 at 16-06-2012 11:28 AM (11 years ago)
 Undecided
Posted: at 16-06-2012 11:28 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

7. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu