Photos From Naijapals Charity Visit 2012 - The Lagos Story!..........

Date: 23-07-2012 10:56 am (11 years ago) | Author: Obiajunwa
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10
- at 23-07-2012 10:56 AM (11 years ago)
It was a bright sunny day as we set out to bring some smiles and brighten up the lives of some less privileged in our society.  It was the 21st day of July, 2012, a Saturday.  In attendance were Dejavu, Doubleone, Stephen153, Blessing, Nneka, Jacinta, Divineproject, Klinsmart, Favour and Franel.  We set out around 10.42am after a brief prayer by Stephen153.  Our first port of call was Treasure of Love homes – a place we visited last year.  We decided to visit them again this year because in our last visit we noticed they had and still have a lot of challenges.  This time around the home have 53 people including 10 mentally challenged grownups, many physically deformed kids and normal kids.  We were welcomed and taken round the home by Sister Lucia, a sister of the Order of Mother Theresa. The TOL home is located at 117 Demurin road, off Ikorodu road, Ketu Lagos.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW PHOTOS FROM NAIJAPALS LAGOS ORPHANAGE VISIT

Leaving Treasure of Love (TOL) homes, we headed to the Ogudu branch of the Little Saints Orphanage (LSO).  This place contrasted sharply with TOL homes in many aspects.  We were welcomed by the amiable, down-to-earth Mrs Linda Erhabor who ran the home.  She gave us a brief history of the home which was founded by Mrs. Dele George.  In all LSO has a total of 150 children, 70 of them are of school age.  The Ogudu branch has staff strength of 10.  Apart from the Ogudu branch which is located at 15, Joe Ona Agbato Close, Ogudu G.R.A, Lagos, there are other branches in Lagos – Akonwonjo Branch, 10 Ayinde Bisi Close, off Gani Animashaun, Dopemu, Lagos;  Abuke-Egba Branch (for children with special needs), Little Saints House, 149 Ekoro Road, Abule-Egba, Lagos and the headquarters at Palmgrove Estate, Strong Tower House, 6B D’alberto Road, Palmgrove Estate, Lagos.  For more information, you can visit their website on www.littlesaintsorphanages.org or send them mail on [email protected] .  Challenges – money for education of the kids, funds/sponsors.

Leaving LSO homes, we wadded through the heavy Lagos traffic caused by the partial closure of the 3rd Mainland Bridge and headed to SOS Children’s Village.  We were welcome by Mr. Abiodun Adejola who took us round the village and briefed us on how the home works.
The SOS village was started by a man named Herman Gmeiner in 1945 but came to Nigeria in 1973.  The SOS village does not give room for adoption; rather the children are helped to become great men and women in life.  Children are taken out of the village at the age of 15 to the youths’ home where they are taken care of.  They are allowed to stay for 7 years after which they could move out to merge with others.  The village currently houses 98 kids.  For more information, visit their website on www.sos-childrensvillages.org ot send them mail on [email protected].  Challenges - lack of job for graduated kids, finances.

Time check, it was 2.38pm when we left the SOS Children’s Village, Isolo, Lagos.  We were fagged out, we were tired, hungry and thirsty but most importantly we were  HAPPY and fulfilled for we together with Naijapals have been able to put smiles on the faces of those children.  We thank Naijapals.com for giving us this opportunity to serve mankind.  Long live Naijapals, long live Dguy, long live those that sacrificed their time and comfort to attend and long live you reading this, Amen!

Posted: at 23-07-2012 10:56 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 23-07-2012 10:57 AM (11 years ago)
The pictures will come soon

Posted: at 23-07-2012 10:57 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 23-07-2012 12:49 PM (11 years ago)
I forgot to add that members were so overwhelmed by what they saw at the Treasure of Love homes that they temporarily became speechless after we left the home..........

Posted: at 23-07-2012 12:49 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 23-07-2012 03:08 PM (11 years ago)
Thank God  Cool

Posted: at 23-07-2012 03:08 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Emmandazie at 23-07-2012 03:40 PM (11 years ago)
What a great change since I knew NP! Not only fun gossip, insults but most especially, HUMANITARIAN gestures!
Posted: at 23-07-2012 03:40 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rayOFsunshine at 23-07-2012 04:16 PM (11 years ago)
 Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss
Posted: at 23-07-2012 04:16 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jossy4reall at 23-07-2012 08:55 PM (11 years ago)
many many many thanks to those of u who participated in the visit........una weldone.., and may God reward u all accordingly in his riches...........since I am not sure if dia is any Naija pal member in my district............I., alone will visit any available orphanage home close to my territory on behalf of Naija pals....

Posted: at 23-07-2012 08:55 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ILOVEIT at 23-07-2012 10:37 PM (11 years ago)
una do well.....

Posted: at 23-07-2012 10:37 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 24-07-2012 10:14 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: jossy4reall on 23-07-2012 08:55 PM
many many many thanks to those of u who participated in the visit........una weldone.., and may God reward u all accordingly in his riches...........since I am not sure if dia is any Naija pal member in my district............I., alone will visit any available orphanage home close to my territory on behalf of Naija pals....

Thats cool Kiss Kiss Kiss

Posted: at 24-07-2012 10:14 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 24-07-2012 10:18 AM (11 years ago)
Welldone to you all. When you visit this children, you give hope to them.  May your heaven open in Jesus name, Amen.
Posted: at 24-07-2012 10:18 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 24-07-2012 11:15 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 24-07-2012 10:16 AM
Why speechless @DP

Because they were not prepared for what they saw in that home.........I have been there before, so I knew what to expect before hand.....but in my first visit, I wept........

if you are there and you knew who ur parents are/were, you are privileged.........if you are there and you dont have deformities, you are seriously privileged.......stop worrying your head about what you would eat tomorrow becos tomorrow would take care of itself.......

Posted: at 24-07-2012 11:15 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 24-07-2012 11:17 AM (11 years ago)
Yes oooooooo my sister.
Posted: at 24-07-2012 11:17 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 24-07-2012 04:39 PM (11 years ago)
Na so oooo

Posted: at 24-07-2012 04:39 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 24-07-2012 04:42 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 24-07-2012 11:15 AM
Because they were not prepared for what they saw in that home.........I have been there before, so I knew what to expect before hand.....but in my first visit, I wept........

if you are there and you knew who ur parents are/were, you are privileged.........if you are there and you dont have deformities, you are seriously privileged.......stop worrying your head about what you would eat tomorrow becos tomorrow would take care of itself.......

preach on preacher  Kiss Grin Cheesy

Posted: at 24-07-2012 04:42 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 25-07-2012 08:46 AM (11 years ago)
why was it not Biabiastick?  Grin

Posted: at 25-07-2012 08:46 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 25-07-2012 11:00 AM (11 years ago)
wats dat? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 25-07-2012 11:00 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- 50scent at 25-07-2012 11:25 AM (11 years ago)
DivineP. was so much beautiful, God is good,  Cool

Posted: at 25-07-2012 11:25 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 25-07-2012 11:29 AM (11 years ago)
huh?Huh?......me or the visit?

Posted: at 25-07-2012 11:29 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- franel at 25-07-2012 02:03 PM (11 years ago)
 Cool Cool SUPERB Cool Cool

Posted: at 25-07-2012 02:03 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 25-07-2012 02:05 PM (11 years ago)
Guys una do well, more butter on your bread...THE HOT AMALA with GBEGIRI & EWEDU wey i dey chop dey sooth me more than this story...Naija I hail o

Posted: at 25-07-2012 02:05 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10