Relationships: Can You Marry Someone Of A Completely Different Faith

Date: 01-08-2012 2:47 pm (11 years ago) | Author: aadex kebella
[1] 2 3 4
- at 1-08-2012 02:47 PM (11 years ago)
Religion is one of those subjects that is often avoided in conversation in order to keep the peace. However, when it comes to relationships and families, sometimes a firewall of tolerance just isn’t strong enough to stand.

Though Love has a way of overcoming obstacles. It can cover many challenges that religion creates. Since marriage is about two people becoming one, compromise is already ingrained in the dynamics. When there is love, you find a way to make it all work. Each person gives and takes a little bit.

But, there comes a point when the fundamental differences between two people create a wall. It becomes a war and one side has to lose because there’s no more room left for compromise, and that usually happens when it comes to what the religious beliefs of the children will be, or when one side wants their spouse to convert to his or her own religion.

Could you marry someone of a different faith?

Posted: at 1-08-2012 02:47 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 1-08-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago)
Interfaith marriage usually occurs between one person who is Jewish and another who is Christian. However, there are increasing numbers of young Catholics and Protestants intermarrying. Generally, this is viewed as less difficult for the young couple because of a commonly shared theology and culture. Nevertheless, even among Christian sects, interfaith marriage poses serious problems and creates crises for the couple and their respective families.

for a marriage to succeed, the young couple must psychologically and emotionally separate from their families of childhood. If the in-laws are against intermarriage, the stage is set for conflict, bitterness and misunderstanding, with damaging and long-lasting consequences for these relationships. Also, such hostility can provoke enormous guilt for the young bride or groom. This guilt makes the task of emotional separation more difficult to achieve. Many families resist the idea of a clergyman from another religion presiding over the wedding ceremony. If it is a Christian/Jewish marriage, they resent the possibility that no mention will be made of Christ. The Church has, in fact, become more tolerant of priests presiding over interfaith weddings, even if the non-Catholic does not convert. However, this tolerance may not allay the fears of religious family members. All of this becomes even more difficult if one of the families refuses to attend the wedding because of religious differences and disapproval of the match. If the couple tries to appease the resistant family by agreeing to conversion, the other family may become so angry that they will refuse to attend. In some cases, if the couple refuses a religious ceremony of any kind, neither family may attend.

to me--there is no more important task in marriage than the achievement of a deep level of intimacy and commitment between the marital partners.  Cool

Posted: at 1-08-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bittersweet at 1-08-2012 03:15 PM (11 years ago)
I can,but because I want a peaceful life,I won't!

Posted: at 1-08-2012 03:15 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- oyindabty at 1-08-2012 04:14 PM (11 years ago)
neva
Posted: at 1-08-2012 04:14 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sophiebaby at 1-08-2012 05:17 PM (11 years ago)
 Grin Grin

Posted: at 1-08-2012 05:17 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jossy4reall at 1-08-2012 05:33 PM (11 years ago)
Depends on the person’s religion

Posted: at 1-08-2012 05:33 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 1-08-2012 05:36 PM (11 years ago)
I CANT marry outside the Christian faith..........and it doesnt matter if na Protestant, Anglican, Apostolic or Catholic......but if there is no Christ there, count me out.........yes call me names, I no send! Cool Cool

Posted: at 1-08-2012 05:36 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 1-08-2012 05:53 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on  1-08-2012 05:36 PM
I CANT marry outside the Christian faith..........and it doesnt matter if na Protestant, Anglican, Apostolic or Catholic......but if there is no Christ there, count me out.........yes call me names, I no send! Cool Cool
I go call u names...amibo.... Cheesy

Posted: at 1-08-2012 05:53 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sobeit at 1-08-2012 07:22 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  1-08-2012 02:59 PM
Interfaith marriage usually occurs between one person who is Jewish and another who is Christian. However, there are increasing numbers of young Catholics and Protestants intermarrying. Generally, this is viewed as less difficult for the young couple because of a commonly shared theology and culture. Nevertheless, even among Christian sects, interfaith marriage poses serious problems and creates crises for the couple and their respective families.

for a marriage to succeed, the young couple must psychologically and emotionally separate from their families of childhood. If the in-laws are against intermarriage, the stage is set for conflict, bitterness and misunderstanding, with damaging and long-lasting consequences for these relationships. Also, such hostility can provoke enormous guilt for the young bride or groom. This guilt makes the task of emotional separation more difficult to achieve. Many families resist the idea of a clergyman from another religion presiding over the wedding ceremony. If it is a Christian/Jewish marriage, they resent the possibility that no mention will be made of Christ. The Church has, in fact, become more tolerant of priests presiding over interfaith weddings, even if the non-Catholic does not convert. However, this tolerance may not allay the fears of religious family members. All of this becomes even more difficult if one of the families refuses to attend the wedding because of religious differences and disapproval of the match. If the couple tries to appease the resistant family by agreeing to conversion, the other family may become so angry that they will refuse to attend. In some cases, if the couple refuses a religious ceremony of any kind, neither family may attend.

to me--there is no more important task in marriage than the achievement of a deep level of intimacy and commitment between the marital partners.  Cool

To marry from different faith is putting an extra burden to the union,which in most cases are extremely difficult to crack. Is like trying to mix oil with water which is a difficult task to achieve. e.g  A christain + muslim  Undecided . or  A Jew+ christain/muslim/buddhist  Undecided  Undecided .. personally I don't think is going to work cuz their differences are massive and VERY VERY difficult to compromise. so for the sake of peace  I stick to my faith.
Posted: at 1-08-2012 07:22 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 1-08-2012 07:58 PM (11 years ago)
Poster U̶̲̥̅̊ dey eye one fine babe from anoda faith ni?
Posted: at 1-08-2012 07:58 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sobeit at 1-08-2012 08:10 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  1-08-2012 02:59 PM

Quote from: sobeit on  1-08-2012 07:22 PM
To marry from different faith is putting an extra burden to the union,which in most cases are extremely difficult to crack. Is like trying to mix oil with water which is a difficult task to achieve. e.g  A christain + muslim  Undecided . or  A Jew+ christain/muslim/buddhist  Undecided  Undecided .. personally I don't think is going to work cuz their differences are massive and VERY VERY difficult to compromise. so for the sake of peace  I stick to my faith.

error i meant to quote from the poster.
Posted: at 1-08-2012 08:10 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Beauti4 at 1-08-2012 11:42 PM (11 years ago)
I no dey unless u go convert to Christ first. If not then buh-bye!
Posted: at 1-08-2012 11:42 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- 50scent at 2-08-2012 10:27 AM (11 years ago)

thank God im a christian  Kiss

Posted: at 2-08-2012 10:27 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Treasure2 at 2-08-2012 10:33 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on  1-08-2012 03:15 PM
I can,but because I want a peaceful life,I won't!
Posted: at 2-08-2012 10:33 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 2-08-2012 10:34 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 2-08-2012 10:34 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 2-08-2012 10:37 AM (11 years ago)
Seconded
Posted: at 2-08-2012 10:37 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 2-08-2012 10:38 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on  1-08-2012 07:58 PM
Poster U̶̲̥̅̊ dey eye one fine babe from anoda faith ni?
Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 2-08-2012 10:38 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 2-08-2012 10:40 AM (11 years ago)
You fix manage this magana wey you dey ask now.....How you want start am kwanu.... Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 2-08-2012 10:40 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 2-08-2012 11:26 AM (11 years ago)

Yeah sticking to ones faith is pretty good--But--What you should Know & understand in an interfaith marriage is--When two people of different faiths marry, it isn't their religious differences that can create marital problems. What creates problems in an interfaith marriage is the lack of communication about the religious issues and stumbling blocks the couple will have to face.--just like in the area of handling prayer in an interfaith marriage--YES- Every marriage have some stumbling blocks, but interfaith marriages have a few extra challenges. problems in an interfaith marriage can be lessened when there is communication about the religious issues and stumbling blocks the interfaith couple will have to face.

FOR ME "I CAN" So long  CHRIST is Involved  Cool

Posted: at 2-08-2012 11:26 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Treasure2 at 2-08-2012 11:27 AM (11 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 2-08-2012 11:27 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4

1. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

2. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

3. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

4. Tunde Onakoya Gets Royal Welcome As He Lands in Nigeria After Breaking Record in Chess Marathon

5. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

6. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

7. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

8. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

9. Abeg Free Our Mommy of Lagos, We Need New TikTok Sounds - BBNaija's Vee Iye Speaks For Bobrisky

10. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

11. Netizens React As DeeOne Begs Phyna For Forgiveness Following His Battle With Strange Illness

12. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

13. Multichoice Increases Prices in GOtv And Dstv Subscriptions in NIgeria

14. Viral Asoebi Lady, Olivia Emmanuel Releases Over 20 Numbers of Men Sliding in Her DM

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office